分布式,有意为之

Elasticsearch 功能之所以强大,正因为其是分布式的,借助每个增加的节点,得以提高速度和稳定性。分布式软件当然并非必须由分布式团队开发,但是坦诚地讲,我们为什么不能效仿我们开发的产品所具有的这一巨大优势呢?

分布式系统,分布式团队

Elastic 在成立之初就是一家分布式公司,创始人分别来自以色列、德国和荷兰。因为我们知道分布式和多元化的巨大优势,所以我们聘用的第一名员工并不是工程师,而是首席财务官 (CFO),因为这个职位能够帮助我们在全球各地建立企业实体。一旦我们能够熟稔世界各国的税法和劳动法,我们的潜在员工人群将会实现巨幅增长。

根据从开源项目获得的经验,我们知道任何人都有可能编写出好代码,提出好点子。因此我们必须确保能够接触到世界任何地方的任何人。

多元化的优势

分布式并不是消除延时,也不是提供 24 小时支持。上面这两点都可以轻松实现,既可以在当地聘用一群人加班加点,也可以雇用大量 “远程办公” 人员。分布式公司的真正价值在于汇集多元化人群的天生优势。不同人处理问题的方式也迥然不同。我们需要的就是这一点。

我们的想法是由自己所处的文化日积月累塑造而成的,这里的文化包括我们的家庭、我们的成长经历、我们的语言、我们的传统、我们的人际互动、我们的家园,还有我们所接受的教育。Elastic 要想取得成功,就必须聘用具有各种各样天马行空想法的人群。为什么?因为具有相似想法的人达成一致并不是一件难事儿,但是可能会存在偏见,并得出错误的结论。那么在具有各异想法的人群之间达成一致呢?这可能一点都不简单,但是如果最终达成一致的话,所取得的解决方案定能经受住时间的洗礼。

支持韧性

分布式系统只有具有强大韧性,才能变得十分强大。这一点同样适用于我们的公司。我们在持续不断地改进 Elastic Stack 以应对分布式带来的巨大挑战,我们也付出同样多的精力来为员工提供支持,无论他们位于世界哪个角落。我们不只要为员工提供支持,还要为员工赋权。

要实现组织韧性,我们还必须认识到分布式之所以行得通,并不是因为工具,而是因为人。成功协作需要的不仅仅是视频会议和共享日程表。我们还需要发自真心地欢迎新员工,进而他们知道我们公司接受所有文化。我们需要实施灵活的工作时间,这样员工便能克服时区差异。这也意味着我们时刻都要善意揣测同事的动机。

营造团结友爱的氛围

我们招聘时目的性极强。我们招聘时会深思熟虑。智慧、好学、友善、尊重别人。这些是我们希望每一名 Elastician 都具备的品质。我们不遗余力地寻找并聘用与 Elastic 文化完美契合的人才,同时也希望 Elastic 能够符合他们的期望。我们希望每一名新员工都能让 Elastic 变得更好,同时也希望员工能在 Elastic 实现成长。

我们的目标不是创建一家人们只简单地良好共事的公司;我们的目标是创建一家人们能够共同创造、共同畅想、共同欢笑、 共同舞动(好吧,最后一项的确极具挑战性,但是我们正在努力朝这个目标迈进)的公司。我们希望营造友爱互助的企业文化,这样无论员工位于世界哪个角落,都能感觉到彼此之间的紧密联系。

分布式公司?分布式用户?我们都是分布式!

Elastic 公司只是 Elastic 社区的一部分。内部团队和 Elastic 用户(客户和开发人员)之间的直接对话对我们的成功至关重要。这是这一致力于沟通的企业文化使我们得以履行提供开源产品的承诺。我们需要您!我们需要您的反馈!没有您的积极参与,就没有我们今日的成就。

由于我们可以应用于任何地方,所以我们能够理解各个地方用户的想法。这也就意味着我们能够真诚地履行我们的承诺,无论您位于哪里;语言障碍,文化鸿沟,这些对我们而言统统不是问题。要实现分布式肯定不会一帆风顺,这一模型也可能不适用于每个人,但我们坚信这是我们取得成功的奠基石。

探索有关 Elastic 的更多信息

了解我们开发的产品,我们恪守的价值观,以及我们如何致力于社区的整体发展。

我们的客户

了解这些公司在日常工作中如何使用 Elastic。

了解详情

我们的企业文化

获悉我们的最新动态。

了解详情

我们的产品

查看我们开发的产品。

了解详情

Distributed by Intention

Elasticsearch is powerful because it’s distributed, gaining speed and stability from each additional node. Distributed software doesn’t need to be developed by distributed teams, but honestly, why wouldn’t we want to emulate the strengths of the products we build?

Distributed Systems, Distributed Teams

Elastic was born a distributed company, with founders in Israel, Germany, and The Netherlands. Knowing the strengths that come from distribution and diversity, our first hire wasn’t an engineer — it was a CFO that could help us establish corporate entities around the globe. Once we were able to navigate tax and labor laws around the world, our pool of potential employees grew considerably.

From our experience in open source projects, we knew that great code and amazing ideas can come from anyone, anywhere. So we had to make sure we had access to anyone, anywhere.

Strength in Diversity

Distribution isn’t about removing latency or offering 24-hour support coverage. Either of those things can be achieved by overworking an office full of locals or hiring a handful of “remote” workers. Being a distributed company is about harnessing the inherent strengths of diversity. Different people approach problems differently. We need that.

Our minds are shaped every day by our culture — our families, our upbringing, our languages, our traditions, our interactions, our homes, our education. For Elastic to be successful, we need minds of every shape imaginable. Why? Because forming a consensus between similar minds is easy, but it’s also prone to bias and false conclusions. Forming a consensus between a wide variety of minds? Not nearly as easy, but when its reached, that’s a solution that will stand the test of time.

Supporting Resiliency

Distributed systems are only powerful if they’re resilient. The same is true for our company. We are constantly improving the Elastic Stack to handle the challenges of distribution, just as we are improving how we support our employees no matter where they are. We don’t just want to enable, we want to empower.

Organizational resiliency also requires recognizing that it’s not the tools that make distribution work, it’s the people. Successful collaboration takes more than video calls and shared calendars. It takes warm welcomings to let new hires know all cultures are accepted. It takes flexible scheduling to help people work around time zone differences. It means always assuming the best intention of our peers.

Building Camaraderie

We hire intentionally. We hire thoughtfully. Smart. Curious. Nice. Respectful. These are qualities we look for in every Elastician. We strive endlessly to hire folks that fit at Elastic just as much as Elastic fits them. We want every new employee to make Elastic even better. And we hope Elastic can return the favor.

Our goal isn’t to build a company of people that simply work well together; our goal is to build a company that creates well together, imagines well together, laughs well together, dances well together (ok, that last one is a stretch goal, but we’re working on it). We want to build a culture of camaraderie so that no matter where someone’s located, they feel connected.

Distributed Us? Distributed You? Distributed We!

Elastic the company is just once piece of the Elastic community. Direct contact between our internal team and Elastic users (customers and tinkerers) is fundamental to our success. It’s this culture of communication that enables us to maintain our commitment to open source. We need you. We need your input. Without you, we can’t be us.

Since we can be everywhere, we can understand users from anywhere. This means we can genuinely deliver on our promise to be wherever you are — we aren’t held back by language barriers or cultural divides. Distributed isn’t always easy, and it isn’t for everyone, but we believe it's the foundation of our success.

Explore More Things Elastic

Discover what we make, how we live it, and how it’s part of the overall community.

Our Customers

Learn how companies use Elastic every day.

Learn More

Our Culture

Read about what we’re up to.

Learn More

Our Products

See what we build.

Learn More