发展历程

公司初创及之后的发展。

从早期开发的 Elasticsearch 到之后 ELK Stack 的隆重发布,我们在此期间经历了辉煌发展(却也有些混乱的时期),随后我们又推出了 Elastic Stack,并敞开胸襟迎接新时代。无限精彩,让我们为您娓娓道来。

circle_only_path

21 世纪最初的几年

Downloads: 0

最初就是个菜谱 App

伦敦的公寓内,Shay Banon 正在忙着寻找工作,而他的妻子正在蓝带 (Le Cordon Bleu) 烹饪学校学习厨艺。在空闲时间,他开始编写搜索引擎来帮助妻子管理越来越丰富的菜谱。

他的首个迭代版本叫做 Compass。第二个迭代版本就是 Elasticsearch(基于 Apache Lucene 开发)。他将 Elasticsearch 作为开源产品发布给公众,并创建了 #elasticsearch IRC 通道,剩下来就是静待用户出现了。

公众反响十分强烈。用户自然而然地就喜欢上了这一软件。由于使用量急速攀升,此软件开始有了自己的社区,并引起了人们的高度关注,尤其引发了 Steven Schuurman、Uri Boness 和 Simon Willnauer 的浓厚兴趣。他们四人最终共同组建了一家搜索公司。

founders.jpg

circle_only_path

2012 年 6 月

Downloads: <16,000

您知道的,Search Inc. 阶段

在 Elasticsearch Inc. 成立前后,另外两个开源项目也正在跨越式发展。

Jordan Sissel 当时在开发 Logstash,这是一款开源的可插拔数据采集工具,可将日志文件发送至用户选择的 “储藏库” 。除此之外,他当时还在开发一款 UI 以实现日志数据的可视化,然而这一产品的稳定性却实在让人难以恭维。

幸运的是,还有其他人也在潜心钻研可视化这个难题。这个人就是 Rashid Khan,他当时在开发一款名为 Kibana 的开源 UI。

Shay、Jordan 和 Rashid 彼此都已认识一段时间,对各自的产品也颇为了解,所以他们最终决定携手共同发展,ELK Stack 正式面世,即:Elasticsearch、Logstash 和 Kibana Stack。

不久之后,我们就推出了两个商用插件:一是用于监测的 Marvel,二是用于防护的 Shield。

哈啰,Elastic。欢迎加入,Found。

在 2015 年于旧金山举行的 Elastic{ON} 大会上,我们宣布了两项重要内容。第一点:我们将公司品牌更名为 Elastic。新的品牌名称能够更好地代表我们逐渐扩大的产品生态系统和用例套件。第二:我们与在 AWS 上提供 Elasticsearch 主机托管服务的公司 Found 实现了合作。通过这一合作,我们能够提供市场上最简单、最全面的产品组合。

circle_only_path

2015 年 7 月

Downloads: 36,431,145

公司最初发展带来的问题

早期,Elastic 开发和发布软件时采用的是工程师各自为战的方法:可在任何时候推出任何喜欢的版本,唯一要求就是产品要好。Kibana 有公测版, Logstash 采用里程碑,Elasticsearch 则采用数字编号。如果工程师高兴,还可以推出插件。尽管十分混乱,但是一切还算行得通……直到最后无法使用。

随着用户通过产品来完成越来越多的任务,我们需要开发更好的产品来为用户提供更大帮助。我们添加了更多功能,开发了新插件和扩展。产品的确变得越来越好了,然而也越来越复杂,我们的技术栈变得越来越混乱了。

举个例子吧,如果您运行的 Elasticsearch 是 1.7 版本,而运行的其他插件是 2.3 版本,则软件不能自动检测二者是否兼容,也无法验证插件是否在没有预警的情况下已不能正常使用。这是软件故障。

我们也开始听到内部员工说:“如果想使用 Shield,您需要使用 Elasticsearch 1.4.2……但前提是您不能使用 Watcher。如果使用 Watcher 的话,则您需要使用 Elasticsearch 1.5.2。而如果您使用 Elasticsearch 1.5.2 的话,其仅能与 Kibana 4.0.x、Logstash 1.4.x、Shield 1.2.x 和 Watcher 1.0.x 兼容。”

我们的版本控制做得一团糟,必须得研究对策;而且我们的支持矩阵也表现欠佳。是时候做出改变了。

调整业务步伐,推出 Beats

就在产品团队为版本编号忙得团团转的时候,另外一个产品故事正在拉开序幕。Elastic 的大家庭在 2015 年迎来了位于柏林的 Packetbeat,这是一家夫妻档公司,致力于开发一种轻量化方式来将网络数据发送至 Elasticsearch。

这启发了我们:如果我们开发一系列单一用途的轻量化数据传送工具以将网络数据、日志、指标、审计数据等从边缘机器传输到 Logstash 和 Elasticsearch,结果会怎样呢?就这样,Beats 应运而生了。

circle_only_path

2015 年 10 月

Downloads: 44,378,846

“发布宝藏” 活动开启

2015 年 10 月是一个重大转折点,因为我们解决了产品版本编号问题,同时也降低了兼容性复杂程度。

这一发布版本又称为 “发布宝藏” ,这是我们第一次在同一天面向公众发布我们的全部产品:Elasticsearch 2.0、Logstash 2.0、Watcher 2.0、Shield 2.0 和 Kibana 4.2。(Beats 1.0 仍在酝酿中,还要再过一个月才能发布。)

协调完成这一重大举措并不是一件简单的事情。工程师团队需要改变合作方式以开发和测试产品。然而,这一切付出都是值得的。通过这次调整,用户得以更轻松地启用我们的产品,同时这也提高了我们产品的可靠性,帮助人们出色地完成任务。

Elastic Cloud 隆重推出

几个月后,发布宝藏” 不再仅仅局限于供人们下载的产品。我们通过 Elastic Cloud(即之前的 Found),在 AWS 上推出了 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 服务。

circle_only_path

2016 年 10 月

Downloads: 91,183,928

BELK 5.0 Elastic Stack 5.0

我们致力于推出更为成熟的产品系列,通过发布 Elasticsearch 2.0 来统一发布步调便是第一步。5.0 的发布则是第二步。与之前的所有版本相比,用户通过这一版本可以体验集成性能更强、经过更严格测试且更加易于入门的产品。

5.0 发行版本同时还将我们的所有商用插件(当时我们称为 Shield、Marvel 和 Watcher)整合为单一扩展,即 X-Pack。其包括我们核心产品的诸如 security、monitoring 和 alerting 等功能,并且随着我们将位于伦敦的 Prelert 公司也吸纳入 Elastic 的大家庭,我们将 machine learning 也开始纳入其中。

模块应运而生,大大简化

在 5.3 版本(于 2017 年 3 月发布)中,Filebeat 正式引入了 “模块” 的概念,可以将模块理解为用于在 Elastic Stack 中传输、解析、存储、分析常用日志格式(例如 Apache、Nginx 和 MySQL 等)并实现可视化的一组安全配置。模块简化了用户从数据集至仪表板的入门体验。

Metricbeat 和 Packetbeat 的模块都各具特色,在几个月之后,Logstash 也将针对 ArcSight 和 NetFlow 数据引入自身模块。

circle_only_path

2017 年 5 月

Downloads: 137,715,884

崭新领域:ECE 面世

从成立之初,我们就有一个愿景,即简化用户在他们的公司 / 组织部署 Elastic 的体验。我们采纳了管理自身 Elastic Cloud 服务时所用的技术,并发布了 Elastic Cloud Enterprise(又称 ECE),让所有规模的公司均能下载我们全部的托管产品,并独自运行,享受其带来的益处。有了 ECE,无论是一个集群,还是数千个集群,用户都能够顺利地对其进行管理,而且其还可以简化在任何环境中对 Elastic 产品和解决方案的管理和编排工作。

circle_only_path

2017 年 10 月

Downloads: 192,865,831

Elastic 解决方案加速演进

随着模块数量的成倍增加,使用 Elastic Stack 来处理特定用例(例如日志或指标)开始变得越来越简单。几个月后,我们并购了位于哥本哈根的应用程序性能监测 (APM) 公司 Opbeat 和位于旧金山的站点和企业搜索公司 Swiftype,由于这两家公司都加入了 Elastic 的大家庭与我们携手共进,因此我们业务发展的冲劲仍在继续酝酿。

此时,我们公司的发展已经日趋成熟,可以提供解决常见问题的精简方式,所以我们开始思考正式推出解决方案。尽管我们的解决方案从 DIY 体验到更加一站式的体验应用仅有,但是每套解决方案在背后都有真实的产品作为支撑,而且在短短几分钟内即可部署完毕。

circle_only_path

2018 年 2 月

Downloads: 267,972,265

开放 X-Pack 代码

从开放源码到开放沟通,公开透明一直是我们所有业务的核心。正因如此,我们决定开放商用 X-Pack 功能的源码,从而加速开发周期,提高社区互动,并让每个人都能够贡献源码、对源码添加评论并对其进行检查。

因此,用户能够更加轻松地开始使用 Elastic Stack,所有的 X-Pack 功能现在都默认提供 Elasticsearch、Kibana、Beats 和 Logstash。然而,这一改变并未删除任何 Apache 2.0 源码。恰恰相反,我们在开放源码的发展道路上加大了力度。

我们的发展历程还在继续。我们的探索发现之旅会越来越精彩,敬请关注。

探索有关 Elastic 的更多信息

了解我们开发的产品,我们恪守的价值观,以及我们如何致力于社区的整体发展。

我们的客户

了解这些公司在日常工作中如何使用 Elastic。

了解详情

我们的企业文化

获悉我们的最新动态。

了解详情

我们的产品

查看我们开发的产品。

了解详情

Our Story

A bit about how we got started and what’s unfolded since.

From the early days of Elasticsearch to how the ELK Stack came to be, a period of awesome (but chaotic) development, the introduction of the Elastic Stack, and a new era of openness — there’s a lot of goodness to unpack in our narrative.

circle_only_path

Early 2000s

Downloads: 0

It Started with a Recipe App

In a London apartment, Shay Banon was looking for a job while his wife attended cooking school at Le Cordon Bleu. In his spare time, he started building a search engine for her growing list of recipes.

His first iteration was called Compass. The second was Elasticsearch (with Apache Lucene under the hood). He open sourced Elasticsearch, created the #elasticsearch IRC channel, and waited for users to appear.

The response was impressive. Users took to it naturally and easily. Adoption went through the roof, a community started to form, and people noticed — namely Steven Schuurman, Uri Boness, and Simon Willnauer. Together, they founded a search company.

founders.jpg

circle_only_path

June 2012

Downloads: <16,000

You Know, for Search Inc.

Around the time Elasticsearch Inc. was founded two other open source projects were taking flight.

Jordan Sissel was working on Logstash, an open source, pluggable ingestion tool for sending logs to the “stash” of the user’s choosing, one of which was Elasticsearch. He was also developing a UI on top of it to visualize log data — and it was shaky at best.

Fortunately, someone else was tinkering with the visualization challenge. Enter Rashid Khan, who was working on an open source UI called Kibana.

Shay, Jordan, and Rashid had known each other and their projects for some time and decided to team up, resulting in the ELK Stack — Elasticsearch, Logstash, and Kibana Stack.

A while later, we released two commercial plugins: Marvel for monitoring and Shield for security.

Heya, Elastic. Welcome, Found.

At Elastic{ON} 2015 in San Francisco, we made two big announcements. The first: we rebranded the company to be called Elastic. The new name better represented our growing product ecosystem and suite of use cases. The second: we joined forces with Found, a company delivering hosted and managed Elasticsearch on AWS. By teaming up, we could provide the simplest, most complete offering on the market.

circle_only_path

July 2015

Downloads: 36,431,145

Emerging from Our Primordial Ooze

In the early days, building and releasing software at Elastic took an every-engineer-for-themselves approach: ship whatever version you want, whenever you want — just make it awesome. Kibana had betas, Logstash had milestones, Elasticsearch had numbers. Plugins happened as they pleased. It was chaotic, but it worked...until it didn't.

As users were doing more with the product, we needed to build a product that did more for the users. We added more capability, submitted more pull requests, built new plugins and extensions. The awesomeness increased, complexity emerged, and things got messy for our technology stack.

For instance, if you were running version 1.7 of Elasticsearch and version 2.3 of some plugin, there wasn’t an automatic way to know if they were compatible or if the plugin was silently failing. This was a bug.

We also started to hear ourselves say things like, “If you want to use Shield, you need Elasticsearch 1.4.2….unless you’re using Watcher. In that case, you’ll need Elasticsearch 1.5.2. And if you’re using Elasticsearch 1.5.2, that’s only compatible with Kibana 4.0.x, Logstash 1.4.x, Shield 1.2.x, and Watcher 1.0.x.”

We had arrived at a special sort of versioning hell — and the support matrix didn’t look any better. It was time for a change.

Pausing to Take a Beat(s)

While the product teams wrestled with version numbers, another product story was unfolding. In 2015, we welcomed Packetbeat, a Berlin-based, husband-and-wife team engineering a lightweight way to send network data to Elasticsearch, to the Elastic family.

That got us thinking: what if we had a family of single-purpose, lightweight data shippers to send network data, logs, metrics, audit data, and more from edge machines to Logstash and Elasticsearch? And so Beats was born.

circle_only_path

October 2015

Downloads: 44,378,846

The Bonanza Begins

October 2015 marked a turning point for addressing our product versioning and compatibility complexities.

Dubbed the “release bonanza,” it was the first time all of our products — Elasticsearch 2.0, Logstash 2.0, Watcher 2.0, Shield 2.0, and Kibana 4.2 — shipped together on the same day. (Beats 1.0 had another month to bake.)

Coordinating this effort wasn’t easy. The engineering teams had to change the way they worked together to build and test the products. It was worthwhile, though. This shift made it easier for users to get started with our products and made our products more reliable to do amazing things with.

Enter, Elastic Cloud

A few months later, the release bonanza would no longer only be a downloadable experience. Elasticsearch and Kibana were now available as a service on AWS through Elastic Cloud, the offering formerly known as Found.

circle_only_path

October 2016

Downloads: 91,183,928

BELK 5.0 Elastic Stack 5.0

Aligning release cadence with Elasticsearch 2.0 was the first step toward a more mature product offering. The 5.0 launch was the second step. It introduced a more integrated, better tested, and easier getting started experience than ever before.

The 5.0 release also bundled all of our commercial plugins (which we called Shield, Marvel, and Watcher at the time) into a single extension called X-Pack. It consisted of features like security, monitoring, and alerting for our core products, and grew to include machine learning when we brought a London-based company called Prelert into the Elastic family.

So Modules, Much Simplified

In version 5.3 (released in March 2017), Filebeat formally introduced the concept of “modules,” or a set of safe configurations to ship, parse, store, analyze, and visualize common log formats (e.g., Apache, Nginx, MySQL, etc.) in the Elastic Stack. Modules simplified the getting started experience of going from dataset to dashboard.

Metricbeat and Packetbeat had their own flavors of modules, and months later, Logstash would introduce modules of its own for ArcSight and NetFlow data.

circle_only_path

May 2017

Downloads: 137,715,884

A New Frontier: Introducing ECE

From the beginning, we had a vision for simplifying how users deploy Elastic in their organizations. We took the technology we use to manage our own Elastic Cloud service and released Elastic Cloud Enterprise (or ECE) to allow businesses big and small to download all the goodness of our hosted offering and run it themselves. ECE made managing one cluster or thousands seamless, streamlining the management and orchestration of Elastic products and solutions in any environment.

circle_only_path

October 2017

Downloads: 192,865,831

Elastic Solutions Precipitate

As modules started to multiply, getting started with the Elastic Stack to address a particular use case like logging or metrics got easier and easier. And momentum continued to build when we joined forces with Opbeat, a Copenhagen-based application performance monitoring (APM) company, and Swiftype, a San Francisco-based site and enterprise search company, a few months later. Both companies became part of Elastic.

By this time, our company had matured to a place where we could offer streamlined ways for solving common problems leading us to formally introduce our solutions. While our solutions range from a DIY experience to something more turnkey, each has real product behind it and can be deployed in just a few minutes.

circle_only_path

February 2018

Downloads: 267,972,265

Opening Our X-Pack Code

From open source to open communication, being open is at the heart of all we do. This is why we made the decision to open the code to our commercial X-Pack features in order to speed up development time and increase community engagement, allowing everyone to contribute to, comment on, and inspect our code.

As a result, getting started with the Elastic Stack became even easier, with all of the X-Pack features now shipping with the default distributions of Elasticsearch, Kibana, Beats, and Logstash. This change didn’t take away any Apache 2.0 code. Instead, we doubled down on being open.

There’s more to our story. Stay tuned for updates as our adventure continues to unfold.

Explore More Things Elastic

Discover what we make, how we live it, and how it’s part of the overall community.

Our Customers

Learn how companies use Elastic every day.

Learn More

Our Culture

Read about what we’re up to.

Learn More

Our Products

See what we build.

Learn More