可观测性
软件与技术

Box: 部署 Elastic Stack 以实现可观察性——每次一项微服务

概览

  • 亿份文档存储在 Elasticsearch 中
  • 总数据量
  • 每日采集量

降低成本

从 Splunk 迁移至 Elastic 这一举措将 Box 的日志采集成本削减了一半

提高可观察性

无须再因采集费用高昂而拒绝拟议的日志项目

为工程师赋能

随着 Box 的规模越来越大,工程师全面采集日志并扩展可观察性范围

公司概览

存储服务提供商 Box 已发展成为非常具有品牌影响力的云端内容管理平台,帮助企业提高员工和客户的工作效率,同时还能保护客户最宝贵的数据:他们的文件和任务关键型工作流程。

当前云端内容管理领域竞争异常激烈,Box 必须持续不断地提高检测、识别并解决问题的速度,这一点至关重要。这是因为 Box 早已融入到其数百万客户的业务关键型工作流程中,必须在稳定性、性能和合规方面满足严苛的 SLA 要求。

Box 向客户承诺的 SLA 非常严格,对正确性要求十分之高。所有这些都意味着,Box 需要一个清晰的可观测性窗口来了解自身基础架构,以支持来自数百万用户的海量用例,这还不包括 Box 的逾 95,000 家企业客户。

“我们的客户和用户不仅将内容交给 Box,还将他们的业务关键型工作负载交给我们。所以,如果 Box 出现故障,这对他们绝对是一个巨大的收入损失。”Box 可观察性团队的工程经理 Deepak Wadhwani 说道。

Box 网站上列出了很多声名显赫的客户,例如 Allstate、阿斯利康、可口可乐、摩根士丹利、Oxfam、奥林巴斯、Pandora,以及很多人们不太熟悉的其他公司

Box 采用 Elastic 的历程

最初使用 Elastic

最近几年,Box 的工程团队越来越担心他们旧有的报告后端扩展性能不佳。随着 Box 的路线图越来越宏大,可观察性团队希望针对应用程序和运行日志,采用一种比 Splunk 更加可靠、更具成本效益的解决方案。

这些都是极其重要的任务关键型流程,考虑到 Box 正在逐步将大型整体基础架构转化为数百项微服务以实现增长、促进创新并打造面向客户的新功能,其重要性更加得以凸显。

由于 Box 旧有的日志解决方案是基于所采集的数据量计费,所以有时 Box 不得不削减日志项目以节约成本,或者 Box 工程师会决定不采集新部署微服务的事件日志。

当时情况就是这样,这与 Box 快速转型为领先云端内容管理平台的企业使命相违背。这一转型要求Box 将其大型整体基础架构分解为微服务,而要实现这一目标,他们需要更多的全面日志,而不是削减日志量。

"为了降低成本,我们不得不减少日志数据量。这与我们提高 Box 系统可观察性的企业使命格格不入。我们希望构建一套更具成本效益的系统,并继续推动我们的企业使命:提供更多洞察。因此我们选择了 Elastic。它是由开发人员构建,用来帮助开发人员的一套方案。"

– Deepak Wadhwani, 可观察性团队的工程经理 | Box

不仅如此,Box 还使用 MySQL 完成企业报告,这一方法自身也存在问题。问题之一就是不能处理使用情况日志数据(例如打开文件的时间,将文件移到其他文件夹的时间,甚至分享文件的时间)以服务于大型企业,因为产生的事件数量过于庞大。

所以自 2015 年始,在从价格、可扩展性、支持以及安全性等方面对竞争格局进行调查之后,Box 最终选择了 Elastic。

通过部署 Elastic Stack,Box 采取了一种着眼于未来、可扩展的可观察性方法,其定价模式植根于所管理的内存量,而非所采集的数据量。改用 Elastic 的这一举措一方面强化了 Box 的报告能力并大幅降低了成本,同时还能从 Box 的微系统中采集日志以了解性能和行为。而且,这些日志瞬间便可获得。

报告用例开启了 Box 使用 Elastic 的历程。由于在报告用例中从 MySQL 改用 Elastic 取得了巨大成功,这赢得了 Box 对 Elastic 的信心和信任。这在很大程度上推动了 Box 开始在日志解决方案中改用 Elastic,每次专注于一项微服务。

尽管如此,新的报告和日志系统也必须赢得工程师的拥戴,否则仍可能会遭遇失败或进展缓慢。Box 选择 Elastic Stack 后,工程师在运行大型报告以及针对既有或新的微服务进行日志编程时,干劲比以前更足了,这进一步推动了 Box 取得更为巨大的成功。

"现在我们的工程师十分高兴,而且查询也基本可以立即完成。我们的满意度指数有了大幅提高。"

– Salman Ahmed, 数据平台和可观察性 SRE 团队工程总监| Box

Box 刚开始使用 Elastic 时,仅有几 TB 的存储量,而且存储团队中仅有几名开发人员负责开发和部署 Box 的崭新报告功能,当然 Elastic 现场顾问和 Elastic 培训课程也起到了很大帮助作用。今天,来自 Box 很多团队的大约 500 名工程师都在使用 Elastic Stack 完成报告和日志用例,而且每天都会使用数以百计的 Kibana 仪表板来对 TB 量级的数据进行可视化。

详细了解“Newsroom”

我们已经知道,Box 最初使用 Elastic 的目的将企业日志迁移至 Elasticsearch 以实现报告用例,并将 Elasticsearch 作为数据分析的后端。这一数据管道之后会进一步发展,从而支持 Box 公司由 Elastic 提供支持的崭新日志环境。

对于报告项目,公司充分利用了基础安全功能,例如基于角色的访问控制以及用户身份验证。这些功能以及其他功能,例如能够确定何人在何时何地访问了哪个 Box 文件,使得 Box 能够满足安全和隐私方面的合规性责任。

Elasticsearch 报告项目(公司内部称为“Newsroom”)启动伊始,便解决了围绕以下两方面的难题:筛选问题,以及企业日志与业务分析存在不一致。Box 在制作报告时再也没有遇到问题,所以能够满足客户的 SLA。问题举例:对大型企业而言,有时报告会完全不能加载;对中型企业而言,制作报告则耗时太长。

其他修复措施包括:

  • 能够基于用户/文件夹高效地筛选使用情况日志
  • 能够采集与企业内特定用户或特定文件夹相关的事件
  • 在管理员控制台中可完整显示统计报告
  • 解决了企业日志和业务分析之间不一致的问题

“Arta”亮相

Box 之前的日志解决方案按照采集的数据量计费,公司当时的数据采集量是每天 7 TB。现在公司每天采集的数据量已增长至每天 20 TB,预计未来还会进一步增长。所以为了节省成本,对于在公司日益增长的微服务平台上的何处实施可观察性功能,Box 必须精心选择,然而改用 Elastic 后,这个难题迎刃而解了。

成本并不是唯一考虑因素。使用之前的日志平台时,索引工具有时候会出现故障。延迟也是一个问题,而且告警功能不太可靠。

"我们当时就想,数据规模越来越大,这样下去 5 年后会怎样呢?改用 Elastic 后,我们将每 TB 的成本削减了一半,简化了开发人员的工作,并且针对他们正在构建的微服务为他们提供了可观察性功能。我们不再由于成本问题而拒绝日志项目。"

– Deepak Wadhwani, 可观察性团队的工程经理 | Box

由于存在这些问题,而且随着每天日志的数据量呈爆炸式增长,公司于 2017 年对日志基础设施进行了重新设计。

Box 通过一个管道(内部代码为 Almost-Real-Time-Analytics(近实时分析),又称“Arta”)将保留型、临时型和交互型日志分离开来,借助这种三叉式方法不断地将所有运行和应用程序日志安全地迁移至 Elasticsearch。

任务关键型业务职能

Box 表示,公司需要开发可保证实现 SLA 的高性能企业级系统并对其加以维护,这一点至关重要。所以 Box 的工程师必须深入了解系统以及这些系统所产生的日志。Ahmed 表示 Elastic 为 Box 的可观察性团队提供了一套日志系统,让他们能够以很低的索引开销完成复杂查询;而且即使 Box 规模越来越大,费用也一直十分合理。

"Elastic Stack 对我们至关重要。每天全球有数百万用户和客户委托 Box 执行任务关键型业务职能。有了 Elasticsearch,Box 的可观察性团队现在可以使用一套既可靠又具有成本效益的日志系统。"

– Salman Ahmed, 数据平台和可观察性 SRE 团队工程总监| Box

通过这一由 Elastic 驱动的可观察性窗口,以及用来对数据进行可视化的数百个 Kibana 仪表板,Box 的工程师轻松便可收获洞察。他们可以看到客户打开 Box 文件时是否遇到了问题,是否向文件中添加了协作者,是否向文件夹中添加了文件,不胜枚举。日志同时也可帮助工程师快速解决问题(例如客户文件上传延时),让他们满足在正常运行时间方面的 SLA 要求。

Box 存储团队负责关键的业务工作流程,他们通过 Kibana 仪表板可以了解所上传文件,信息会按照所上传文件的类型进行汇总,此外还可以看到针对不同大小的文件所使用的 Web 客户端。

此外,为了确保 Box 客户持续获得卓越的用户体验,日志是 Box 编码工作的核心,因为只有这样才能确保成功提交代码变更,Box 工程部门的高级总监 Dave Ward 表示。

“当变更代码来添加新功能或进行修复时,我所做的变更是否达到了预期结果?” Ward 问道,“推送代码时,我有没有看到错误?如果可观察性管道不能如期运行,我们则无法确保自身系统的健全。Arta 依赖于 Elasticsearch,在我们保持自身敏捷性并维持较高发布频率的过程中,Arta 发挥着至关重要的作用。

Box 未来的 Elastic 路线图

今天,Box 正在逐步通过 Arta 来运行其大量以开发人员为核心的生产级日志流。公司在持续开发微服务的过程中不断添加新的和既有的日志流,Box 团队目前正在研究如何在稳定性、弹性和运行效率方面实现更大改善,并进一步降低成本。

说到未来,Box 正在考虑将更多的跟踪指标集中到由 Elastic 提供支持的单一平台中。Box 还在积极与 Elastic 工程师开展合作,逐步完善产品并分享产品反馈。

公司还对其他 Elastic 功能感兴趣,例如针对应用程序性能监测的 Elastic APM,可帮助检测问题并提供告警的 Machine Learning,以及 Elastic 的 geoIP 映射功能,这样 Box 便能从 IP 地址开始着手,对查询的来源地在 Kibana 中进行可视化。

Box 还正在探索使用 Elastic SIEM 来推动安全运行工作,而且还使用 Canvas 让 Kibana 中的仪表板更加美观,此外还在对很多其他 Elastic 功能进行调研。

投资回报

在财务方面,通过采用 Elastic,Box 在数据负载方面的价格削减了一半。此外,使用 MySQL 时存在的报告问题和难题也得以解决。而且,之前的日志解决方案由于采用读时索引,部分程度上造成了延时,由于 Elastic 为写时索引,所以延时问题已经不复存在。

“费九牛二虎之力获得数据,还是不费吹灰之力获得数据。” Wadhwani 如此解释延时方面的巨大差异。“使用 Elasticsearch 后,在 Kibana 中进行查询的速度快多啦,”Wadhwani 说道。

至于较难量化层面上的 ROI,Box 正在积极鼓励工程师产生合适数量的日志以实现构建企业级产品必备的可观察性级别。

这些以及其他细微变更都正在帮助 Box 满足内部和外部的 SLA 协议,同时 Box 还鼓励开发人员随着 Box 规模的扩大不断进行创新。

Box 集群

  • 集群数目
    1
  • 节点数目
    85 个数据节点,3 个主节点,6 个客户端
  • Logstash 实例/Beat 的数目
    20 个 Logstash 实例
  • 文档总数
    1,800 亿份
  • 总数据量
    190 TB
  • 每日采集量
    20 TB
  • 索引数目
    250
  • 查询速度
    25 次查询/分钟
  • 副本分片
    1
  • 基于时间的索引
    每日
  • 节点规格:总内存、CPU、磁盘类型(SDD、HDD)
    AWS i3.4XLarge

Elastic Observability
Software & Technology

Box: Deploying the Elastic Stack for observability — one microservice at a time

AT A GLANCE

  • 180
    billion documents in Elasticsearch
  • 190 TB
    total data size
  • 20 TB
    daily ingest rate

Reduced costs

Migrating from Splunk to Elastic has sliced Box’s logging ingestion costs by half

Increased observability

No longer turning away proposed logging projects because of high ingest pricing

Empowering engineers

Engineers are embracing logging and expanding observability as Box scales


Company Overview

Storage provider Box has morphed into a brand-name Cloud Content Management platform, enabling businesses to increase employee and customer productivity, all while protecting customers' most valuable data: their files and mission-critical workflows.

In today's competitive Cloud Content Management landscape, it's essential that Box rapidly detects, identifies, and resolves issues more quickly than ever. That's because Box is integrated with millions of its customers' business-critical workflows, and the company must deliver on strict SLAs for stability, performance, and compliance purposes.

The SLAs it promises to customers leave the company just a small sliver for error. All of which means Box requires a clear window of observability into its infrastructure to support an extraordinary number of use cases from its millions of users, in addition to Box's more than 95,000 enterprise customers.

"Our customers and users entrust their business-critical workloads on top of content in Box. So if Box is not working, it's a strict, state loss of revenue for them," says Deepak Wadhwani, the engineering manager for the Observability team at Box.

Box's website touts customers like Allstate, AstraZeneca, Coca-Cola Company, Morgan Stanley, Oxfam, Olympus, Pandora, and a Who's Who of others.

Box’s Journey with Elastic

Unboxing the Elastic journey

In recent years, Box's engineering team was growing concerned that its legacy backend for reporting was not scaling. And as Box's roadmap was growing, the Observability team was interested in adopting a more reliable and cost effective solution for application and operational logging than what Splunk provided.

These were mission-critical processes taking on heightened importance — especially as Box continued on its path of transforming a monolithic infrastructure into hundreds of microservices to enable it to grow, innovate, and deliver new customer-facing features.

Because Box's legacy logging solution was priced on the amount of data ingested, sometimes Box would have to cut logging projects to limit costs or Box engineers would decide not to log events from newly deployed microservices.

That was a fact of life at the time, and was at odds with Box's mission to rapidly transform itself into a leading Cloud Content Management platform. This transformation required Box to break down its monolith into microservices, a direction that requires more and comprehensive logging — not less.

"We would have to reduce logging data volumes to cut costs. That went against our mission of making Box systems more observable. We wanted to build a system that was more cost effective and to continue on a mission of more visibility. That's why we chose Elastic. It's built for developers to help developers."

Deepak Wadhwani, Engineering manager for the Observability team | Box

What's more, Box's use of MySQL for enterprise reporting had its own problems. Among them was the inability to render usage logs data for large enterprises — such as when files were opened, moved to a different folder, or even shared — because of the enormous amounts of events that were being generated.

So beginning in 2015, after surveying the competitive landscape for pricing, expandability, support, and security, Box went with Elastic.

By harnessing the Elastic Stack, Box has adopted a future-proof, scalable approach of observability with a pricing model rooted in the amount of memory under management instead of data ingest. This changeover to Elastic, while strengthening Box's reporting capabilities and dramatically reducing costs, also captures logs from within Box's microsystems to understand performance and behavior. These logs are available at a moment's notice, too.

The reporting use case was the entry point for Elastic at Box. That success in replacing MySQL for reporting with Elastic seeded confidence and trust in Elastic. These were the major factors prompting Box to begin replacing its logging solution with Elastic, one new microservice at a time.

Even so, a new reporting and logging system must generate buy-in from engineers or face potential failure or slow adoption. With Box's choosing of the Elastic Stack, engineers are now more motivated than ever to run reports at scale and to program logs for existing or new microservices — all of which positions Box to succeed even more.

"Our engineers are much happier now and queries complete almost immediately. Our satisfaction index is much higher."

Salman Ahmed, Engineering director, Data Platform and Observability SRE teams | Box

All the while, Box's initial journey started with a few terabytes of storage and a handful of developers on the Storage team developing and adopting Box's new reporting features alongside the help of on-site Elastic consultants and Elastic training sessions. Today, about 500 engineers across a wide swath of teams at Box are embracing the Elastic Stack for both reporting and logging — and visualizing terabytes of data daily on hundreds of Kibana dashboards.

Read all about "Newsroom"

As we know, Box's first move with Elastic was to migrate enterprise logs to Elasticsearch for reporting purposes and to serve as the backend for data analytics. This data pipeline would later evolve to support Box's new, Elastic-backed logging environment.

For the reporting project, the company is taking advantage of mandated security features such as role-based access control and user authentication. These and other features — such as being able to tell who accessed what Box file when and where — enabled Box to satisfy compliance obligations involving security and privacy.

The initial switch to this Elasticsearch reporting project, known internally as "Newsroom," cured issues surrounding filtering problems and inconsistencies between enterprise logs and business analytics. No longer was Box having issues producing reports that it was meeting its SLAs, for example. For large enterprises, sometimes the reports didn't load at all, and for medium enterprises, they took too long to return.

Other fixes included:

  • Gained ability to efficiently filter usage logs based on users/folders
  • Able to acquire events related to specific users in the enterprise or a specific folder
  • Statistics reports shown in admin console are unbroken
  • Resolved inconsistency of enterprise logs and business analytics

Hello "Arta"

Box's former logging solution was priced on the amount of data ingested, which at the time was about 7 terabytes a day. That has since grown to around 20 terabytes a day, and is expected to increase even more. So as not to break the bank, that meant Box had to pick and choose where to implement observability features on its ever-growing microservices platform — an untenable issue that switching to Elastic has resolved.

Cost wasn't the only concern. Under its previous logging platform, indexers would sometimes fail. Latency, too, was a problem and alerting was not reliable.

"We were thinking, what does all of this mean in 5 years as we scale. Our switch to Elastic has helped reduce our per-terabyte cost by half, make life better for our developers and provide them with observability capabilities for the microservices that they are building. We are no longer turning away logging projects because of cost."

Deepak Wadhwani, Engineering manager for the Observability team | Box

With that in mind, and as the scale of data from daily logging was exploding, the company re-engineered its logging infrastructure in 2017.

Box is continually moving all operational and application logging securely into Elasticsearch with a trifurcated approach of separating retention, ad hoc, and interactive logging via a pipeline internally codenamed Almost-Real-Time-Analytics, or "Arta."

Mission critical business functions

Box says producing and maintaining enterprise-grade systems performing at the guaranteed SLAs is critical. So Box engineers must have visibility into their systems and the logs they are generating. Ahmed says Elastic has provided the Observability team at Box with a logging system offering sophisticated querying capabilities at minimal indexing overhead — all at a reasonable cost as Box scales.

"The Elastic Stack is critical to us. Every day millions of users and customers worldwide trust Box to execute mission-critical business functions. Elasticsearch has enabled the Observability team at Box to work with a reliable and cost effective logging system."

Salman Ahmed, Engineering director, Data Platform and Observability SRE teams | Box

With this Elastic-driven observability, in addition to the hundreds of Kibana dashboards to visualize this data, Box engineers have insights at their fingertips. They can see whether there are issues for customers opening their Box files, if collaborators were added to files, if files were added to a folder — and you name it. Logging also provides engineers a quick route to fix issues — such as customer file upload latency — in order to stay on target of uptime SLA requirements.

This Kibana dashboard provides the Storage team at Box, which is responsible for critical business workflows, with visibility into file uploads aggregated over the type of files uploaded, in addition to the web client used across different sizes of files.

In addition, to ensure that Box customers continue with a great user experience, logging is central to the act of coding at Box to ensure that code changes have been committed, says Dave Ward, senior director of engineering at Box.

"When you make a change to add new features or fix, did my change produce the desired result?" Ward asks. "Am I seeing errors when pushing code? If the observability pipeline isn't functioning as intended, we could not guarantee the sanity of our systems. Arta leveraging Elasticsearch is mission critical to sustaining our agility and release cadence at scale."

The Elastic future roadmap for Box

Today, Box is on the path to running much of its production-level, developer-focused logging streams in Arta. As the company continues to add new and existing logging streams from its ongoing development of microservices, the Box team is looking into creating further improvements in stability, resiliency, operational efficiency, and bringing the costs down even more.

For the future, Box is considering centralizing more of its tracing metrics into one platform under the Elastic umbrella. Box also is actively partnering with Elastic engineers and refining and sharing product feedback.

The company is interested in other Elastic features like Elastic APM for application performance monitoring, machine learning to help detect and alert to issues, as well as Elastic's geoIP mapping capabilities so Box can visualize in Kibana where in the world queries are coming from, starting at the IP address.

Box is also exploring the Elastic SIEM to help drive security operations as well as beautifying their Kibana dashboards with Canvas, in addition to surveying many other Elastic features.

Return on investment

In financial terms, the adoption of Elastic has helped reduce the price by half when it comes to data loads. In addition, reporting problems and hiccups under MySQL have been shored up. And the latency caused, in part, by its former logging solution indexing on read compared to Elastic indexing on write — is becoming a thing of the past.

"Boil the ocean or boil a pond to get the data." That's how Wadhwani describes the difference in latency. "Querying in Kibana with Elasticsearch is so much faster," Wadhwani says.

On a more unquantifiable level, when it comes to ROI, Box is actively encouraging its engineers to produce the right amount of logs to achieve the level of observability required for building enterprise grade products.

These and other nuanced changes are helping Box meet internal and external SLA agreements while at the same time they are encouraging Box's developers to innovate as Box scales.

The Box Cluster(s)

  • Number of Clusters
    1
  • Number of Nodes
    85 Data, 3 Master, 6 Client
  • Number of LS instances/Beats
    20 Logstash
  • Total Number of Documents
    180 Billion
  • Total Data Size
    190 TB
  • Daily Ingest Rate
    20 TB
  • Number of Indexes
    250
  • Query Rate
    25 Queries/Sec
  • Replicas
    1
  • Time-based indexes
    Daily
  • Node Specifications: Memory Total, CPU, Disk-type (SSD, HDD)
    AWS i3.4XLarge