可观测性
金融服务

苏黎世保险借助 Elastic Cloud 提升客户信任度,承保客户未来安心无虞

加快面市时间

苏黎世保险借助 Elastic 加快了新保险产品和服务的面市时间。迁移到 Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes 后,员工能够快速解决理赔问题,从而提高了客户的满意度和信任度。

强化客户服务/产品

苏黎世保险借助 Elastic 为客户提供了全新的和更具吸引力的产品和服务。迁移到 Elastic 后,不仅实现了成本降低,还获得了最佳的投资回报。

提高数据洞见能力

有了 Elastic,苏黎世保险能够在几分钟内发现并解决内部和客户面临的问题,无需像之前那样需要数天。部署 Elastic 之后,应用程序可见性得到极大提升,这不仅增强了消费者的体验,还留住了老客户,引来了新客户。

借助 Elastic,超越客户期望,推动创新

对于苏黎世保险集团来说,保险远非一项业务那么简单,它不仅关乎客户本身,还涉及客户的切身利益,始终致力于给客户带来内心的安宁和建立未来的信心。这家拥有近 150 年历史的公司,始终秉持客户第一的理念,也正是这一承诺,成为其进行数字化转型的动力。

公司的使命之一就是,以最有效的方式持续为客户提供优质服务。为了吸引新客户,苏黎世保险不断对旧有的应用程序更新换代,并将许多工作负载迁移到 Elastic Cloud 上来。通过迁移工作负载,这家保险公司得以构建新型的数字服务,例如改进的理赔报告和远程风险评估,进而实现了服务增值。此外,公司还推出了多款全新的保险产品,例如 Zurich Klinc,这是一款专门面向智能手机、相机和电动自行车等个人电子设备打造的承保产品。

"在苏黎世保险,我们希望超越客户期望,为客户日益数字化的生活方式保驾护航。这也是我们迁移到 Elastic Cloud Kubernetes 的原因。有了 Elastic,我们可以始终专注于客户需求,推动创新,并简化我们的 IT 环境。"

– Sandra Hauser, 苏黎世保险转型与技术主管

苏黎世保险是全球最大的上市公司之一,拥有 55,000 名员工,客户遍布 215 个国家和地区。推动公司发展,需要采取全面的举措。但聚焦细微之处,很容易发现公司取得的每一个进步都离不开团队和 Elastic 推行者的努力付出,例如,苏黎世高级项目负责人 Brian Keegan 和苏黎世解决方案集成主管 Evgeny Sitnikov 就是其中的两位推行者。

Brian Keegan 和 Evgeny Sitnikov 所领导的项目,并不是大多数员工和客户所能看到的表面工作,但他们的工作是实现持续创新的有力支撑,有助于保持公司的竞争力和客户满意度。他们监管的核心技术之一就是 Elastic,这项技术不仅有助于理赔代理提高工作效率,提供更好的客户服务,还能帮助开发人员推动创新,所有这些都会对企业的利润产生重大影响。

加快理赔流程,更好地为客户服务

苏黎世保险采用 Elastic 技术已达五年之久,Elastic 已成为公司更好地服务客户和保持客户信任不可或缺的一部分。公司在其用于理赔的应用程序中使用了 Elasticsearch,让代理在与客户通电话时,能够快速提取联系人记录和理赔历史记录。放在过去,访问此类信息非常困难,甚至难以做到,因为数十年的数据分散在数十个旧有的系统中。这种情况下,代理不得不花时间向客户本人收集个人数据,延长了通话时间不说,还会让理赔过程变得麻烦,使本就沮丧的客户平添焦虑。

现在,借助 Elastic,代理在需要此类客户数据时便可随手拈来。

"通过整合客户数据并通过 Elasticsearch 使数据易于搜索,苏黎世保险的理赔代理可以实时获取准确的信息,并更快地响应客户的查询。这样一来,每次通话都能节省几秒钟到几分钟的时间,就是这短短的时间,积少成多,在客户满意度方面带来了显著改观。"

– Evgeny Sitnikov, 苏黎世保险解决方案集成主管

借助 Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes,实现加速、扩展和增强相关性

随着苏黎世保险推动创新来满足客户不断变化的需求,Elastic Stack 在开发周期中也发挥着重要的作用。从测试、部署到投入生产,数以百计的苏黎世保险开发人员和测试人员依赖 Elastic 获取应用程序日志记录,确保面向员工和客户的应用程序保持高标准的性能和可用性。他们从多达 40 个本地和云应用程序中提取日志,这其中既有运行 40 年之久的旧有保险系统,也有现代的数字应用,最终创建了一个包含请求和事件的汇总视图,所有这一切都是为了更好地服务于客户。

苏黎世保险在采用 Elastic 之前,应用程序日志都是孤立存在的,在请求和检索数据时,特别是所需数据存储在由第三方管理的系统中时,可能需要花费数天时间。现在,有了 Kibana 仪表板,可以实时可视化这些日志,团队无需等待数天,在几分钟内即可排查和修复 IT 问题。这极大缩短了问题的平均解决时间 (MTTR);随着苏黎世保险迁移到云并打造数字体验,以在竞争环境中满足员工和客户日益增长的期望,缩短平均解决时间变得至关重要。

但是,保持快速的创新步伐就意味着 IT 环境也需要不断发展。IT 团队需要更大的存储容量和可扩展性,以适应不断增长的应用程序日志记录的存储需求,这意味着必须迁移到云中。为了扩展规模,增加收入,扩大客户群并提高客户满意度,苏黎世保险选择了 Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes (ECK)。

"苏黎世保险的瑞士业务部门根据 Elastic Cloud Kubernetes 新方案制定了整个云战略。"

– Sandra Hauser, 苏黎世保险转型与技术主管

易用性和最佳实践已通过 Elastic 咨询得到验证

苏黎世保险一直在寻求采用 Kubernetes 来帮助将应用程序迁移和部署到云中,从而全面实现其应用程序基础架构的现代化。因此,当 Elastic 发布 Alpha 版的 Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes (ECK) 时,公司就抓住了这个机会。

Brian Keegan 的团队首先进行了概念验证,以测试 ECK 在 Microsoft Azure Kubernetes Services (AKS) 上的可行性,随后协同 Elastic 咨询和 Microsoft 团队,就架构和用例进行集思广益,并以最佳实践验证这一方法。Elastic 顾问在开发概念验证的过程中提供了支持,为苏黎世保险的 IT 团队奠定了理想的培训基础。Elastic 团队协同苏黎世保险,一起制定了在 Kubernetes 中捕获日志的途径,并就有关 Azure 组件、实例大小和存储类给予了诸多建议,为投入生产帮助做好了一切准备。有了他们的参与,为 ECK 的实施提供了坚实的出发点,ECK 默认提供安全防护,并且支持声明性用户和角色。

Brian Keegan 说,“我们与“Elastic 咨询”团队的合作体验非常好”,“他们的指导对我们按时完成任务起到了很大的作用。我们在不到六周的时间内,完成了最小的可行性产品的实施,并达到了 UAT(用户验收测试)的要求,这为我们投入生产开了绿灯。”

迁移到 Elastic Cloud 极大地简化了升级和基础架构变更。这意味着,苏黎世保险从 Elastic Stack 的实施中获得了最佳的投资回报,消除了许多对增长、收入和扩展存在不利的遗留解决方案,同时将员工从升级和解决超时问题中解放出来,让他们专注于改进产品和服务。

Evgeny Sitnikov 说,“过去,执行一次升级需要一个庞大的项目,涉及多个团队的许多人员,而且可能需要几个星期才能完成”,“现在,有了易于使用的 Elastic,我们在几小时内即可完成基础架构的变更,无需再花费几天或几周。”

Evgeny Sitnikov 和 Brian Keegan 预计,随着从多个数据源提取数据,Elastic 的使用量会随之增长。为了经济高效地管理数据,他们将充分利用 ECK 中的冷节点、温节点和热节点,不断将较旧的数据转移到成本较低的冷存储中,同时保留数据,以供会计、监管和其他目的之用。

在 Microsoft Azure Kubernetes 上使用 ECK 承保未来

消费者已经看到了成效 — 代理的理赔响应速度大大加快,新型便捷的在线服务以及现代化的保险产品不断推出,能够为他们最重要的事物提供保障。而这仅仅是开始。

当 Evgeny Sitnikov 和 Brian Keegan 提及未来发展时,他们认为,Microsoft Azure Kubernetes 上的 ECK 是进一步推动创新和提高效率的战略途径。

"迁移到在 Microsoft Azure 上运行的 Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes,让我们能够为业务寻求新的用例,包括应用程序性能监测 (APM)、安全信息和事件管理 (SIEM),以及用于异常检测的 Machine Learning。"

– Brian Keegan, 苏黎世保险项目负责人

Observability
Financial Services

Zurich Insurance increases customer trust and underwrites the future with Elastic Cloud

Faster time to market

Zurich speeds up time to market for new insurance products and services with Elastic. Moving to Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes empowers staff to resolve claims quickly, increasing customer satisfaction and trust.

Enhanced customer offerings

Zurich delivers new and enhanced products and services for customers with Elastic. In addition to reducing costs, the migration to Elastic has resulted in an optimal return on investment.

Increased data insights

Zurich discovers and resolves internal and customer-facing issues in minutes rather than days with Elastic. This improved application visibility with Elastic enhances the consumer experience and retains and attracts new customers.

Exceeding customer expectations, driving innovation with Elastic

For Zurich Insurance Group, insurance is more than just a business. It's about protecting customers and the things they love — giving them the peace of mind and confidence to build a future. The nearly 150-year-old company has always put customers first, and that commitment is the driving force behind its digital transformation.

As part of its mission to continuously serve customers most effectively, and to attract new consumers, Zurich Insurance has been retiring legacy applications as well as moving many workloads to Elastic Cloud. The migration has allowed the insurer to add value by building new digital services such as improved claims reporting and remote risk assessments. The company has also launched new insurance products, like Zurich Klinc, which provides coverage for personal electronic devices such as smartphones, cameras, and e-bikes.

"At Zurich Insurance, we want to exceed customer expectations and support their increasingly digital lifestyles. That is why we moved to Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes. With Elastic, we can stay focused on customer needs, drive innovation, and simplify our IT environment."

– Sandra Hauser, Head of Transformation and Technology, Zurich Insurance

Zurich Insurance is one of the largest public companies in the world, with 55,000 employees and customers in 215 countries and territories. Moving the company forward requires sweeping initiatives. But zoom in, and it’s easy to trace the company's progress back to the hard work of teams and Elastic evangelists such as Brian Keegan, Zurich’s Senior Project Lead, and Evgeny Sitnikov, Zurich's Head of Solution Integration.

Brian Keegan and Evgeny Sitnikov lead projects most employees and customers don’t see, but their work supports the ongoing innovation that keeps the company competitive and customers happy. One of the core technologies they oversee is Elastic, which helps claims agents be more productive and provide better customer service, and helps developers drive innovation — all of which has a major impact on the business’s bottom line.

Expediting the claims process to better serve customers

Zurich Insurance has embraced Elastic for the last five years, and it has become indispensable to the company’s ability to better serve customers and maintain their trust. The company uses Elasticsearch in its claims-based applications, giving agents a quick way to pull up contact records and claim history while on the phone with a customer. In the past, accessing this information was difficult, or even impossible, because decades worth of data was scattered across dozens of legacy systems. That meant agents had to spend time collecting personal data from customers themselves, extending the length of the call and making frustrated customers anxiously wade through the claims process.

Now, this customer data is at agents’ fingertips right when they need it, thanks to Elastic.

"By consolidating customer data and making it easily searchable through Elasticsearch, Zurich Insurance claims agents get accurate information in real time and respond to customer inquiries faster," says Evgeny Sitnikov. "That saves anywhere from a few seconds to a few minutes on each call — which can really add up and make a significant difference in customer satisfaction."

– Evgeny Sitnikov, Head of Solution Integration, Zurich Insurance

Speed, scale, and relevance with Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes

The Elastic Stack also plays an important role in the development cycle, as Zurich drives innovation to meet the ever-changing needs of its customers. Hundreds of Zurich developers and testers rely on Elastic for application logging, from testing and deployment to production, making sure applications maintain high standards of performance and availability for employees and customers. They’re pulling in logs from as many as 40 on-prem and cloud applications, from 40-year-old legacy insurance systems to modern digital apps — creating an aggregated view of requests and incidents — all in an effort to better serve the customer.

Prior to using Elastic at Zurich Insurance, application logs were siloed, and it could take days to request and retrieve the data, especially from systems managed by third parties. Now, with Kibana dashboards, it’s possible to visualize those logs in real time, helping teams troubleshoot and fix IT issues in minutes instead of days. That makes for a dramatically faster mean time to resolution (MTTR), which is key as Zurich Insurance moves to the cloud and creates digital experiences to meet the rising expectations of employees and customers in a competitive landscape.

Maintaining a rapid pace of innovation, however, meant that the IT environment needed to evolve. The team needed more storage capacity and scalability to accommodate growing demand for application logging — and that meant moving to the cloud. In order to scale, grow revenue, expand their customer base, and increase customer satisfaction, Zurich Insurance chose Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes (ECK).

"The Elastic Cloud Kubernetes initiative has shaped the entire cloud strategy for the Swiss business unit at Zurich Insurance."

– Sandra Hauser, Head of Transformation and Technology, Zurich Insurance

Ease of use and best practices validated by Elastic Consulting

Zurich Insurance had been looking to adopt Kubernetes to help migrate and deploy applications to the cloud — modernizing their application infrastructure across the board. So when Elastic released the alpha version of Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes (ECK), the company jumped on the opportunity.

Brian Keegan's team ran a proof of concept to test the viability of ECK on Microsoft Azure Kubernetes Services (AKS), working with the Elastic Consulting and Microsoft teams to brainstorm on architecture and use cases, and to validate the approach with best practices. Elastic consultants supported during the development of a proof of concept, creating an ideal training foundation for the IT team at Zurich Insurance. The Elastic team collaborated with Zurich to establish ways to capture logs in Kubernetes and helped prepare everything for production, with recommendations on Azure components, instance sizes, and storage classes. The engagement provided a solid launching point for the implementation of ECK, which is secure by default, and supports declarative users and roles.

"Our experience with Elastic Consulting was excellent," says Brian Keegan. "Their guidance was instrumental in meeting an aggressive timeline. We completed the implementation of the minimum viable product up to UAT in less than six weeks, and that was our green light for going into production."

The shift to Elastic Cloud has dramatically simplified upgrades and infrastructure changes. That means Zurich Insurance gets an optimal return on investment in the Elastic Stack by eliminating many legacy solutions that hindered growth, revenue, and scaling, while freeing staff to focus on improving products and services instead of spending time upgrading and addressing timeouts.

"In the past, performing an upgrade required a huge project involving a lot of people from across teams — and it could take several weeks to complete," says Evgeny Sitnikov. "With the ease of use of Elastic, today we can make infrastructure changes in hours instead of days or weeks."

Evgeny Sitnikov and Brian Keegan expect Elastic usage to grow, with data flowing in from multiple sources. To manage the data cost-effectively, they're making full use of the cold, warm, and hot nodes in ECK — continually rotating older data onto less expensive cold storage while retaining the data for accounting, regulatory and other purposes.

Underwriting the future with ECK on Microsoft Azure Kubernetes

Consumers are already seeing the results — much faster response claim times from agents, new and convenient online services, and modernized insurance products to protect the things that matter most to them. And that’s only the beginning.

As Evgeny Sitnikov and Brian Keegan look to the future, they see ECK on Microsoft Azure Kubernetes as a strategic way to drive innovation and efficiency even more.

"Moving to Elastic Cloud on Kubernetes running on Microsoft Azure enables us to seek new use cases for the business, including application performance monitoring (APM), security information and event management (SIEM), and machine learning for anomaly detection."

– Brian Keegan, Project Lead, Zurich Insurance