企业搜索
软件与技术

InfoTrack: 通过 Elasticsearch Service 打造强大搜索功能,推出数据驱动型创新

概览

  • 10%
    NPS(净推荐值)提高比例
  • 15%
    每年增加的新客户比例

搜索速度飞快

通过在 Elasticsearch 上进行标准化,InfoTrack 针对 IT 运营部门所用的 IT 系统日志数据提高了搜索速度,增强了相关性,并扩充了数据量。而且,InfoTrack 还在自己的旗舰产品中使用 Elasticsearch 来帮助客户搜索法律文档数据。

领先市场的创新方案

由 Elastic Stack 提供支持的新服务,例如他们的数据湖搜索,大幅提高了客户效率,从而将市场占有率提升到了 70%。

利用新洞见提升性能

借助 Kibana 的功能,InfoTrack 能够在性能和产品使用情况方面获得更多深入洞见,从而防止客户流失并推动公司持续增长。

卓越的灵活性和操控性

自从弃用 Amazon 的 Elasticsearch Service 并改用 Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud 之后,InfoTrack 得以更灵活地快速部署新集群,并实现更加强大、基于角色的安全控制功能。

公司概览

InfoTrack 是一家法律技术公司,致力于帮助其客户(包括律师事务所、金融机构、房地产公司以及政府实体)查找、分析、整理并提供不动产或商务交易所需的信息。这些信息的范围十分广泛,既包括与不动产和企业相关的政府信息,也包括诸如无犯罪记录证明等个人背景信息。 

通过让客户在一个地方即可搜索全部这些信息,InfoTrack 的平台彻底改变了工作流,这样客户便能提高工作效率并增加盈利。 

经过过去几年的发展,InfoTrack 目前在核心市场已占据主导地位,在澳大利亚、美国和英国有 8,500 家客户,而且还在以每个月新增 150 家客户的速度快速扩张。 

InfoTrack 以 Elastic Stack 为基托,凭借开发人员主导的数据驱动型创新来推动增长。

支持强大搜索功能,实现数据驱动型解决方案

InfoTrack 简单来说就好比是专门针对法律和相关信息的 Google,律师和他们的客户都可以在这里找到工作所需的信息。  它通过单一 UI 和工作流将多项数字搜索、报备和签署功能整合到一个平台上,以便个人和企业能够从数千家第三方那里轻松搜索和提取相关信息,并向政府机构报备文档。 

纵观公司发展历程,InfoTrack 一直坚守以开发人员为主导的企业文化,并致力于采用最新技术,这些都有助于公司不断推出新功能,并为客户提供优质服务,从而在市场上独占鳌头。该公司的开发人员遍布全球,而且还有专门的创新团队,该团队是新想法、产品和流程的孵化器,负责描绘公司在接下来三到五年甚至更久远未来的发展路线。  通过采用 Elastic Stack 并在 Elasticsearch Service 上管理他们自己的部署,InfoTrack 的开发人员和创新团队能够让客户飞速完成查询,并瞬间即可轻松创建并部署新产品。

创新团队主管 Ashim Joshi 和技术负责人 Nick Carton 都表示,InfoTrack 在过去四年间从就地部署系统转向云服务的这一举措让他们能够更加轻松地探索和部署新技术,推动了公司的创新历程。“如果使用就地部署系统,存在很多限制,很难扩大公司业务。”Carton 说道,“改用云服务,并最终实现云原生之后,我们获得了极大程度上的自由和灵活性,真正践行了我们以开发人员为主导的企业文化,并允许我们很快实现扩展。”

InfoTrack 采用 Elastic 的历程

打造更智慧、更快捷的搜索功能

InfoTrack 能够帮客户节省时间,让他们轻松地收集所需信息和文档以开展一系列法律和不动产事务。例如,在澳大利亚市场,如果个人希望购买不动产,他们必须从本地政府或土地登记处获得产权证书。要是通过不动产转让律师来亲自获取这些资料的话,最长可能需要 10 天,但如若使用 InfoTrack,瞬间即可搜出这些文档。 

当然,能够以前所未有的方式获得这些文档是一回事。在请求量不断增长的情况下,持续将这些文档从各种不同的数据源和结构集中到一起并以近实时的速度提供给人们,又完全是另外一回事。正因如此,日志和监测现已成为 InfoTrack 日常运行工作中必不可少的一部分。通过这一扎根于 Elastic Stack 的理念,开发人员能够跟踪应用程序的性能表现,了解错误的根本原因并马上将其解决掉。 

日志起初是通过文件日志工具手动进行管理的,但是随着 InfoTrack 的增长,这一方法的弊端逐渐显现,其不仅耗时过长,而且开发人员还不能跟踪应用程序并进行故障排查。所以,InfoTrack 开始搜索其他解决方案,甚至还曾短暂考虑过自行构建。然而,自行构建的话,需要耗时数月,而且还需要专门安排一名员工来管理诸如横向扩展和在不同应用程序间分离日志等活动。他们一直在寻求解决方案,直至 2017 年初首席执行官听说了 Elastic Stack 并让创新团队测试一下。 

"我们每秒都会收到数千条日志,所以我们需要一个可扩展的集中式解决方案,从而允许我们十分快速地搜索这些内容。Elastic Stack 帮我们解决了所有这些痛点。"

– Ashim Joshi, 创新主管 | InfoTrack

选择正确的托管服务提供商

InfoTrack 最初部署的是 Amazon Elasticsearch Service。创新团队当时觉得这个解决方案既快捷又轻松,但他们很快就遇到了安全和性能问题。问题之一便是 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 运行的是 Elastic Stack 旧版本。这一版本仅允许使用 IP 限制功能来确保安全,这在一定程度上束缚了开发人员,因为他们不能调整底层的 Java 虚拟机 (JVM)。而且,在使用 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 时,InfoTrack 无法使用 Elastic Stack 的多项其他功能,例如 APM、索引生命周期管理 (ILM) 以及 Graph。没有这些功能,团队在构建可确保长期成功和稳定的系统时便无法发挥出全部潜力,也无法确保从已有数据中获得最大价值。 

"当初选择 Amazon 时,我们的本能倾向是选择一种轻松的方法,只需单击一下按钮即可通过 Amazon 来运行 Elasticsearch。但是我们发现,方法虽然简单,但是并未提供更优的服务、功能或支持。我们很快便改用了 Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud,这一方案满足了我们的所有需求,甚至还有一些额外惊喜,我们对这一决定从未后悔过。"

– Ashim Joshi, 创新主管 | InfoTrack

有了 Elastic 提供的出色支持和文档,InfoTrack 轻松完成了迁移,可以体验最新版本的 Elastic Stack 以及更广泛的功能集合。这其中包括更加强大的基于角色的安全控制,而且可以让我们更加灵活地快速部署新的内部客户和项目。实际上,这一方案简单到无以复加,以至于如需扩展规模或添加新集群,开发人员仅需在 Elasticsearch Service 控制台中点击一下滑条,便大功告成了。 

InfoTrack 目前正在使用 Filebeat 和 Metricbeat 来从数千个应用程序向 Logstash 传输数据,这些数据在 Logstash 中会转换为可读格式。然后使用 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana,便可实时对这些数据进行搜索和可视化了。 

Carton 表示,Elasticsearch Service 不仅提高了搜索速度,而且还能让团队更加灵活地关联不同数据流并管理索引生命周期;InfoTrack 计划未来采用热温冷架构来更好地平衡性能和成本,充分利用索引生命周期功能。 

“我们现在已将所有日志和指标都集中到一起,并且可在 Kibana 中监测所有内容。此举让我们能够超级轻松地检测到应用程序错误,并了解最新情况,以便将宕机时间降至最低。”Carton 说道。

获得更多创新洞见

一段时间以来,InfoTrack 持续从 Elastic Stack 中收获了更多价值,例如通过使用 Elastic Stack 来监测公司的其他方面,并在开发新产品和服务改善方面形成新想法。创新团队最近还使用 Elastic Stack 设计了一个新的金字塔形“产品故事”,颠覆了平台上的搜索体验。金字塔底层是 InfoTrack 的数据湖和数据仓库层(由 Elastic Stack 提供支持);InfoTrack 的 API 层和应用程序则位于顶层。这一设计使得开发人员能够基于这些数据仓库来完成产品架构,而无需再设置并维护不同的数据库。 

创新团队目前正在对 InfoTrack 平台上全部 5500 多万份文档订单的元数据添加标签,从而针对所有产品提供更加智能、更加快捷的搜索机制。借助数据团队提供的帮助,他们还设置了一个ETL 管道来对平台上的文档添加标签并将其转换为轻量型格式,以便高效地完成全文本搜索。 

“通过设立这些数据仓库,并使用 Elastic Stack 来完成更细粒度的关键词搜索,我们进一步推动了公司文化,即鼓励开发人员不断提问还可以怎样处理数据,还能怎么做来让用户享受到这一强大的搜索功能。”Joshi 说道。 

InfoTrack 新的数据湖搜索便是这一创新的结晶。这是一个智能搜索解决方案,可允许客户对来自不同第三方的各种文档进行重排序和可视化,并找到文档间的联系。举例说明,有一名律师正在搜索潜在客户的姓名,那么他/她在一个地方便可找到与此人的不动产、公司以及当前/过去法律事务相关的信息。 

这极大程度上提高了客户研究的速度,将完成利益冲突搜索所需的时间从数周减少至一天。 

优化性能,提高客户满意度

通过使用 Elastic Stack 和 Elasticsearch Service,InfoTrack 取得了广泛效益,首先是节省了管理日志和解决应用程序错误所需的时间,这当然又有助于打造更佳的客户体验并赢得客户信赖。“我们的客户之所以选择 InfoTrack 是因为我们提供杰出服务。有了 Elastic,我们能够尽早发现应用程序问题并极大程度上提高解决支持工单的速度,可以说 Elastic 帮助我们履行了提供出色服务的承诺。有鉴于此,我们支持中心的 NPS(净推荐值)已经从 70 提高到超过 80。”Joshi 说道。 

由于使用 Kibana,调查问题所需的时间得以减少,这使得开发人员能将更多时间集中到推出更优品质的代码上,所以增长率和客户保留率等其他指标也实现了增长。他们能够每天部署故障修复程序并推出功能,还能推出在市场上独具特色的创新解决方案,例如 InfoTrack 的数据湖搜索。还有一点,公司现在拥有的数据比之前任何时候都要多,这有助于公司确定交叉销售机会并防止客户流失。 

"在快节奏的公司中,你需要拥有实时数据来理解业务表现并作出明智决策。我每天上午肯定要做的事情是查看我的 Kibana 仪表板,而且每天的会议都会涉及临时查询以帮助我们获得所需洞察。补充一下,通过 Elasticsearch Service 这项免维护服务,我们轻松实现了稳定性和性能,效果很理想。我希望所有云服务都可以像它这样,既节省费用,使用起来还顺畅。"

– John Ahern, 首席执行官 | InfoTrack

InfoTrack 现在专注于制定成熟的开发流程并添加 Elastic Stack 的新功能;只需在 Elastic Cloud 控制台中点击并拖动滑块就能轻松添加新功能。该公司未来的计划包括使用 APM 来跟踪文档分发管道中的故障点,这样,无论故障是发生在自身还是合作伙伴的技术堆栈内,公司都能更快速地解决问题。InfoTrack 对能够在 Elastic Cloud 中轻松使用 SIEM 也倍感兴奋,现在正在探索可以如何利用这一功能来监测威胁、推动安全运营工作,并避免构建自有解决方案来完成同样的工作。 

“我们希望每四个月推出一整套解决方案,Elastic 帮助我们灵活又高效地实现了这一目标。”Joshi 说道。

Enterprise Search
Software & Technology

InfoTrack: Powering the search for data-driven innovation with Elasticsearch Service

AT A GLANCE

  • 10%
    increase in NPS
  • 15%
    increase in new customers year over year

Blazingly fast search

By standardizing on Elasticsearch, InfoTrack has increased search speed, relevance and data volume in the context of IT system log data used by IT operations. Also, Elasticsearch is used in InfoTrack’s flagship product to enable search for legal document data for its customers.

Market leading innovation

New Elastic Stack-powered services, like their Data Lake Search, offer efficiencies customers can’t find elsewhere, driving market share up to 70%.

New insights to drive performance

With the capabilities of Kibana, InfoTrack has greater insights on the performance and usage of products to prevent customer churn and drive continued growth.

Optimal flexibility and control

Making the switch from Amazon’s Elasticsearch Service to Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud has given InfoTrack greater flexibility to spin up new clusters and more robust, role-based security controls.

Company Overview

InfoTrack is a legal technology company which helps customers, including law firms, financial institutions, real estate companies, and government entities, to find, analyze, organize, and communicate information required for property or business transactions. This information is wide ranging and includes government data related to properties and businesses as well as individual background information like police checks. 

By making all of this information searchable in one central place, InfoTrack’s platform revolutionizes workflow so that customers can improve productivity and grow profitability. 

In the past few years, InfoTrack has become a dominant player in its core  markets and currently has 8,500 customers across Australia, United States, and the United Kingdom, and is growing at a rate of 150 new customers per month. 

InfoTrack is fuelling this growth through developer-led and data-driven innovation, backed by the Elastic Stack.

Powering the search for data-driven solutions

A simple way to explain InfoTrack is that it is Google for legal and associated information that lawyers and their clients need to get business done.  It amalgamates numerous digital searching, filing and signing features onto one platform with a single UI and workflow so that individuals and businesses can easily search for and retrieve information from thousands of third parties and file documents with government agencies. 

Throughout its history, InfoTrack’s developer-led culture and use of the latest technologies has helped it to differentiate itself in the market by continuing to push out new features all while providing customers with premium service. It has developers worldwide and a dedicated Innovation team that operates as an incubator for new ideas, products, and processes — defining what the company will look like in the next three to five years and beyond.  By leveraging the Elastic Stack and managing their deployments on Elasticsearch Service, InfoTrack’s developers and Innovation team are able to provide customers with blazingly fast search and easily create and deploy new products on the fly.

Ashim Joshi, Head of Innovation, and Nick Carton, Technical Lead, say InfoTrack’s move from on-premise systems to the cloud over the past four years has helped foster this innovation by making it easier to explore and deploy new technologies. “It is very difficult to scale a business when you’re restricted by on-premise systems,” said Carton. “The freedom and flexibility that came with moving to the cloud, and ultimately becoming cloud-native, really launched our developer-led culture and allowed us to scale up very quickly.”

InfoTrack’s Journey with Elastic

Delivering smarter and faster search

The InfoTrack platform saves customers time and hassle in gathering information and documents they need to carry out a range of legal and property transactions. For example, in the Australian Market, if an individual were to purchase property, they would require documents like a Certificate of Title from the local council or land registry office. Engaging a conveyancer to retrieve these in person can take up to 10 days, but using InfoTrack, the documents can be searched for online in an instant. 

Of course, it’s one thing to be able to get those documents for folks in a way that wasn’t possible before. It’s a whole other thing to continue to pull these documents from disparate data sources and structures and serve them up at near instant speeds, all while the amount of requests continue to grow. That’s why logging and monitoring are now integral to InfoTrack’s every day operations. This Elastic Stack-powered concept allows developers to keep track of how applications are performing and get to the root cause of errors to address them right away. 

Logging was initially managed manually using a file log tool, but this approach became too time consuming as InfoTrack grew and didn’t allow developers to trace and debug applications. So InfoTrack searched for an alternative solution and briefly considered building its own. However, this would have taken months and required a dedicated resource to manage activities like horizontal scaling and the separation of logs between applications. The search for a solution continued until early 2017 when the CEO heard about the Elastic Stack and asked the Innovation team to test it out. 

"We had thousands of logs coming in every second and needed a centralised and scalable solution that would allow us to search across these very quickly. With the Elastic Stack we had all those pain points answered."

– Ashim Joshi, Head of Innovation | InfoTrack

Choosing the right managed service provider

InfoTrack first implemented Amazon Elasticsearch Service. The Innovation team thought that it would be a quick and easy solution, but they quickly ran into security and performance issues. One of the issues was that the Amazon Elasticsearch Service ran an older version of the Elastic Stack. This version only allowed security using IP restriction and restricted developers from tuning the underlying Java Virtual Machine (JVM). Additionally, in using Amazon Elasticsearch Service, the InfoTrack team lacked access to the additional features of the Stack, including APM, Index Lifecycle Management (ILM), and Graph. Without these, the team could not reach full potential in architecting their system for long-term success and stability, and ensuring they were getting the most value out of the data available to them. 

"As we run on Amazon, our natural inclination was to go the easy route and just click a button to get Elasticsearch running through Amazon. But what we found out is that ease didn’t translate to a better experience, features, or support. We quickly switched over to Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud, which provided all of this and more, and haven't looked back since."

– Ashim Joshi, Head of Innovation | InfoTrack

With great support and documentation from Elastic, the migration was effortless and gave InfoTrack access to the latest version of the Elastic Stack and a wider set of capabilities. This included more robust, role-based security controls and added flexibility to spin up new internal customers and projects. In fact, it’s so simple now that all developers need to do in order to scale up or add a new cluster is click on a slider bar in the Elasticsearch Service Console. 

InfoTrack is now using Filebeat and Metricbeat to ship data from thousands of applications into Logstash where it is transformed into a readable format. The data can then be searched and visualized in real time using Elasticsearch and Kibana. 

Carton said that in addition to improving the speed of search, the Elasticsearch Service provided greater flexibility when it came to hooking into different data streams and managing index life cycle, which it plans to take advantage of in the future by implementing a hot-warm-cold architecture to better balance performance and cost. 

“We’ve now centralised all of our logs and metrics and are monitoring everything in Kibana. This makes it really easy to spot application errors and understand what’s going on so we can minimize any downtime,” said Carton.

Increasing insights for innovation

Over time, InfoTrack has continued to find more value from the Elastic Stack by using it to monitor other aspects of the business and inform ideas for new products and service improvements. The Innovation team has also more recently used the Elastic Stack to design a new pyramid-shaped ‘product story’ which has revolutionized searching on its platform. At the base of the pyramid is InfoTrack’s data lake and a data mart layer powered by the Elastic Stack; InfoTrack’s API layer and applications sit on top. This allows developers to architect products based on these data marts rather than spinning up and maintaining different databases. 

The Innovation team is now in the process of tagging the metadata of all 55+ million document orders on InfoTrack’s platform to provide a smarter and faster search mechanism across its products. With the help of the data team, they have also set up an ETL pipeline that tags and transforms documents on the platform into a lightweight format for efficient full text searching. 

“Establishing these data marts and enabling more granular key word search with the Elastic Stack has promoted this culture where our developers are asking what else can we do with this data, and how can we extend the power of this search to our customers,” said Joshi. 

InfoTrack’s new Data Lake Search is a result of this innovation. It is a smart search solution which allows customers to reorder, visualise, and discover connections across multiple documents from different third parties. For example, a lawyer running a search on a potential client’s name, can surface information related to that person’s properties, businesses and current or past legal dealings - all in one place. 

This transforms the speed of customer research and allows conflict of interest searches to be completed in one day as opposed to weeks. 

Optimizing performance and customer satisfaction

The use of the Elastic Stack and the Elasticsearch Service has delivered wide-ranging benefits, starting with the time saved on managing logs and resolving application errors and leading to a trusted customer experience. "Our customers choose InfoTrack because we offer a premium service. Elastic helps us deliver that by allowing us to spot application issues early on and resolve support tickets a lot faster. Our help desk NPS has improved from 70 to more than 80+ as a result," said Joshi. 

Other metrics like growth and customer retention are also set to rise with the use of Kibana helping to reduce the time spent investigating issues and giving developers more time to focus on pushing out quality code. They’re able to deploy fixes and features daily and release innovative solutions like InfoTrack’s Data Lake Search which can’t be found elsewhere. What’s more, the business has more data than ever before, helping it to  identify cross-selling opportunities and prevent customer churn. 

"In a fast paced business, you need real time data to understand your business and make informed decisions. My morning routine involves reviewing my Kibana dashboards, and every day meetings involve ad-hoc queries to get the insights we need. With the Elasticsearch Service we also get the stability and performance we need in a service that is maintenance-free. I wish all cloud services were as cost effective and seamless."

– John Ahern, CEO | InfoTrack

InfoTrack is now focused on maturing its development process and adding on new capabilities of the Elastic Stack which is as easy to do as clicking and dragging on a slider in the Elastic Cloud console. Its future plans include using APM to trace points of failure in its document delivery pipeline, so whether the failure originates from its own technology stack or a partner’s, it can resolve the issue faster. InfoTrack is also excited about having easy access to SIEM within the Elastic Cloud and is exploring how it can take advantage of this to monitor threats and drive security operations and avoid building in-house solutions to  do the same. 

“Our goal is to release an entire solution every four months, and Elastic gives us the flexibility and efficiency to achieve that,” said Joshi.