企业搜索
零售

The Warehouse Group: 打造顾客忠诚度,打击欺诈行为

概览

  • 已索引的顾客交易数量
  • 查询响应时间的降低比例

无缝顾客体验

无论是否有收据,顾客现在都可轻松完成退货,这有助于打造良好体验并且收到了顾客的积极反馈。

降低欺诈风险

团队成员能确认所退货物是否为真实交易,并且打击欺诈行为。

高峰期对性能加以优化

即使在零售业最为繁忙的时节,Elasticsearch Service 也可实现卓越性能并支持无缝扩展。

开发人员主导的业务成果

开发人员主导的项目大获成功,这也推动了该公司在其他领域应用 Elastic Stack。


公司概览

The Warehouse 成立于 1982 年,宗旨是挑战传统的零售模式,并为新西兰的广大老百姓提供更实惠的日用商品,例如家居用品、电子产品和服装。The Warehouse 率先采用新技术,借助现代零售系统站在时代前沿,同时致力于在低成本派送和提供具有可持续性和竞争力的价格这两个方面勇于创新。

多年来,这家零售商扩展很快,实现了业务多元化,旗下品牌现有 Warehouse Stationery、Torpedo7 和 Noel Leeming 等。这些店铺统称为 The Warehouse Group,早已融入新西兰普通民众的日常生活之中,每周都会有大约 200 万顾客前往 250 多家店铺购物。

支持强大搜索功能,助力打击欺诈行为

The Warehouse 的退货政策中有一条是 12 个月内保证退款,只要处理退货的员工可以确认购物交易符合条件,便允许顾客无需提供收据进行退货。这项政策帮助 The Warehouse 赢得了顾客忠诚度,但是由于所采用的的退货处理方式不当,也让这家零售商面临着潜在的欺诈风险。顾客为什么可以对同一件商品成功退货多次而不被发现呢?更重要的是,需要采取什么措施来杜绝此种欺诈行为?这是 The Warehouse 面临的一个难题。因此,需要通过一种更好的方式来验证所退商品是否为真实交易,公司在寻找解决方案的过程中 Elasticsearch 脱颖而出。

实施过程用时几个月,Elasticsearch 现在能够为 The Warehouse 93 家店铺的员工提供支持,助力他们使用 1,500 个销售点 (POS) 设备和 200 台服务中心电脑查询数年以来的交易数据。此举允许团队成员快速查找并验证交易,并向顾客退还他们所支付的准确金额。精简后的流程帮助到了所有人,并且有效杜绝了欺诈风险。

The Warehouse 使用 Elastic 的历程

IT 团队面临的新挑战

从 2012 年起,The Warehouse 便开始尝试通过传统方法来验证退货商品,而且每家店铺都制定有各自的流程。所用方法包括通过详细信息(例如信用卡的后四位数字)搜索纸质和电子版交易记录。然而,搜索这些记录需要耗时 15 分钟,而且员工仅能查询自己所在店铺的数据。The Warehouse 一直致力于提供卓越顾客体验,所以深知他们需要采用一种更具创新性的方式。The Warehouse Group 负责店内系统和应用程序的核心开发者 Trevor Jones 选择了迎难而上。

该团队希望帮助店铺员工对全部交易数据进行更加详尽的搜索。他们之前曾使用 Apache Solr 开发了一款产品搜索应用程序。这是一个小型的本地化解决方案,用于在所有店铺服务器上进行搜索,但是该应用程序让 IT 团队对 Lucene 型方法的快速响应能力赞赏有加。然而,在这个新项目中,他们知道自己需要一套能够快速扩展的解决方案,因为随着对各家店铺每张收据中的全部数据进行索引,他们势必需要满足不断增长的数据需求。

“为了减少退货过程中的矛盾摩擦,我们需要的解决方案不仅速度要极其之快,而且还可搜索全部数十亿条数据。所有这些要求都指向了 Elasticsearch,而且由于这是一款开源产品,我们立即便可开始使用。我们快速构建了一个集群,确认了其能满足我们的全部需求,这时我们的项目已经基本成功了。”Trevor 说道。

精简且经过验证的退货流程

顾客希望在他们本地的 The Warehouse 店铺舒心购物,而且他们知道 The Warehouse 制定有很棒的退货政策。但面临的挑战是,由于退货流程并不鼓励顾客在退货时携带收据,这导致了需要花费很长时间来处理退货,这一定程度上影响了顾客满意度。还有另外一个问题,有少量顾客所退的商品根本不是在 The Warehouse 购买的,至少数量不符。这些顾客可能会从其他渠道购买或盗窃商品,然后企图在 The Warehouse 的不同店铺内进行多次退货。The Warehouse 希望能够弥补这一欺诈漏洞。

The Warehouse 既要杜绝退货欺诈,还不得给顾客带来不便,Elasticsearch 恰恰满足了他们在这两方面的需求。这套解决方案效果良好,因为其可允许员工搜索交易数据来确认顾客是否真正购买过商品而且之前并未退过货。

例如,如果顾客要求退回一个烤面包机(无论是否携带收据),员工都可以轻松搜索烤面包机,以及与其同时购买的其他商品。然后他们可以按照日期或地点缩小结果范围,直至找到正确的商品。最后他们可以提取出收据并查看烤面包机的购买价格,并确认其之前并未退过货。由于实现了 Elasticsearch 般的速度,而且具有“输入即搜索”自动完成功能,整个流程仅需几秒即可完成。

有一位顾客向 The Warehouse 发来了感谢信,对她退回母亲节礼物时所体验到的杰出客户服务表示无比赞赏。这位母亲已经收到了商品,但是因为她儿子把收据弄丢了,她不确定能否退货。她写到:“我问他们能否退货时,他们说能,只要告诉购买日期,他们就能找到收据,并将其更换为其他商品,或者提供消费金。所以,我又买了一个更贵的东西,双方都很满意。客户服务很棒,谢谢!”

成功推出重大项目

The Warehouse 开发部经理 Juan Herbst 之前曾使用过 Elastic,知道其能带来的优势。他主动牵头,提供了概念验证,并且帮助整个团队使用 Elastic 来解决所面临的“验证收据”用例,让大家体会到其带来的优势。在使用 Elasticsearch 成功完成测试用例后,他便将部署迁移到了云端,一开始是在 AWS 上自行托管,并开始和团队协作规划如何更广泛地在 The Warehouse 的全部店铺中推出这一方案。在 2018 年下半年,这一方案推广到了所有店铺。

“我们有信心 Elastic 解决方案肯定能奏效,但并不知道所有人一下子同时开始使用会怎么样。考虑到我们正好是在圣诞季之前推出这一方案,我们希望通过 Elastic 订阅服务得到进一步保障并获得相关支持。”Trevor 说道,“我们还希望能够有人帮忙负责运营这一块,以便我们能够专心开发,由于上述原因,我们订阅了 Elasticsearch Service 服务。”

搜索快如电,轻松即扩展

The Warehouse 有 1,500 台销售点 (POS) 设备,还有 200 台服务中心电脑,所有这些设备都必须能够实现验证收据这一功能。此方案的推出过程分为下列步骤,首先将 30 亿条交易数据从历史数据库中提取出来,然后将所有这些数据标准化为通用的 JSON 文档模型,最后将它们输入到 Elasticsearch 索引中。同时,还对现有的 POS 设备进行了设置,以将之后的所有新交易数据都转换为 JSON 模式并直接输入到 Elasticsearch 中。

现在直接使用 POS 设备和服务中心电脑上的应用程序便可轻松快捷地查询多达 3 TB 的数据,而且搜索请求的响应时间平均为 20 - 30 毫秒,这个开端令所有人都很满意,考虑到之前处理退货需要长达 15 分钟,更加可以理解公司的欣喜之情。然而,随着圣诞季的临近,The Warehouse 意识到正常的节日购物热潮意味着会有越来越多的数据输入到 Elasticsearch 中,尽管系统可以承受这些增加的负载,但团队开始看到查询响应时间已攀升至 8 - 10 秒钟。

这个问题出现之后,Juan 立即联系了 Elastic 支持部门和产品专家,诊断结果是集群并未针对圣诞季期间所发送的数据量进行优化。结论是需要增加更多资源,由于 The Warehouse 订阅了 Elasticsearch Service,在双方就理想配置参数达成一致意见后,很轻松便配置完成了。

"我们选择 Elasticsearch Service 的原因之一就是其能灵活进行扩展。只轻点了几下按钮,我们性能不佳的系统便实现了飞跃,能够以闪电般速度完成收据查询。"

– Juan Herbst, 开发部经理 | The Warehouse.

由于集群已针对当前和未来的数据负载进行了优化,The Warehouse 能够轻松地从网上商店向 Elasticsearch 中添加交易数据,从而让顾客无论是线上还是线下购物,都能享受轻松便捷的退货体验。除了这些小的优化和添加新数据源之外,Trevor 说他们从正式上线之后就再也没有操心过这个解决方案。

"我们所构建的方案能够独自运行,如果的确需要扩展,我们通过 Elasticsearch Service 很轻松就能做到,就像拧开水龙头接水一样简单。我们完全用不着费心去打理。"

– Trevor Jones, 核心开发者 | The Warehouse

扩展至新用例

他们的移动设备团队也通过 Elasticsearch 来为顾客提供支持,让顾客能够从现有的移动应用上扫描并保存自己的收据。这在很大程度上减少了对纸质收据的依赖,同时也改善了用户体验。这还能帮助 The Warehouse 确定顾客的购物习惯,从而向顾客提供更密切相关的促销优惠。如果顾客喜欢某一特定产品,他们在应用中轻触收据即可转至 The Warehouse 的网上商店并购买“更多同样商品”。公司还计划之后允许顾客在结账时用手机扫描应用,这样收据就会自动关联到他们的在线账户。通过 Elastic,这一解决方案的速度甚至比打印收据还要快。

其他用例也在酝酿中,其中有一项是利用 Kibana 基于 POS 设备数据来分析交易效率。

由于 Juan 和 Trevor 在公司内都提倡使用 Elastic,所以他们也不断地在全公司范围内加以推广,帮助团队通过更具创意的新方法来提供更出色的顾客体验,并打造更高的顾客满意度。

"全公司有很多人都看到了我们在退货验证流程上取得的成功,他们想知道 Elastic 是否也能为他们的应用程序提供支持。Elastic 培训的质量特别好,能够帮我更深入了解 Elastic Stack 的运行过程,进而我能够在之后确定如何用其来支持这些应用程序或者解决其他问题。"

– Trevor Jones, 核心开发者 | The Warehouse

成功杜绝欺诈退货

除了过去六个多月在技术方面取得的成功以及所实现的新用例,The Warehouse 在降低欺诈案件数量方面也取得了显著成功。通过确保为顾客退回准确的金额,公司还节省了更多资金。不仅如此,无论是对顾客,还是对员工,退货流程的速度和轻松程度都实现了巨幅改进。

“过去我们需要问顾客一大堆问题,或者在我们查找收据期间,将顾客晾在柜台等待 15 分钟。这一矛盾摩擦已经成为历史,欺诈退货的风险也得以杜绝。很简单,人们再也不能像之前那样进行欺诈退货了。”Trevor 说道。

The Warehouse Group 的集群

  • 集群
    2 个生产集群
  • 节点
    10
  • 托管环境
    Elastic Cloud
  • 文档
    27 亿份
  • 总数据量
    3 TB
  • 每日采集量
    15 万份(最高可达 200 份/秒)
  • 索引
    30
  • 查询速度
    45 次/秒
  • 副本分片
    1

Enterprise Search
Retail

The Warehouse Group: Building Customer Loyalty and Combating Fraud

AT A GLANCE

  • 3B+
    Customer transactions indexed
  • 2,000%
    decrease in query response time

Seamless customer experience

Customers can now easily return goods with or without a receipt, resulting in a great experience and positive feedback.

Reduced risk of fraud

Team members can validate returns are genuine and combat fraud.

Optimised performance during peak periods

Elasticsearch Service allows for optimal performance and seamless scalability even during the retail industry’s busiest time of year.

Developer-led results

The success of the developer-led project has led to the use of the Elastic Stack in other areas of the business also.

Company Overview

The Warehouse was founded in 1982 with the purpose of challenging traditional retail models, as well as bringing bargains to New Zealanders for general merchandise like homeware, electronics, and apparel. By being an early adopter of new technology and staying ahead of the curve with modern retailing systems, The Warehouse has been an innovator in low cost delivery and sustained competitive prices.

The retailer has expanded and diversified over the years with brands including Warehouse Stationery, Torpedo7, and Noel Leeming. Collectively, these stores are known as The Warehouse Group and are an established part of the everyday lives of Kiwis, with around 2m visitors to over 250 stores every week.

Powering the Search to Combat Fraud

The Warehouse had a returns policy which included a 12-month money back guarantee and allowed customers to return items without a receipt, if the employee handling the return could ascertain that it was a legitimate purchase. This policy had helped The Warehouse earn customer loyalty, but it did expose the retailer to the potential for fraud due to how returns were handled. How does a customer get away with returning the same item multiple times and, more importantly, how do you stop them? This was the dilemma faced by The Warehouse. A better way to validate that returns were genuine was therefore needed, and the search for a solution led to Elasticsearch.

Implemented in a matter of months, Elasticsearch now enables employees using 1,500 point of sale (POS) devices and 200 service desk computers across The Warehouse’s 93+ stores to search through years of transactional data. This allows team members to quickly find and validate transactions and refund customers exactly what they paid. The streamlined process is a win for everyone and has effectively combatted the potential for fraud.

The Warehouse’s Journey with Elastic

A new challenge for the IT team

Since 2012, The Warehouse had tried traditional ways of validating returns and each store had their own process. This included searching through physical and electronic transaction records using details like the last four digits of credit cards. However, searching these records could take 15 minutes and employees could only search through data from their own store. With an eye on always providing the best customer experience, The Warehouse knew they needed a more innovative approach. Trevor Jones, Lead Developer for The Warehouse Group's in-store systems and applications, took on the challenge.

The team wanted to make it possible for store employees to carry out more detailed searches across all transactional data. They had previously developed a product search application, where they had used Apache Solr. It was a small, localised solution used to search across store servers, but it made IT appreciate the responsiveness of a Lucene based approach. But with this new project, they knew they needed a solution that would easily scale to meet the data demands that would come along with indexing all data from each receipt across every store.

“To reduce the friction involved in returns, we needed a solution that was extremely fast and could search across billions of lines of data. All roads led to Elasticsearch and the fact it was open source allowed us to get started right away. We spun up a cluster, confirmed it could do everything we needed it to, and at that point the project was nearly done,” said Trevor.

Streamlined and validated returns

Customers enjoy shopping for deals at their local The Warehouse, and they know that The Warehouse has an excellent returns policy. The challenge was, the way returns were handled did not encourage people to return items with a receipt, and this impacted customer satisfaction due to the extended amount of time processing a return took. There was also the issue of a small number of customers who were returning items that they never purchased at The Warehouse to begin with - at least not in the quantities they were claiming. These customers would buy or steal these items elsewhere and then attempt to return them multiple times at The Warehouse’s different locations. This was a fraud opportunity that The Warehouse wanted to close.

The Warehouse needed to put an end to return fraud, without inconveniencing customers, and that’s exactly what Elasticsearch has allowed them to do. The solution works by allowing employees to search through transactional data to validate whether an item has been purchased, and not yet been returned.

For example, if a customer comes in to return a toaster (with or without their original receipt), an employee can easily search for the toaster, along with any items purchased alongside it. They can then narrow down the results by date and location until they find the right one. Finally, they can pull up the receipt to see the price paid for the toaster and confirm that it has not been returned already. This entire process takes just seconds thanks to the speed of Elasticsearch and its search-as-you-type autocompletion.

One customer wrote to The Warehouse to thank them for the great customer service they received when returning a Mother’s Day gift. The mother already had the item and wasn’t sure she’d be able to return it after her son lost the receipt. She wrote, “When I asked if this was possible they said yes just tell us the date of purchase and we can track it and replace it with something else or give you a credit. So I did and bought something that cost more, a win for both parties. Great customer service...thank you."

High-stakes rollout

Juan Herbst, the Development Manager at The Warehouse, having used Elastic previously, knew the benefits that it offered. Taking the lead, he provided proof-of-concepts, and onboarded the team to its use and benefits in solving the teams ‘validating receipts’ use case. After successfully spinning up the test case for Elasticsearch, he moved the deployment to the cloud — self-hosting it initially on AWS - and began working with the team to plan for the broader rollout across all The Warehouse’s stores. This was released to all stores in late 2018.

“We had confidence the Elastic solution worked, but we didn’t know what would happen when everyone began to use it at once. Given we were rolling this out just before Christmas, we wanted the assurance of an Elastic subscription and be able to lean on them for support,” said Trevor. “We also wanted someone to handle the operations while we focused on development which is why we signed on to Elasticsearch Service.”

Lightning fast search and scalability

The Warehouse's 1,500 Point of Sale (POS) devices, and 200 service desk computers, all needed the ability to be able to provide this validating receipts functionality. The rollout involved taking 3 billion transactions worth of data out of the historic database, normalising it all into a common JSON document model, and feeding it into an Elasticsearch index. At the same time, existing POS devices were set up to convert all new and future transaction data into JSON and feed it directly into Elasticsearch.

With the 3 Terabytes of data easily and instantly searchable using applications directly on the POS devices and service desk computers, response time for search requests averaged 20 - 30 milliseconds, which was an amazing start, especially considering the 15 minutes it took in the past to handle returns. However, as the Christmas season approached, The Warehouse saw their normal holiday shopping rush meaning that more and more data was fed into Elasticsearch, and while the system could sustain the additional load, the team started seeing their query responses creeping up to 8 - 10 seconds.

Once this issue was highlighted, Juan worked with the support and product experts at Elastic and diagnosed that the cluster was not optimised for the amount of data being sent to it during the Christmas season. Additional resources were required and, due to The Warehouse being subscribed to the Elasticsearch Service, this was easily provisioned once the ideal configuration had been agreed upon.

"One of the reasons we went with the Elasticsearch Service was to have that flexibility to scale. With the press of a few buttons, we went from an under-performing system to one that delivered receipt lookups at lightning speeds."

– Juan Herbst, Development Manager | The Warehouse.

With their cluster now optimised for their current and future data load, The Warehouse easily added transactions from their webstore into Elasticsearch, making the returns process seamless regardless of whether a customer made their purchase online or in-store. Other than that small optimisation and the addition of the new source of data, Trevor says they haven’t had to touch the solution since it went live.

"What we’ve built basically runs itself and if we do need to scale, Elasticsearch Service makes it as easy as getting water out of a tap. It's just not something we have to worry about."

– Trevor Jones, Lead Developer | The Warehouse

Expanding to new use cases

Their mobile team have since used Elasticsearch to add the ability for a customer to be able to scan and save their receipts, from within their existing mobile app. This has significantly reduced the dependence on paper receipts, whilst also improving the customer experience. This also helps The Warehouse identify purchasing habits in order to provide more relevant promotions to its customers. Customers can also tap onto the receipt in the app and be directed to The Warehouse online store to purchase “more of the same” when they like a particular product. There are plans in the future to allow customers to scan the app on their phone at check-out so that the receipt is linked to their online account. Using Elastic, the solution will be even faster than printing the receipt.

Other use cases are in the works, including one which would leverage Kibana to analyse the efficiency of transactions based on data from POS devices.

With Juan and Trevor both being advocates for Elastic within the company, they are helping drive its use across the business as teams deliver new and more innovative ways of providing better customer experiences, and higher levels of customer satisfaction.

"There are people all over the business who have seen the success we’ve had with returns validation and they want to know how Elastic can support other applications. The quality of training offered by Elastic has been great, and given me an in-depth understanding of how the Elastic Stack works so I can identify how it can be used to support these applications or solve different problems in the future."

– Trevor Jones, Lead Developer | The Warehouse

The end of fraudulent returns

Beyond the technical wins and new use cases delivered over the last six months, The Warehouse has experienced measurable successes in reducing instances of fraud. It has achieved additional savings by ensuring customers are refunded exactly what they are owed. Moreover, the returns process is noticeably faster and easier for customers and employees.

“In the past we would need to ask customers a dozen questions or leave them standing at the register for 15 minutes while we tried to go and track down a receipt. That friction is gone and so is the risk of fraudulent returns. It simply can’t happen like it did before,” said Trevor.

The Warehouse Group’s Clusters

  • Clusters
    2 production clusters
  • Nodes
    10
  • Hosting Environment
    Elastic Cloud
  • Documents
    2.7 billion
  • Total Data Size
    3 TB
  • Daily Ingest Rate
    150K (up to 200 per second)
  • Indexes
    30
  • Query Rate
    45 per second
  • Replicas
    1