可观测性
电讯

Entel:选用 Elastic 以将多国的可观测性数据集中到一起,获得 360 度视角

  • 80%
    平均解决时间 (MTTR) 的降低比例
  • 95%
    已获得可见性的公司运维活动所占的比例
  • 1.27
    2019 年新增的预付费移动客户(单位:百万)

全面可见性

从 Splunk 迁移出来后,Entel 得以增加数据采集量,现在对智利和秘鲁两国 IT 和业务团队的关键服务可以提供 24/7 的可见性——这一切都离不开 Elastic Stack 的支持

让高管随时了解动态

高管现在不仅掌握全公司的分析数据,还能实时查看业务和运维指标,从而帮助扩展、提升和掌控客户体验,这在公司尚属首次

推动提高业务

Entel 现能采集必要数据来确定维系预付费和后付费客户群所需的销售渠道,实现了移动业务的增长


公司概览

Entel 是智利领先的电信和技术运营商,在秘鲁的业务增长速度也很快。在智利,Entel 提供全套的电信服务、数据中心、联络中心和 IT 外包业务,客户群既包括消费者,也涵盖所有规模的企业。Entel 于 2013 年收购了 Nextel 并将业务拓展到了秘鲁。Entel 目前是秘鲁第三大电信运营商,拥有 800 万客户,提供全国范围内的移动语音和数据流量服务。

通过 Elastic 打造面向未来需求的集中式 IT 运维

多年以来,Entel 一直面临着多项技术挑战,这阻碍了公司在电信市场的激烈竞争中取胜。Entel 的旧有系统在支持和创建新优惠方面功能有限,在线渠道需要进行改进以提升客户体验,而且供应商支持服务限制了公司的上市战略,也影响了诸如销售和产品研发等诸多其他职能部门。由于客户需求越来越严苛,Entel 需要通过正确技术来实现敏捷创新和扩展。

2015 年,为了扭转局面,Entel 加大力度开展数字转型项目。项目的思路是定义一套企业级架构战略和技术架构框架,秉承的理念是“从大着眼,从小做起,快速扩展”,从而管理风险,合并秘鲁和智利的运维工作,并降低业务的复杂性。Entel 还希望与供应商和合作伙伴构建长期合作关系,所以最终选择了Elastic 来将智利和秘鲁(分别独自运营)的可观测性数据集中到一起。Entel 首先构建了强大的管治模型,且设立了专门的职能团队来支持运维和变革管理并确保端到端数据质量,然后便启动了业务转型之旅。

在数字转型之前,每个国家都有各自的团队、流程和工具,通过旧有系统处理日志、可视化、监测和分析用例。拥有这些不同工具不仅浪费资源,而且维护起来也耗资巨大。

Elastic 数字转型之旅开始

Entel 面临的挑战(Elastic 正好可以帮助解决)是实施强大的运维控制,整合团队和方法,并实现统一的服务愿景。因此,Entel 数字转型团队的任务之一就是将两国的运维数据集中到一起并进行标准化,从而形成一套集中式 IT 监测框架。Oscar Narváez 是数字转型团队下面工具和分析监测团队的主管,同时负责智利和秘鲁;他表示说最初目标不只是将 Entel 的所有服务都迁移到线上,还要使用工具进行标准化,从而允许公司分析所有必要数据以确保实现最佳运维。通过使用新工具,也就是 Elastic,Entel 无需再每天就索引哪些数据做出复杂决策,因为他们不再受限于旧有技术。

完成项目第一阶段(将预付费客户 100% 完成迁移)后,IT 运维部主管 Helder Branco 和 Narváez 都认为他们最初选择的监测工具框架(HP,现为 Micro Focus)并不能满足他们的期望。所以团队对 Elastic Stack 进行了一次快速的概念验证 (PoC),不到一个月,项目便取得了杰出成果,这让他们确信要将 Elastic Stack 作为标准化工具。由于很快便取得了这些初期成功,Branco 和他的团队知道他们找到了正确解决方案,并想尽快部署完毕并运行起来。他们联系 Elastic 并与 Elastic 专家密切合作,以立即完成系统架构并启动和扩展他们的系统。

在 Elastic 顾问的帮助之下,他们为 Entel 的指挥中心构建了一套集中式的 IT 运维视图,从而对智利和秘鲁的所有关键服务获得 24/7 的可见性,所有这一切都由 Elastic Stack 提供支持。

"Elastic Stack 是这次数字转型项目的核心,让我们从整体上对 Entel 获得了可见性。"

– Oscar Narváez, 工具和分析监测团队主管 | Entel

现在,无论 Entel 内的哪个部门或区域出现运维问题,专业支持团队都能轻松地在 Kibana 仪表板中近实时地查看所有相关信息,立即启动初期分析以隔离问题并降低风险。不仅如此,由于 Entel 数字转型的运维工作不再受限于可索引或存储的数据量,所有团队都能借助近实时的流式传输数据轻松地调查问题并确定历史数据间的关系。 

“Entel 现在对超过 95% 的全部运维服务都获得了可见性。”Branco 说道,“现在我们只需登录 Kibana,便能看到每个平台的状态。我们可以提取各种数据,涉及订单、充值、商业估值、店铺平台、索赔,甚至技术问题。我们将来自设备、店铺和数据库的数据与所有基础设施指标问题整合在一起,为秘鲁和智利打造了一套单一框架。”

此外,业务部门和高管现在可以实时查看全公司的网络指标和分析结果,基于这些信息持续推动业务增长并打造更好的客户体验,这在 Entel 历史上尚属首次。 

由于可以轻松访问数十亿份文档,Narváez 和团队很快便为团队和高管构建了可视化。 

例如,在智利,Entel 取得了下列实施成果:142 个信息加载管道,206 个仪表板,105 亿份索引文档,3.7 TB 索引数据,35 GB 的每日处理能力。在秘鲁,Entel 取得了下列实施成果:68 个信息加载管道,139 个仪表板,28 亿份索引文档,600 GB 索引数据,15 GB 的每日处理能力。

"十分感谢 Elastic,因为我在性能、流量问题或者空间方面都摆脱了束缚。在我们创建仪表板和报告的过程中,Elastic 一直为我们提供无比出色的帮助。"

– Helder Branco, IT 运维经理 | Entel

故障的平均解决时间降低了 80%

由于成功推出了基于 Elastic 的集中式 IT 监测运维,Entel 现在应对运维问题的速度比以前快多了。然而,随着 Entel 不断寻求方法来打造更佳的客户体验,Narváez 和团队意识到他们需要调整异常风险缓解计划,从简单的被动等待转变为更加主动的检测和预防方法。使用 Elastic 之前,Entel 根本无法实现这一方法,因而也就无法享受其带来的优势。Entel 使用之前的解决方案时,识别异常是一件极其耗费时间和资源的任务。支持团队和事件经理需要手动审查数据以确定规律或隔离问题。

通过实施标准化和与 Elastic 合作,Narváez 和团队现在可以使用 Elastic Stack 中内置的 Machine Learning 功能。这能够允许团队自然地将 Machine Learning 整合到他们的集中式 IT 运维中,而无需额外的工具或系统。由于数据能够从两个国家(每个国家的业务和运维数据都来自 20 个不同的来源)流式传输过来,Entel 结合使用 Elastic 的 Machine Learning 和 Alerting 功能的举措立即看到了回报。

"自从开始使用 Elastic Machine Learning,我们的平均解决时间(即识别生产环境中的问题并缓解风险)降低了 80%,之前要花费数小时,现在几分钟就能搞定。"

– Oscar Narváez, 工具和分析监测团队主管 | Entel
上面的示例为 Entel 的异常检测仪表板

促进预付费移动业务

既然现在 Entel 能够从全局视角查看自身数据,数据转型团队可开始针对之前缺乏可见性的业务领域——尤其是 Entel 的预付费移动业务——提供解困之道。

之前,预付费移动客户很难维系,因为他们购买新号只是为了临时使用,无意进行长期投资。从运维角度来看,这一模式的成本很高,而且也会影响公司利润,因为公司无法保证从每位客户那里获得收入的时间会长于 30 天。  然而,如果可以找出持续为账户充值的预付费客户,Entel 便可开展一体化的营销工作来鼓励用户进行长期投资。使用 Elastic 之前,Entel 无法采集所需的必要数据来确定通过哪个销售渠道来维系这些积极的预付费客户。 

现在,由于不再受限于采集量,Entel 可以立即访问数据,并基于这些数据轻松确定这些成功充值的预付费客户。实时仪表板、服务日志、用户互动和服务间的相互关系首次揭示了鼓励销售的渠道,包括一项有关客户充值和使用时长的质量指标。这一举措,再加上其他因素,成功帮助公司提升了可用性和性能,同时仅在 2019 年便将预付费移动业务的客户人数增加了 127 万。

与 Elastic 之间的合作

随着 Entel 不断扩展业务,该公司继续与 Elastic 顾问和支持员工合作来为秘鲁和智利提供新的业务发展机遇。据 Entel 的员工反映,当需要就业务问题寻求技术解决方案时,他们可以轻松便捷地与 Elastic 顾问进行对话。

"Elastic 顾问能够帮助我们加快构想、解决挑战,并优化项目。用时不到一周,他们便很清楚地掌握了我们采集和转换数据的方法。"

– Oscar Narváez, 工具和分析监测团队主管 | Entel

Entel 未来的 Elastic 路线图

Entel 数字转型进程中的下一个重大转变是将自管型 Elastic 部署迁移到 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service。据 Narváez 表示,这一转变将能够让 Entel 继续以集中方式支持运维和分析工具,从而在 Entel 业务增长的过程中实现无缝扩展。

上图为 Entel 公司 Elastic Cloud 部署的未来架构

Entel 致力于在客户体验中的每一步均打造卓越的客户体验。Narváez 说他们已制定计划来改善 Entel 的自助门户,以便客户管理他们的余额和数据流量服务。通过分析客户在哪些步骤面临困难,Entel 可以提高客户体验并预防人们在交易完成之前便离开网站。 

不仅如此,这家电信公司还希望采集客户操作时的响应时间,并了解客户使用的设备、浏览器和网络连接状况(例如 3G、4G、VoLTE)。将来还会启动其他项目。 

Branco 和 Narváez 对下面这一点都十分自信:Elastic 的技术和顾问在每一步都会为他们提供贴心支持。

“Elastic 之前帮助了我们。”Branco 表示,“而且将来还会继续帮助我们以之前解决方案根本无法做到的方式成功地对电信业务实现转型和进行扩展。”

Observability
Telecommunications

Entel: Turning to Elastic to unify multinational observability with 360-degree vision

  • 80%
    reduction in MTTR
  • 95%
    visibility into company operations
  • 1.27
    million prepaid mobile customers added in 2019

Total Visibility

By migrating from Splunk, Entel has the capacity to grow its data ingest and can now provide 24/7 visibility into critical services across IT and Business teams in Chile and Perú — all powered by the Elastic Stack

Keeping Executives Informed

In a first, executives have a real-time view into business and operational metrics in addition to companywide analytics to help scale, enhance, and control the customer experience

Boost in Business

Mobile business increased as Entel can now ingest data needed to identify sales channels to foster prepaid and postpaid customers


Company Overview

Entel is the leading telecommunications and technology operator in Chile, with fast growing operations in Perú. In Chile, Entel offers a full range of telecommunication services, data centers, contact centers, and IT outsourcing direct to consumers as well as businesses of all sizes. In 2013, Entel acquired Nextel and expanded operations to Perú. Now as the third largest provider in Perú, with about 8 million customers, Entel provides nationwide coverage for mobile voice and data services.

Future-proofing centralized IT operations with Elastic

For years, Entel was facing several technological challenges to compete successfully in the telco market. Entel’s legacy systems had limited functionality to support and create new offers, online channels needed to evolve in terms of customer experience, and  the vendor support limited the go-to-market strategy and a host of other functions like sales and product development. As customer needs became more demanding, Entel needed the right technology to innovate and scale in an agile manner.

In 2015, to turn things around, Entel prioritized their digital transformation project. The idea was to define an enterprise architecture strategy and a technical architecture framework with a philosophy of “thinking big, starting small, scaling fast” to manage risk and merge operations in Perú and Chile and to simplify business complexity. Entel also wanted to build long-term relationships with vendors and partners, and would eventually choose Elastic to unify multinational observability in Chile and Perú, which had operated independently of one another. Entel started the business transformation following a strong governance model with a dedicated functional team to support operations, change management and to ensure end-to-end data quality.

Before the digital transformation, each country had its own set of teams, processes, and tools that were working with legacy systems for logging, visualization, monitoring and analytics. Having these separate tools was not only wasteful, they were costly to maintain.

The Elastic digital transformation journey begins

The challenge, which Elastic helped solve, was to implement robust operational control, combine teams, methodologies and unify a vision of service. To do that, Entel's digital transformation team was given the task of unifying and standardizing operations for both countries into a centralized IT monitoring framework. Oscar Narváez, Tools & Analytic Monitoring Team Leader for the digital transformation team for both Chile and Perú, says that the initial goals were not only to migrate all of Entel’s services online, but also to standardize on a tool that would allow Entel to analyze all the data needed to ensure optimal operations. With this new tool—Elastic—Entel would no longer have to deal with the daily complications of deciding what not to index because they would no longer be limited by their legacy technology.

After finishing the first phase of the project, with the migration of 100% of PrePaid customers, Helder Branco, Head IT Operations, and Narváez, identified that the initial monitoring tools framework they chose — HP, now Micro Focus — were not in line with expectations. So the team spun up a PoC with the Elastic Stack, and in under a month the outstanding results convinced them to implement it as their standardized tool. With those initial successes seen so quickly, Branco and team knew they had their solution and wanted to get it up and running as quickly as possible. They reached out to Elastic to engage with the experts to help them architect, launch, and scale their system right away.

With the assistance of Elastic consultants, they built a centralized view of IT operations for Entel’s Command Center to get 24/7 visibility into critical services across Chile and Perú, all powered by the Elastic Stack.

"The Elastic Stack represents the backbone of the digital transformation project to give us visibility to Entel as a whole."

Oscar Narváez, Tools & Analytic Monitoring Team Leader | Entel

Now in the event of an operational issue, no matter where it occurs within Entel, specialized support teams can easily view all the relevant information in their Kibana dashboards in near real-time, and can immediately start the initial analysis to isolate and mitigate issues. Moreover, because Entel's digital transformation operations are no longer limited by the amount of data that can be indexed and stored, all teams can easily investigate issues and correlate historic data with the near real-time streaming information. 

“Entel now has visibility into over 95% of all operations services,” says Branco. “Now we just need to simply log in to Kibana and we can see what happens on every platform. We can pull data from orders, top-ups, commercial evaluations, store platforms, claims, and even technical issues. We integrated data from machines, stores, databases, all of the infrastructure indicator issues, and have made a single framework for Perú and Chile.”

In addition, for the first time at Entel, business units and executives now have a real-time view into network metrics and analytics across the company that they can rely on to continuously grow the business and benefit customer experience. 

Narváez and team can quickly build visualizations for the team and for executives by having quick access to billions of documents. 

In Chile, for example, Entel has the following implementation: 142 Information loading pipelines, 206 dashboards, 10.5 billion indexed documents, 3.7 TB of indexed data and 35 GB of daily processing. In Perú´, Entel has this implementation: 68 information loading pipelines, 139 dashboards, 2.8 billion indexed documents, 600 GB of indexed data and 15 GB of daily processing.

"I’m grateful for Elastic because I have no restrictions on performance, traffic issues, or space. Elastic has been incredibly helpful for building dashboards and reporting."

Helder Branco, IT operations manager | Entel

Mean time to resolution reduced by 80%

With the successful launch of the Elastic-based centralized IT monitoring operation, Entel can now react to operational issues much quicker than before. However, as Entel continued to seek out ways to provide a better customer experience, Narváez and team realized they needed to shift their anomaly mitigation plan from simply reactive to a more proactive detection and prevention approach. Prior to Elastic, this approach and added benefits would have been impossible. With Entel’s previous solution, identifying anomalies was incredibly time and resource intensive. Support teams and incident managers had to manually review the data to establish patterns or isolate issues.

By standardizing and engaging with Elastic, Narváez and team now have built-in access to the machine learning features of the Elastic Stack. This allows the team to naturally integrate machine learning into their centralized IT operations without additional tools or systems. With data streaming in from two countries—each with business and operational data coming from 20 different and disparate sources—the combination of Elastic’s machine learning and alerting features have paid immediate dividends.

"Once we started using Elastic machine learning, our mean time to resolution when it came to identify and mitigate these production issues was reduced by 80%, as what used to take hours, we are now handling in minutes."

Oscar Narváez, Tools & Analytic Monitoring Team Leader | Entel
Example, above, of Entel’s Anomaly Detection dashboard

Boosting the prepaid mobile business

Now that Entel has a holistic view of its data, the digital transformation team can start providing answers to areas of the business that historically lacked visibility, particularly when it comes to Entel’s prepaid mobile business.

Traditionally, prepaid mobile customers are hard to retain since they are purchasing a new line simply for temporary use with no intended long-term investment. This model is costly from an operational perspective and risky to the organizational bottom line because revenue from it is not guaranteed for longer than 30 days per customer.  However, if Entel could identify prepaid customers who continually recharge their accounts, they could start running integrated marketing efforts to encourage longer term investment. Before Elastic, Entel couldn’t ingest the requisite data needed to identify which sales channels foster these positive prepaid customers. 

Now, unburdened from ingest limits, Entel teams have instant access to the data that allows them to easily discover these successful prepaid customers. Real-time dashboards, service logs, user interaction, and services correlations for the first time reveal the channels that encourage sales, including a quality indicator about customer refills and longevity. This, along with other factors, has helped the company boost availability and performance, as well as increase the base of prepaid mobile business customers by 1.27 million individuals in 2019 alone.

The Elastic partnership

As Entel scales, the company has continued to partner with Elastic consultants and support staff to create new development opportunities in Perú and Chile. According to Entel, conversations with Elastic Consultants were simple and easy when it came to connecting the business problem to the technical solutions.

"Elastic Consultants were able to help us accelerate ideas, solve challenges, and optimize our projects. In less than one week they got a good knowledge on how they were collecting and transforming data."

Oscar Narváez, Tools & Analytic Monitoring Team Leader | Entel

Entel’s Elastic future roadmap

The next big shift in Entel’s digital transformation journey is to move self-managed Elastic deployments to Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud. According to Narváez, this change will enable Entel to continue to support both operations and analytics tools in a centralized way that scales seamlessly as Entel grows.

Above, future architecture of Entel’s Elastic Cloud deployment

Entel is committed to improving customer experience every step of the way. Narváez says they already have plans to improve Entel’s self-service portal that allows customers to manage their balance and data services. By analyzing which are the steps where clients are experiencing difficulties, Entel can improve user experience and prevent people from leaving the site and not completing transactions. 

In addition, the telecommunications company is looking into capturing performance times, seeing what equipment the client is using, which browser, and network connectivity (i.e. 3G, 4G, VoLTE). Other projects will come as well. 

Branco and Narváez are confident Elastic’s technology and consultants will be there to support them every step of the way.

“Elastic helped us,”  Branco says, “and will continue to help us transform and scale our telecom in a successful way that our previous solutions could not.”