企业搜索
软件与技术

Sovren:通过 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service 实现数字转型

概览

  • 97%
    新安装服务所需精力和维护工作的降低百分比
  • 30x
    与之前相比的亲自动手维护时间减少
  • 20x
    改用 Elastic 后产品采用率的增幅

从概念验证 (PoC) 到新产品用时仅 3 周

使用 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service 后,Sovren 仅三周便交付了一切运行正常的 GA(正式发布版)产品

云优先方法推动数字化转型

通过使用 Elasticsearch Service 进行标准化,团队得以将时间和精力从运营难题重新聚焦到新产品功能的战略开发上来

快速完成加入流程,实现持久价值

云优先解决方案将新安装服务的部署时间从 4-6 个月缩至短短几天,而且减少了 97% 的维护工作量

业务呈指数增长

将 Elastic 作为其更新产品的引擎后,Sovren 的客户采用率提高了超过 2000%


公司概览

二十多年来,Sovren 一直在招聘领域保持着竞争优势,这是因为他们坚持高度专注于公司的核心解决方案:提供强大的简历解析和匹配软件,以帮助招聘人员快速为公司招到顶级人才。

之前使用的本地部署型搜索技术很难进行扩展,严重制约了公司的发展,但 Sovren 于 2017 年找到了解决良方:Elasticsearch。Sovren 也知道作为一家现代企业,要想实现增长,公司需要重新考虑向客户交付软件的方式。

通过选择 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service,Sovren 能够交付性能优异的大规模搜索功能,而且可使用云优先方法打造不断适应的可扩展系统以满足客户越来越高的需求。

未使用 Elastic 之前会损失收入

为了履行承诺——帮助招聘人员最大程度削减审阅简历的时间,Sovren 的匹配产品必须既快速又准确。速度和准确性不但能打造积极的客户体验,还能让 Sovren 的产品脱颖而出。



然而,Sovren 之前的本地部署型解决方案 dtSearch 在大规模运行时表现并不好。在达到约 400 万份简历的时候,客户遇到了搜索性能天花板,由于客户未能关注需完成的维护活动,安装的软件开始出现问题,产品性能下滑。



在改用 Elastic 之前,客户需要花很大力气才能让匹配软件正常运行,而且很难确保其一直良好运行。尽管可以很轻松地为花费时间支持大型公司找出正当理由,但 Sovren 却无法证明为小额交易投入足够资源的必要性,所以他们只能选择不向这个市场细分推出产品。这让他们损失了一项可能获利丰厚的业务扩张和持续收入来源。



Sovren 致力于实现增长,所以知道他们必须解决底层的引擎可扩展性问题。

改用 Elastic 全面改善搜索功能 — 用时不到三周

在长达五年期间,Sovren 斥巨资来对搜索技术进行了升级。然而所有方法都不奏效。举例说明,改用 Solr 解决方案后,他们在达到约 400-500 万份简历时仍遇到了可扩展性障碍,搜索性能和用户体验都受到了负面影响。而且,他们寻求的是云原生解决方案,但 Solr 的产品并不能满足这一要求。 



当 James Parks 加入 Sovren 担任公司简历匹配产品的首席架构师后,他很快就扭转了困境。Parks 在上一家咨询公司工作时,他的同事经常使用 Elasticsearch 来解决类似的搜索问题,所以他开始研究 Elasticsearch 是否就是 Sovren 所需的解困之道。



Parks 向总裁 Robert Ruff 请命要用两周时间证明 Elasticsearch 是正确之选。
Ruff 当时持怀疑态度,因为他之前曾见过别的概念验证从“两周”延期至“两个月”,但他仍然批准了 Parks 的请求,并警告说这个项目在第三周就会被砍掉。



好消息是 Parks 成功了。他只用 48 小时便构建了 Elasticsearch Service 的概念验证,并且在三周之内便基于新架构完成了可直接提供给客户的产品。可扩展性测试打破了之前的壁垒。Sovren 找到了前进的道路。

"我们不再停滞不前,都感到十分激动。自从推出新的 Elastic 平台,我们不用再紧咬牙关并在心里默默祈祷产品能正确运行。有了 Elastic,我们知道产品一定能持续正常运行。"

– Robert Ruff, 总裁,Sovren

借助搜索速度和准确性方面的优势,招聘工具发挥出全部潜能

确定 Elastic 是可以信赖的平台后,Sovren 马上开始优化搜索功能。



Elasticsearch 帮助 Sovren 精简匹配功能,将整体查询性能提高了 60 倍。通过进一步移除数据索引过程中的瓶颈,Elasticsearch 可以确保招聘人员能够实时访问候选人匹配结果,并缩短招聘时间。



借助 Sovren 基于云的 Elastic 解决方案,招聘人员使用滑块便能调整赋予特定类别(例如教育程度、技能)的比重,从而控制引擎为匹配结果评分的方式。而且,Sovren 还得以推出响应十分迅速的自动完成 (auto-complete) 功能,这在 Sovren 尚属首次。

图 1. 借助 Sovren 的 AI 匹配技术,招聘人员能够找出最佳候选人。

Sovren 不用再因准确性而牺牲速度。之前,Sovren 因为要减少“裁剪”(亦即只提供部分数据结果,不显示分片底层的数据),必须牺牲性能。 现在,Elasticsearch 可在对性能毫无影响的情况下对整个分片进行搜索,所以招聘人员可以确认他们看到的是既完整又准确的相符简历结果。Ruff 表示:“我们的产品存在短板,但是借助 Elasticsearch,这一问题得到了解决。我们将其成功打造成可行的宽泛产品线,不再有任何限制,唯一需要担心的就是自身营销能力。”

云原生基础架构意味着再无限制

随着解决了 Sovren 长达几十年的搜索挑战,Elasticsearch Service 在 Sovren 采用云优先业务方式的过程中很自然地成为了他们的首选。由于部署位于 Elastic Cloud 上,这消除了繁重的管理负担,使得 Sovren 能够将时间与精力从运行挑战重新聚焦到战略开发上来。 

"通过使用 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service,我无需操心搜索和索引过程,可以关注我们软件的核心功能,从而在竞争中进一步脱颖而出。"

– James Parks, 首席软件架构师,Sovren

由于不再面临运行方面的羁绊(其致使产品部署时间长达 4-6 个月),Sovren 现在仅需几天便能完成新功能和更新的部署,且不用担心之后会对性能造成影响。这意味着新的潜在客户使用自助门户即刻便能加入,并在几分钟内便能拥有一切运行正常且可立即投入使用的 Sovren AI 匹配产品实例,无需再等待数月之久。

Elasticsearch Service 同时也让 Sovren 对下面这一点放宽心:他们随时可以处理新增客户和日益增长的数据量,因为在 Elastic Cloud 控制台中只需点击几下便能提升集群容量。“这正是 Elastic Cloud 的神奇所在。Elastic 帮我们管理所有这一切,“Parks 说道。

他们使用 Elastic Cloud 已有两年,目前尚未出现任何(计划内和计划外)停机,而且也没有收到过任何性能方面的投诉。

Elastic 助力 Sovren 将业务量提升 45%

由于 Sovren 履行了实时搜索的承诺,消除了维护索引的必要,而且通过云原生架构简化了加入、维护和支持流程,所以其提高了客户满意度并且推动业务实现巨幅增长。

由于体验到了云平台在管理方面的便捷性,Sovren 现在能够十分自信地向各种规模的客户推广他们的匹配软件,开拓了新的收入流。而且收效很快。在 2019 年强力营销的推动下,Sovren 在 3 个月内便将整体业务量提高了将近 45%。

对于某些之前并不可行的功能(因为它们需要过多的处理性能),现在由于搜索速度超级之快,也成为了现实。

"Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service 满足了我们的所有需求,而且在我们之后的发展过程中也将一直如此。"

– James Parks, 首席软件架构师,Sovren

借助 Elastic 确保满足未来需求

为了持续追求创求,Sovren 正在计划扩展 Elastic Stack 的使用范围,他们会针对日志和监测用例选择 Elastic 可观测性解决方案,同时也在考虑利用 Elastic Stack 的功能来持续优化其匹配引擎。

借助 Elastic Cloud 上的 Elasticsearch Service 的强大能力,公司现在可轻松完成新用例,无论是内部应用程序监测,还是在可产生收入的面向客户型应用上进行搜索,都不是问题。  过程十分简单,只需点击几个按钮,加载数据,然后在项目中点击开始便大功告成啦。

"Elastic 所提供的丰富远见是其他公司难以相提并论的。无论我们想到什么,现在都可以变为现实。有了 Elastic,我们能够通过所构建的产品变得更智能、更有创意。"

– James Parks, 首席软件架构师,Sovren

Enterprise Search
Software & Technology

Sovren: Delivering Digital Transformation with Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud

AT A GLANCE

  • 97%
    reduction in effort and maintenance required for new installations
  • 30x
    decrease in hands-on maintenance hours
  • 20x
    growth in product adoption since switch to Elastic

From PoC to new product in 3 weeks

Using Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud, Sovren delivered a fully functional GA product in three weeks

Cloud-first approach drives digital transformation

By standardizing on Elasticsearch Service, the team was able to refocus time and energy from operational hurdles to strategic development of new product features

Rapid onboarding, lasting value

Cloud-first solution slashed deployment time for new installations from 4-6 months to mere days, and reduced maintenance effort by 97%

Exponential business growth

With Elastic as the engine behind their updated product, Sovren increased customer adoption by over 2000%


Company Overview

For more than two decades, Sovren has upheld its competitive advantage in the recruiting world by staying laser focused on its core solution: powerful resume parsing and matching software to help recruiters quickly connect companies with top talent.

Stifled by on-premise search technology that was difficult to scale, in 2017 Sovren found the missing piece: Elasticsearch. Sovren also knew that in order to grow as a modern business, the company needed to rethink how it delivered software to customers.

By choosing Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud, Sovren has been able to deliver high-performing search capabilities at scale, and use a cloud-first approach to create an ever-adapting, scalable system that meets evolving customer needs.

Losing revenue without Elastic

To deliver on the promise of helping recruiters minimize the time they spend looking through resumes, Sovren’s matching product needs to be fast and accurate. Speed and accuracy drive a positive customer experience and help Sovren differentiate its product.

However, Sovren’s legacy, on-premise search solution, dtSearch, wasn’t performing well at scale. Customers were hitting a search performance ceiling at about 4 million resumes and installations were starting to rot from lack of customer attention to required maintenance activities, and performance was declining.

Before switching to Elastic, it was painfully difficult for customers to get the matching product to work -- and to keep it working well. While it was easy to justify spending time supporting large companies, Sovren couldn’t justify adding enough resources to devote to lower-revenue deals, so they chose not to market the product to that segment of the market. This closed off a potentially lucrative source of expansion and ongoing revenue.

With growth in mind, Sovren knew that they had to deal with the underlying engine scalability problem.

A search overhaul to Elastic—in under 3 weeks

Over the course of five years, Sovren spent an enormous amount of money in an effort to update the search technology. Every approach failed. For example, when they moved the solution to Solr, they still hit a scalability barrier at 4-5 million resumes, where search degraded, along with the user experience. Plus, as they looked for a cloud-native solution, Solr’s offering would not satisfy their requirements.  



When James Parks joined Sovren as the lead architect of the company’s matching product, he quickly turned things around. In his previous role at a consulting firm, Parks’ colleagues had often used Elasticsearch to address similar search issues, so he set out to see if it could be the fix Sovren needed.



Parks asked President Robert Ruff for two weeks to prove that Elasticsearch was a good fit.
Ruff was skeptical, because he had seen “two weeks” turn into “two months” on proofs-of-concept, but he still gave Parks the green light, warning him that at three weeks, the project would be killed.



And Parks delivered. He built a proof of concept on Elasticsearch Service in 48 hours, and completed a customer-ready product on a new architecture within 3 weeks. Scalability tests blew through previous barriers. Sovren had found its path forward..

"We went from being stuck to being thrilled. With our new Elastic platform, we no longer have to grit our teeth and hope it works. With Elastic, we know it’s going to work and keep working."

– Robert Ruff, President, Sovren

Recruiting tool reaches full potential with search speed and accuracy

Once Sovren landed on Elastic as a platform they could trust, they set out to optimize the searches.

Elasticsearch enabled Sovren to streamline its matching capabilities, improving overall query performance by 60x. By further removing the bottleneck of indexing data, Elasticsearch ensures that recruiters can access candidate match results in real time and accelerate time to hire.

With Sovren’s cloud-based Elastic solution, recruiters can use sliders to adjust the weight given to certain categories (e.g. education, skills), allowing them to control how the engine scores matches. And for the first time, Sovren was able to roll out a highly responsive auto-complete feature.
Caption 1. Sovren's AI Matching empowers recruiters to find the best candidates.

Sovren no longer has to sacrifice speed for accuracy. Before, Sovren paid a high price on performance to eliminate “clipping” (e.g. partial data results that may not surface a resume at the bottom of the shard.) Now, Elasticsearch searches the full shard with zero impact on performance, so that recruiters can be confident they’re seeing complete and accurate results for relevant resumes. Ruff says, “Our product was stunted, but with Elasticsearch, that’s now solved. We turned it into a huge viable product line for us that we don’t see any limits to other than our own marketing.”

Cloud-native architecture means no more limits

Along with solving Sovren’s decades-long search challenge, Elasticsearch Service was a natural fit for Sovren as they adopted a cloud-first approach to their business. The deployment on Elastic Cloud removed onerous administrative burdens, enabling Sovren to refocus time and energy from operational challenges to strategic development. 

"Using Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud has allowed me to offload searching and indexing and focus on the core competencies of our software, so I can further differentiate from competitors."

– James Parks, Lead Software Architect, Sovren

Free of the operations shackles that created product deployment timelines of 4-6 months, Sovren could now deploy new features and updates in days with no risk of losing performance over time. That means that new prospects can be instantly onboarded using a self-service portal, and have a fully-working instance of Sovren’s AI Matching product ready to use within minutes, not months.

Elasticsearch Service has also given Sovren the peace of mind that it can readily handle additional customers and their growing data as cluster capacity increases are only a few clicks away within the Elastic Cloud console. “That’s the magic the Elastic Cloud brings. Elastic manages it all for us”, says Parks.

And after two years on Elastic Cloud, they’ve had zero downtime (scheduled or unscheduled) and zero performance complaints.

Sovren grows 45% with Elastic

By delivering on the promise of real-time search, eliminating the need for index maintenance, and simplifying onboarding, maintenance, and support with a cloud-native architecture, Sovren has improved customer satisfaction and catalyzed massive business growth.

With the ease of management gained from the cloud platform, Sovren now has the confidence to actively market their matching software to customers of all sizes, opening up new revenue streams for the company. And it’s paying off. As a result of a 2019 marketing push, Sovren grew the total business almost 45% over a three-month time period.

Features that were previously untenable (because they required too much processing power) are now possible because the search function is so fast.

"Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud is everything we needed plus everything we want to grow into."

– James Parks, Lead Software Architect, Sovren

Future proofing with Elastic

In line with their ongoing quest for innovation, Sovren is planning to expand the use of the Elastic Stack by investing in the Elastic Observability solution for logging and monitoring as well as is looking to take advantage of the Elastic Stack capabilities to continually tune their matching engine.

The power of Elasticsearch Service on Elastic Cloud makes it easy to undertake a new use case—be it for internal application monitoring or search on a customer-facing app that drives revenue.  It’s as simple as clicking a few buttons, getting the data in, and hitting go on the project.

"The amount of foresight built into Elastic is unparalleled. Whatever we dream up is possible. It gives us an opportunity to get smarter and more creative with what we’re building."

– James Parks, Lead Software Architect, Sovren