安全
金融服务

PSCU:Elastic 阻止了数百万美元的信用社欺诈案件,降低欺诈风险

概览

  • $35 million
    18 个月以来在预防欺诈方面减少的损失
  • 99%
    MTTK 降幅

为信用社客户带来立竿见影的投资回报 (ROI)

启用全新的基于 Elastic 的欺诈检测平台后不久,PSCU 便发现并阻止了涉及金额 35,000 美元的欺诈

预防性欺诈检测和缓解

在部署 Elastic Stack 的 Machine Learning 和 Alerting 功能后,PSCU 能够主动检测财务欺诈并消除隐患,防止会员帐户受到影响

从安全性到可观测性,全面提升客户满意度

通过在 Elastic Stack 上对数据源进行标准化处理,PSCU 能够采集的数据源数量也不再受到限制。这样,PSCU 能够更好地应对呼叫中心延迟和客户面临的潜在影响(如自然灾害)

打造全新的欺诈情报专职业务部门

随着依托 Elastic Stack 开展的欺诈检测项目取得立竿见影的效果,PSCU 还专门组建了欺诈情报部门,旨在为会员信用社提供行业领先的欺诈保护和满意服务

公司概览

PSCU 是全美著名的信用社服务组织,为 1,500 家信用社提供强大支持,每年交易量超过 38 亿笔。40 多年以来,PSCU 以其支付处理、风险管理、数据和分析、忠诚度计划、数字银行、营销、战略咨询和移动平台等服务为会员创造了卓越的无缝体验。遍布全美的联络中心提供了全方位、全天候的会员支持。

PSCU 迈向 Elastic 之旅

多年以来,该组织企业风险办公室的运营一直依托于老旧的 Jade 数据库平台。在这种架构下,PSCU 只能从少数几个规定的数据源中采集日志,用以检测内部人员带来的威胁(如 PSCU 员工、供应商合作伙伴员工和信用社员工盗窃资金)。退一步说,即使要理解 Excel 电子表格中孤立的数据,或在 Power BI 中实现可视化也存在重重困难。并且随着时间的推移,数据库存量不断增长,加载前一天的数据往往需要耗费一整天的时间,因此数据采集越发艰难。

24 小时的数据采集延迟过于漫长,尤其是对于查处财务欺诈而言。因此,PSCU 的一家承包商建议该组织将数据库日志迁移到 Elasticsearch 中,该平台尤为适用于任意数量或类型的数据。根据这项建议,PSCU 于 2018 年转换到了 Elastic Stack,并逐步添加了更多数据源(举例来说,如会员在线登录、IP 和家庭地址,以及会员联络中心呼叫历史记录),以更好地监测日志并实现可视化,从而打击金融欺诈。

在部署 Elastic 后的几天内,PSCU 就成功阻止了一场涉及 35,000 美元的欺诈行为。从 PSCU 部署由 Elastic 支持的系统“Linked Analysis”到现在,时间仅过了 18 个月,但已阻止价值 3,500 万美元的欺诈行为。

自 Linked Analysis 建立以来,PSCU 的欺诈情报团队已利用该平台为信用社会员避免了超过 3,500 万美元的欺诈损失。其中大部分都是通过预测避免的,这为信用社会员带来了巨大的价值

– Jack Lynch, PSCU 高级副总裁兼首席风险官、PSCU 旗下 CU Recovery 总裁

在转换到 Elastic 后,PSCU 欺诈情报经理 Jonathon Robinson 发现,无论 PSCU 向 Elasticsearch 提供多少数据源,该平台都能够轻松处理 。因此,他将 Elastic 用例从最初的内部欺诈检测解决方案进一步扩大,并从数量不断增长的财务相关数据源中添加了更多日志,旨在帮助其全美 1,500 家会员信用社防止外部欺诈。

随着数据源数量的扩大,该组织又全新打造出了第一道欺诈风险防线:即在金融欺诈发生前予以阻止。此前,PSCU 只有在欺诈行为已经发生或正在发生时才能获知。“得益于 Elastic,如今我们能够在欺诈发生之前就发现风险,并阻止欺诈”,Robinson 说道。

此后,PSCU 的 Elastic 之旅再上一层楼。鉴于 PSCU 已经在系统中获得了丰富的数据,因此下一步,PSCU 顺其自然地为其联络中心的运营提供了具有可操作性的洞见。此外,Elastic 还为全新的 PSCU 应急管理协议铺平了道路,该协议利用 Kibana 和 Elastic Maps 针对近期内可能发生的自然灾害向信用社发出警告。在飓风或野火等灾害事件期间,信用社就能够相应调整本地化的客户支持,确保会员还能够顺利获得资金和信贷。

一路以来,PSCU 始终不忘欺诈检测、预防和缓解工作的初心。迄今为止,这项延续不断的使命已为其管辖下的信用社减少了数千万美元的损失。

当我们不断扩大 Elastic Stack 的建设时,我们发现能够更加轻松地发现欺诈。当我们在 Elastic 平台上添加越来越多的数据集后,我们得到了前所未有的清晰数据视图。并且随着 Elastic 的使用,我们还组建了一个全新的部门来打击欺诈,即欺诈情报部。如今,我们不仅能够检测出发生的欺诈行为,更能在欺诈发生之前检测到。

– Jonathon Robinson, PSCU 欺诈情报经理

欺诈情报“Linked Analysis”

Robinson 说明了近期 Linked Analysis 如何从最初仅牵扯到一家信用社的两张信用卡中层层抽丝剥茧,最终曝光了一个信用卡欺诈团伙。Robinson 最开始注意到是因为 Machine Learning 任务报告的异常。

举一个特别的例子来说,Robinson 团队在核实其中一项警报时,利用 Elastic 的 Graph 功能查找到这两张信用卡与另外 35 张信用卡通过电话号码及原始帐单地址合并的存档产生关联。团队意识到,除了最初发出警报的信用社外,还有多家信用社也正受到同一个欺诈团伙的诈骗。因此,PSCU 团队能够迅速通知受影响的信用社禁用信用卡,防止其中任何一张信用卡被用于购物,同时也为其最终会员免去了更换受欺诈信用卡的不满与不便。

pscu-graph-fraud-intelligence-linked-analysis.jpg

自此以后,以上涉及的地址、电话号码、姓名和其他身份信息的组合被列入黑名单,如果该欺诈团伙未来有任何进一步的举动,无论发生于信用社网络中的何处,PSCU 都能够收到警报。

“Elastic 系统为我们提供的情报能够立即用于保护受到严重影响的信用社,而由于我们还建立了黑名单体系,因此这些情报还可用于保护未来我们服务的任何一家信用社”,Robinson 说道,“如果无法在信用社间将数据相关联,即便我们在多个场合中打击了相同的欺诈行为,我们也永远不可能洞悉其中的模式。”

“打击欺诈行为取得了令人满意的结果”,Robinson 补充道,“这正是得益于在欺诈者仍试图使用信用卡前,PSCU 就已经将这些信用卡列入了黑名单。”

通过 Machine Learning 检测欺诈

对于欺诈情报团队而言,Machine Learning 使其能够满足 1,500 家信用社的需要。Machine Learning 和 Alerting 为团队提供了即时的洞察力,而在过去通过报告进行人工核查的年代这种实时性根本无法想象。

在防止欺诈方面,PSCU 的 Machine Learning 任务随时监测着结帐终端刷卡之前发生的一切活动。这也是 PSCU 捣毁那个诈骗团伙的终极武器。PSCU 正在监测的活动包括数据中心的调用、在线活动和“能够为我们提供信用卡使用情况的一切蛛丝马迹的一系列数据源”组合,Robinson 说道。

例如,如果客户过去经常通过家用电脑登录,Machine Learning 就可以帮助 PSCU 识别出异常的登录尝试,或发现在不同的信用社开立账户或使用账户时用到的相似电子邮件地址、电话号码、IP 地址、社会安全号码和实际居住地址。通过 Machine Learning 和 Alerting,一旦客户出现了偏离正常的行为,团队就能够收到通知,并采取措施联系各会员,甚至在必要时禁用信用卡或帐户,从中途截断欺诈行为。

此外,利用 Kibana 提供的 Graph 功能,如今 Robinson 和 PSCU 还能够快速探索数据间的关联与关系并形成可视化的形式,从而帮助打击欺诈行为,这在使用老旧解决方案的电子表格或其他任何功能的年代几乎不可想象。

解决欺诈问题绝非易事。但有了以 Elastic 为核心的系统后,我们就再也无需担心能否应对欺诈的问题了。

– Jonathon Robinson, PSCU 欺诈情报经理

空间、安全

目前有六个部门可以访问 Kibana 中不同的可视化数据集。有些数据对某个小组至关重要,但另一个小组则无需了解。通过 Elastic Stack 安全功能所提供的 Kibana Spaces 和基于角色的访问控制,就可以为员工分配特定可视化数据的访问权限,而阻止访问其他与其工作无关的数据。在 PSCU 所在的强监管行业中,这是一项重要的功能。

“因此,在联络中心的员工登录时,我希望他们无法看到用于 Monitoring 或几乎其他任何功能的选项卡。我希望他们只能看到他们获得访问权限的、与其相关的功能,而通过 Spaces 就能够实现这一点。”

Robinson 补充道,Spaces 还使得数据“看上去更为简洁美观,这对领导层而言也是一个重要的特性”。

pscu-kibana-spaces.png

如上所示的 Spaces 图片展现了 PSCU 为不同部门所创建的不同环境和数据集。每一个空间都是根据部门业务需求量身定制。

但有时也存在不可避免的混乱。例如有时候大自然会造成比信用社欺诈更严重的金融灾难。PSCU 无法阻止飓风、野火或其他环境灾难。但有了 Elastic 后,PSCU 能够确保灾难破坏路径上的信用社会员也能够支取资金。

联络中心,灾难应急计划

在 2019 年夏末,飓风多里安即将袭击佛罗里达州东海岸之际,Robinson 利用 Elastic Maps,除了为飓风路径上的信用社会员提供了家庭地址数据外,还额外增加了来自美国国家海洋和大气管理局 (NOAA) 的气象数据层。这一结果为信用社了解哪些持卡人可能会受到影响提供了一个可视化的视角。通过这些信息,信用社就能够调整欺诈防范措施,避免自动阻止原本属于用户正常活动之外的购买行为,例如突然购买昂贵的发电机、木材或大量罐头食品。

这一应急管理实践现已成为灾难发生之前或灾难期间的常规做法,包括加利福尼亚州近期发生的野火灾难。

pscu-wildfires-in-california.jpg

此外,由于灾难破坏路径上的信用社很可能会停业,因此这类灾备工作还有助于 PSCU 接管受影响信用社的联络中心运营,以应对预期中蜂拥而至的大量呼叫业务。

就联络中心的应用场景而言,PSCU 不仅将 Elastic 用于应急响应,也包括其他用例,如业务分析和运营管理目的。

可观测性

联络中心需要代表数百家信用社接听电话,这要求对大量资源进行协调,并监测所有金融机构的事件。联络中心利用实时 Machine Learning,在问题出现之前就从海量数据中挖掘出隐患。

例如,Kibana 中的可视化运营日志有助于信用社经理实时了解同时有大量电话呼叫联络中心的原因所在。Kibana 可视化能够显示是内部问题、促销、抑或是业务事件导致了通话负荷的飙升。

通过这些数据,就可以根据需要调整联络中心的人员配置,甚至在通话量激增之前就完成部署。此外,这些数据还有助于各家信用社的经理在 Kibana 中将运营情况可视化,而无需致电 PSCU 了解联络中心的运行情况。

简单来说,通过 Elastic 带来的可观测性上的竞争优势,使得 PSCU 拥有了过去从未能够向信用社提供的洞见。

“通过丰富的 Kibana 仪表板,我们能够直接将答案呈现给信用社经理,而不是用 Excel 电子表格向他们展示获取答案的路径”,Robinson 说道,“他们也不再需要有任何技术方面的秘诀。”

投资回报

Robinson 说,在踏上 Elastic 之旅的十八个月后,他们的投资回报率已经高达 48,000%。这一数字根据 Elastic 为会员信用合作社减少的数百万美元欺诈损失,减去同期 PSCU 在基础设施和 Elastic 订阅上的支出后综合计算得出。

此外,Robinson 还表示,领导们在见证 Elastic Stack 减少了 3,500 万美元损失,未来还能够制止更多欺诈案件后,纷纷“兴奋不已”。

“我们为信用社每多提供一层额外保护都是巨大的进步。每当信用社遭受了欺诈损失时,就意味着分配给信用社会员的红利就会降低”,Robinson 说道,“我们在过去 18 个月中所使用的工具,如今让信用社为会员节省了更多资金,并反过来能够为会员投入更多新服务。”

除了省下真金白银以外,Elastic 还帮助 PSCU 为信用社会员提高了客户满意度。

“当我们给各家信用社会员打电话时,我们再也不必说,‘不好意思,有人用您的信用卡盗刷了 1,000 美元。’ 这种感受很不好。现在,我们打电话时就可以问,他们有没有从特定地点登录,并告诉他们没有任何金额被盗。最终,持卡人能够相信,信用社以及 PSCU 非常关注他们的资金安全”,Robinson 说道。

富有前瞻性的 Elastic Stack

Robinson 表示,就欺诈预防数据而言,Elastic 似乎有能力采集到源源不断的数据源,满足任何项目的需要。因此,PSCU 还将为 Elastic 添加更多的数据源并修改现有数据源,从而进一步发展其实时数据集中化项目。

我们的首要目标就在于不断添加更多数据集,并新增额外的业务渠道,让我们能够将单个平台中的信息与其他平台进行比较。我们将与 Elastic 携手并进。

– Jonathon Robinson, PSCU 欺诈情报经理

Security
Financial Services

PSCU: Elastic reduces risk by blocking millions of dollars in credit union fraud

AT A GLANCE

  • $35 million
    in fraud prevention savings over 18 months
  • 99%
    decrease in MTTK

Instant ROI for their credit union customers

Moments after turning on the new Elastic-based fraud detection platform, PSCU discovered and prevented $35,000 in fraud

Proactive fraud detection & mitigation

By deploying machine learning and alerting features of the Elastic Stack, PSCU proactively detects and stamps out financial fraud before it impacts member accounts

From security to observability to boost customer satisfaction

By standardizing on the Elastic Stack, PSCU was no longer limited in the number of data sources it could ingest. With this, PSCU could better respond to call center delays and potential customer-facing impacts like natural disasters

Creating a new dedicated Fraud Intelligence business unit

With the instant success of the Elastic Stack-driven fraud detection project, PSCU created a Fraud Intelligence unit that is now providing member credit unions with industry leading protection and satisfaction


Company Overview

PSCU, the nation’s premier Credit Union Service Organization, supports the success of 1,500 credit unions representing more than 3.8 billion transactions annually. PSCU’s payment processing, risk management, data and analytics, loyalty programs, digital banking, marketing, strategic consulting and mobile platforms help deliver seamless member experiences for more than 40 years. Comprehensive, 24/7/365 member support is provided by contact centers located throughout the United States.

PSCU embarks on the Elastic journey

For years, the organization's Enterprise Risk Office had been operating under a legacy Jade Database platform. This architecture restricted PSCU to only being able to ingest logs from just a few curated data sources for the purpose of detecting insider threats like theft of funds by PSCU staff, vendor partner staff, and credit union employees. To say the least, it was difficult to comprehend the siloed data in Excel spreadsheets and to visualize in Power BI. And, over time, as the database grew, ingesting data became more challenging as it took a day to load the previous day's data.

A 24-hour ingest delay is simply too long, especially when it comes to ferreting out financial fraud. So, one of the organization's contractors suggested that PSCU migrate those logs into Elasticsearch because it's well suited for any amount or type of data. Following this advice, PSCU transitioned to the Elastic Stack in 2018 and began adding more and more data sources such as member online logins, IP and home addresses, and their contact center call history — to name just a few—to better monitor and visualize logs to combat financial fraud.

Within days of deploying Elastic, PSCU blocked $35,000 in fraudulent activity. Now, PSCU has prevented $35 million in fraud just 18 months after deploying their Elastic-powered system dubbed "Linked Analysis."

"PSCU's Fraud Intelligence Team has used Linked Analysis to save over $35 million fraud dollars for our credit union members since the platform was created. A majority of that was predictive, which offers a great value to our member credit unions"

– Jack Lynch, SVP, Chief Risk Officer and President, CU Recovery at PSCU

After the transition to Elastic, Jonathon Robinson, manager of Fraud Intelligence at PSCU, discovered that Elasticsearch could handle as many data sources as PSCU could throw at it — with ease. So, he expanded the Elastic use case from the original insider fraud detection solution and added more logs from a growing number of financial-related data sources for the purpose of preventing external fraud at its 1,500 member credit unions across the United States.

With an expanded number of data sources, a new, first-layer of fraud prevention was created: one that stops financial fraud before it occurs. Previously, PSCU didn't know about fraudulent activity until after it occurred or when it was occurring. "Thanks to Elastic, now we see fraud before it's committed so we can stop it," Robinson says.

Later on, the PSCU Elastic journey would evolve. Since PSCU already had the data in its system, it was a natural progression for PSCU to provide operational insights for its contact center operations. In addition, Elastic paved the way to a new PSCU emergency management protocol that harnessed Kibana and Elastic Maps to alert credit unions to pending natural disasters. During events like hurricanes or wildfires, they could adjust their localized customer support accordingly to make sure members can access their money and credit.

All the while, PSCU has remained committed to the original pursuit of fraud detection, prevention, and mitigation. To date, that ongoing mission has saved its owner credit unions tens of millions of dollars.

"As we were building out with the Elastic Stack, we found that we were able to detect fraud a lot easier. And as we were adding more and more datasets to the Elastic platform, we got a view of our data that we really were never able to look at before. Because of our use of Elastic, we created a new branch to combat fraud — the Fraud Intelligence section. Now we're not only able to detect fraud that was occurring, but also detect it before it happens."

– Jonathon Robinson, Manager of Fraud Intelligence at PSCU

Fraud intelligence "Linked Analysis"

Robinson explains how Linked Analysis brought a recent credit card fraud ring to light that initially appeared to involve two credit cards from one credit union. Robinson noticed it when a machine learning job reported anomalies.

In one particular instance, while checking in on an alert, Robinson's team used the graph features of Elastic to find 35 additional cards that were linked via phone numbers and amalgamations of the original billing address on file with those two cards. The team realized that several credit unions, not just the original one where the alert originated from, were being scammed by the same fraud ring. So the PSCU team was able to quickly notify the affected credit unions, disable the cards, stop any of them from being used to make purchases, and also save their end members the frustration and inconvenience of having to replace a compromised credit card.

As a result, this combination of addresses, phone numbers, names, and other identifying information was blacklisted, and PSCU would be alerted to any future activity from this fraud ring no matter where it happened in their credit union network.

"The intel Elastic provided us was instantly used to protect the acutely impacted credit unions, but due to the blacklist we established, we also used it to protect any of the credit unions we service moving forward," Robinson says. "Without being able to correlate this data between credit unions, we would never have been able to see the patterns, even though we would have been fighting the same fraudulent actors across multiple fronts."

"There's something satisfying," Robinson adds, "about cracking down on fraud. That's because the fraudsters still try to use credit cards after PSCU has blacklisted them."

Fraud detection with machine learning

For the Fraud Intelligence team, machine learning is making it possible to deliver on the needs of 1,500 credit unions. Machine learning and alerting gives the team instant insights that otherwise wouldn't be immediately available when manually sifting through reports.

When it comes to fraud prevention, machine learning jobs at PSCU monitor activity that happens before a credit card is swiped at a checkout terminal. That's how PSCU took down that fraud ring. Activity PSCU is monitoring includes a combination of data center calls, online activity, and "a bunch of different data sources that give us a clue to what's going on with a card," Robinson says.

For example, if a customer typically logs in from their home computer, machine learning helps PSCU identify anomalous login attempts, or discover similar email addresses, phone numbers, IP addresses, Social Security numbers, and physical residential addresses being used to open or access accounts across different credit unions. With machine learning and alerting, once a customer appears to veer outside their normal behavior, the team is notified and can take measures to contact the individual member and, if necessary, shutter a card or account to stop fraud in its tracks.

Additionally, with the graph features available in Kibana, Robinson and PSCU can now crack down on the fraud by visualizing and exploring the connections and relations in the data in a quick way that wouldn't have been possible in a spreadsheet or any other parts of their legacy solution.

"Addressing fraud is not easy. However, the question of whether our system, with Elastic at the center of it, can handle this is something I don’t have to worry about anymore."

– Jonathon Robinson, manager of Fraud Intelligence at PSCU

Spaces, security

About half a dozen departments have access to different datasets that are visualized in Kibana. Some of the data might be essential to one group but not to another. With Kibana Spaces and role-based access control provided by the security features of the Elastic Stack, staff members can be assigned access to certain visualizations and be blocked from others unrelated to their work. It is a crucial feature that is important within the highly regulated industry in which PSCU exists.

"So, if somebody from the contact center is logging in, I don't want them to see the tab for monitoring or for almost anything else. I only want them to see what they're permitted to access and what's relevant to them, and I can do that with Spaces."

Spaces, Robinson adds, also keeps data "looking nice and tidy too, which is important to leadership."

The Spaces image above shows that PSCU creates different environments and datasets for a variety of departments. Every space is customized to a department’s business requirements.

Sometimes, however, things get messy. Mother Nature, for example, can cause as much or more financial havoc than credit union fraudsters. PSCU cannot prevent hurricanes, wildfires, or other environmental catastrophes. But with Elastic, it can make sure credit union members in the path of destruction have access to their money.

Contact Center, disaster planning

When Hurricane Dorian was projected to slam into the east coast of Florida in late summer 2019, Robinson harnessed Elastic Maps and added a weather layer from the United States National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) in addition to home address data from members who were in the hurricane's path. The results provided a visualization to credit unions about which of their card holders could be impacted. With this information, the credit unions could adjust their fraud prevention measures and not automatically block purchases that appeared outside a user's normal activity—like suddenly buying expensive generators, lumber, or an outsized number of canned goods.

This emergency management practice has now become the norm ahead of or during disasters, including recent wildfires in California.

In addition, because credit unions in the path of destruction likely will be closed, this type of preparedness allows PSCU to take over contact center operations for the affected credit unions to handle a deluge of expected calls.

PSCU is using Elastic in the contact center context for more than just emergencies, but for other use cases including business analytics and operational management purposes.

Observability

The Contact Center handles phone calls on behalf of hundreds of credit unions, which requires incredible coordination of resources and monitoring of events across all financial institutions. Their use of real-time machine learning lets them spot issues buried in a sea of data before they become a problem.

For example, operational logs visualized with Kibana give managers at credit unions a real-time look as to why there might be too many calls coming in to their contact centers at one time. The Kibana visualizations might show if there's an internal issue, a promotion, or a business matter that is prompting an overload of calls.

With this data, contact center staffing operations can be adjusted as necessary, even before a deluge of calls. And it gives managers at the individual credit unions the ability to visualize operational insights in Kibana without having to call PSCU to find out what's going on at a contact center.

In short, the competitive advantage of observability through Elastic gives PSCU insights that it never had or could provide to credit unions before.

"With these Kibana dashboards, we're showing credit union managers the answer instead of showing them the path to the answer with Excel spreadsheets," Robinson says. "They don't need to have any technological know-how, either."

Return on investment

Eighteen months into their Elastic journey, Robinson says there's been a whopping 48,000% return on investment. That figure combines the millions of dollars Elastic has saved member credit unions in fraud, minus how much PSCU has spent on infrastructure and an Elastic subscription over that same period.

In addition, Robinson says his bosses "were thrilled" with how much fraud the Elastic Stack has prevented—$35 million and counting.

"Any additional layer of protection we can offer our credit unions is always good. So, when a credit union has to pay out fraud losses, that means that the dividends that go to the credit union members are lower," Robinson says. "With the tools we've been using over the last 18 months, the credit unions are now saving members money and are investing in new services for their members."

In addition to the hard dollars and cents saved, Elastic has also helped PSCU increase customer satisfaction for their credit union members.

"When we call the individual credit union member, we're not saying, 'Hey, someone has spent $1,000 on your credit card.' That's not a great feeling. Instead, we're calling in and asking if they have logged in from a certain place and letting them know that nothing has been stolen. In the end, the cardholder knows that the credit union, and PSCU by extension, is watching out for them," Robinson says.

Future proofing with the Elastic Stack

As far as fraud-prevention data goes, Robinson says there is seemingly an endless supply of data sources to be ingested into Elastic to feed this project. Given that, PSCU will continue this real-time data centralization project with Elastic by adding more data sources and by modifying existing sources.

"Our primary goal is to just keep adding additional data sets, and keep adding additional channels of business that allow us to compare things on one platform with other platforms. We can just keep going and going with Elastic."

– Jonathon Robinson, manager of Fraud Intelligence at PSCU