Delete rollup jobs APIedit

Deletes an existing rollup job.

Warning

This functionality is experimental and may be changed or removed completely in a future release. Elastic will take a best effort approach to fix any issues, but experimental features are not subject to the support SLA of official GA features.

Requestedit

DELETE _rollup/job/<job_id>

Prerequisitesedit

  • If the Elasticsearch security features are enabled, you must have manage or manage_rollup cluster privileges to use this API. For more information, see Security privileges.

Descriptionedit

A job must be stopped first before it can be deleted. If you attempt to delete a started job, an error occurs. Similarly, if you attempt to delete a nonexistent job, an exception occurs.

Important

When a job is deleted, that only removes the process that is actively monitoring and rolling up data. It does not delete any previously rolled up data. This is by design; a user may wish to roll up a static dataset. Because the dataset is static, once it has been fully rolled up there is no need to keep the indexing rollup job around (as there will be no new data). So the job can be deleted, leaving behind the rolled up data for analysis.

If you wish to also remove the rollup data, and the rollup index only contains the data for a single job, you can simply delete the whole rollup index. If the rollup index stores data from several jobs, you must issue a delete-by-query that targets the rollup job’s ID in the rollup index.

POST my_rollup_index/_delete_by_query
{
  "query": {
    "term": {
      "_rollup.id": "the_rollup_job_id"
    }
  }
}

Path parametersedit

<job_id>
(Required, string) Identifier for the job.

Response codesedit

404 (Missing resources)
This code indicates that there are no resources that match the request. It occurs if you try to delete a job that doesn’t exist.

Exampleedit

If we have a rollup job named sensor, it can be deleted with:

DELETE _rollup/job/sensor

Which will return the response:

{
  "acknowledged": true
}