• 企业搜索
  • 汽车和制造

空客公司 ADNS: 提供重大搜索支持,让用户近实时访问空客公司技术文档

概况
  • 10,926
    架飞机(截至 2017 年末的交付量 )
  • 20 亿
    个区块的技术文档
  • 3,000 次
    查询/分钟
更快的查询响应速度:

借助 Elasticsearch,空客公司如今可以在不到两秒的时间内提供搜索结果。

近实时的可用性:
可视化监测功能已通过 Kibana 集成到 Elasticsearch 中, 可确保实现最佳功能。
缩短面市时间:

Elasticsearch 帮助加快 ADNS 解决方案的开发进度。

公司概览

空客公司是欧洲最大的飞机制造商,其总部位于法国图卢兹附近的布拉尼亚克。空客公司面向全球各地的航空公司设计、制造并销售其产品、服务和解决方案。公司业务范围遍布全球,在 180 个地点设立了办事处,拥有 12,000 家直接供应商。截至 2017 年末,空客公司向世界各大洲的客户共交付了 10,926 架飞机,并且承诺向为数众多的运营和维护利益相关方提供其所有机型的相关文档。

提供重大搜索支持,让用户近实时访问空客公司技术文档

空客公司的客户服务部门负责向航空公司、航空公司的维修合作伙伴、认证机构以及飞机制造过程中所牵涉的众多供应商提供支持。内部和外部用户总人数将近 80,000 人。随着每个新机型的参考文件集越来越庞大,空客公司决定弃用之前的解决方案(早在 2003 年就已采用),并开发一款内部应用程序以对大量的各类飞机参考文档进行数字化。ADNS(高级数据导航服务)开发项目就此诞生,该项目有两大目标,第一是在两秒内响应所有请求并且达到每分钟处理 3,000 次请求的速度,第二是在两年期限内推出新的咨询门户网站。为了缩短响应时间并履行在两年内推出 ADNS 平台的承诺,空客公司最终选择了性能卓越并具备实时功能的 Elastic Stack。Elastic Stack 是一项新时代技术,借助它提供的一系列功能,空客公司可以确保授权用户的访问权限并监测平台的运行状况。

ADNS 平台是空客公司数字转型过程中的试点项目之一。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理
空客公司使用 ADNS 的历程

实施人员:负责空客公司客户服务部门的 IT 项目经理及其团队

François Bedin 在其 IT 团队的协助之下,承担了创建全新 ADNS 平台的任务,并与空客公司客户服务代表以及使用飞机技术文档的多家外部实体和客户开展密切合作。他采用了敏捷开发模型,以便相关的利益相关方可参与到项目中来并推动和核实项目每个阶段。该项目现已完成,客户服务部门从这一紧跟时代的文档搜索和咨询平台中获益良多;在空客公司致力于履行其服务等级协议 (SLA) 承诺的过程中,这一平台发挥了极大的帮助作用。

为了在两年内交付卓有成效的文档解决方案,我们选择了已结合研究标杆的敏捷开发模式。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理

实施内容:在两秒内响应每个用户请求

空客公司 ADNS 平台构成了飞机销售和交付过程中不可或缺的一部分。由于航空公司以及航空公司的维修部门在每次飞机降落时和例行飞机检修过程中均需要进行必要的维修操作,此平台还会集中管理这些操作过程中赖以使用的信息。当前的目标是在两秒内响应每个用户请求(在容量不断增长的文档上下文信息中进行搜索,截至目前,这些文档已达到 6 TB),同时还要确保根据请求以及请求方的资料提供安全的用户权限。

为了履行空客公司对客户的承诺,确保优异性能以及 24/7 的高可用性,我们要求使用基于新一代开源技术的强大搜索工具。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理。

确保实现 24/7 的客户服务承诺

为了确保 ADNS 平台中的导航工具具备优异的性能,项目经理和他的团队选择了 Elasticsearch,因为它具有历经实践证明的搜索和索引能力。近实时性能完美契合了对 ADNS 基础架构的高可用性要求,这些要求旨在确保空客公司能够实现 24/7 的客户服务承诺。空客公司的承诺是提供稳定的基础架构并持续按照 SLA 的要求完成生产活动,为了履行这一重大承诺,空客公司从开发项目伊始就选择了白金级许可证。Elastic Stack 面向订阅用户的商业功能确保了 ADNS 平台的健康运行,并保证了基于权限的安全性。

通过白金级订阅服务以及所包含的支持服务,我们已经尽我们所能来帮助履行我们在 ADNS 面市时间和可用性方面的承诺。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理。

强大的搜索、敏捷开发和高可用性

ADNS 的运行基础设施包括两个内部的活跃/活跃冗余数据中心,每个数据中心包含 25 个 Elasticsearch 服务器(节点)。

这是我们第一次在客户服务领域处理如此多的互联服务器。Elastic Stack 的监测功能 (X-Pack),搭配可视化工具 Kibana,对我们帮助很大,可以让我们了解相关信息并获得主动权,进而确保 ADNS 的高可用性。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理。

Kibana 仪表板提供了可视化内容,IT 团队通过这些内容便可获知 ADNS 平台当前的健康状态,确保实现最佳功能。

空客公司之所以选择 Elasticsearch 来为 ADNS 提供支持,正是因为其可以实现实时索引和全文本搜索功能。其成功取代了另外一项解决方案,因为这项解决方案的初衷是搜索打开的文档。现在,通过 Elastic,用户可以很轻松地找到所需的内容。只需输入关键字,便可搜索包含超过 20 亿个结构化或非结构化片段(亦称文档区块)的整个数据库,而且这些内容的特征和格式自上个世纪 70 年代空客公司推出首架飞机以来便一直在改变。

实施结果:缩短了面市时间,在两秒内授予文档访问权限

由于部署了 Elastic Stack,空客公司得以在 14 个月后开始推出 ADNS 试点版本,其中包括几项提供给所有用户的初步功能。在 20 个月后,空客公司便向所有用户推出了具有完整功能的试用版。如今,ADNS 平台已十分完整,并且实现了充分的可操作性。

François Bedin 和他的 IT 团队完成了他们的面市时间承诺,从设计到投入运行,两年内全部完成,最终成果就是 ADNS:一个现代化且效果显著的平台,用户可在此查询数据量达 6 TB 的空客公司飞机相关技术文档。现在,通过飞机制造商的门户网站,所有请求都能在两秒内找到具有相关性的搜索结果。通过自动化权限管理系统,此平台向无以数计的、需要访问权限且已获授权的内部和外部客户提供信息。

自从推出以来,所有终端用户都对 ADNS 的性能和功能成熟性十分认可。其可用性接近 100%,重大变更在应用内部便可完成,不会造成任何停机时间。尽管在敏捷开发的过程中引入诸多客户是我们取得成功的关键因素,但具有高附加值的 Elastic Stack 技术也发挥了巨大的作用。

François Bedin
空客公司 ADNS IT 项目经理

展望未来,Elastic Stack 的可扩展性和灵活性能够让 ADNS 团队快速轻松地针对向客户交付新飞机时提供的大量文档进行规划并吸纳这些文档。

• Enterprise Search
  • Automotive & Manufacturing

Airbus ADNS: Powering the Search for Near Real-Time Access to Aircraft Technical Documents

SUMMARY
  • 10,926
    aircraft delivered as of end of 2017
  • 2 billion
    blocks of technical documents
  • 3,000
    queries per minute
Faster query response time

With the Elasticsearch, Airbus can now deliver results in under 2 seconds.

Near real-time availability:

Optimal functionality guaranteed by the visual monitoring features integrated into the Elastic platform with Kibana.

Reduced time to market:

Elasticsearch helped accelerate the development of the ADNS solution.

Company Overview

Airbus, the largest European aeronautics manufacturer, based in Blagnac near Toulouse in France designs, manufactures, and markets its products, services, and solutions for airlines across the world. International in scope, the company is established in 180 locations and relies on 12,000 direct suppliers. At the end of 2017, it accounted for some 10,926 aircraft delivered to customers on every continent, with a commitment to make documentation for all its aircraft models available to its numerous operation and maintenance stakeholders.

Powering the Search for Near Real-Time Access to Aircraft Technical Documents

At Airbus, customer service provides support to airlines and their maintenance partners, certification authorities, and the numerous suppliers involved in the manufacturing of an aircraft. This totals approximately 80,000 internal and external users. With an ever growing dossier of reference documents being produced for each new airplane model, Airbus decided to develop an internal application to replace their previous solution—from 2003—for digitizing the large volumes of assorted aircraft reference documents. This is how the development of the ADNS (Advanced Data Navigation Services) project was born—with the dual objective of satisfying 3,000 requests per minute in less than 2 seconds, and launching its new consulting portal within a 2-year deadline. To improve its response time and fulfill its time-to-market commitment for the ADNS platform, Airbus opted for the power and real-time capabilities of the Elastic Stack, a new-generation technology with a set of features that allows Airbus to guarantee access rights to authorized users and monitor the platform's health.

The ADNS platform is one of the pilot projects of Airbus' digital transformation.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus
Airbus ADNS’ Journey with Elastic

The Who: The IT Project Manager and His Team Responsible for Airbus Customer Service

With the support of his IT team, François Bedin took on the task of creating the new ADNS platform, working collaboratively with Airbus customer service representatives, various external entities and customers using the aircraft technical documentation. An agile development model was used so that relevant stakeholders were involved in the advancement and validation of each project stage. With the project complete, customer service now benefits from a modern document search and consulting platform that makes a significant contribution to fulfilling Airbus’ service-level agreement (SLA) commitments.

We opted for agile development combined with the research benchmark to deliver an effective document solution within 2 years.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus.

The What: Responding to Every User Request in Less than 2 Seconds

The Airbus ADNS platform forms an integral part of the sale and delivery of an aircraft. It also centralizes the information relied upon by airlines and their maintenance departments to carry out necessary maintenance operations after each landing and during routine aircraft overhauls. Today, the aim is to respond to every user request in less than 2 seconds—querying a growing volumetric context of (to date) 6 TB of documents—while also guaranteeing secure user access rights depending on the request and the requester's profile.

We imposed the requirement for a powerful search tool based on new-generation open-source technologies in order to fulfil Airbus' commitment to its customers, provide performance, and 24/7 high availability.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus.

Guaranteeing a 24/7 Commitment to Customer Service

To guarantee a high level of performance for the ADNS platform's navigation tool, the project manager and his team rely on the proven search and indexing power of Elasticsearch. Near real-time performance is aligned with the high availability requirements of the ADNS infrastructure, which is intended to guarantee Airbus' 24/7 commitment to customer service. To fulfill the vital promise of having a solid infrastructure and continuous production activity that complies with its SLA, Airbus ADNS opted for a Platinum license of the Elastic Stack right from the start of its development. The commercial features of the Elastic Stack, accessible to subscribers, ensured the ADNS platform's health and maintained access-based security.

With the Platinum subscription and the included support services, we did everything we could to help our chances of fulfilling our commitment to the time to market and availability of ADNS.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus.

Powerful Search, Agile Development, and High Availability

The operational infrastructure of ADNS consists of two internal active/active redundant data centers with 25 Elasticsearch servers (nodes) in each.

It's the first time we've handled such a high number of interconnected servers for a customer service application. The Elastic Stack’s monitoring feature (X-Pack), coupled with its visualization tool Kibana, helps provide us with the visibility and proactivity required to maintain the high availability of ADNS.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus.

Kibana dashboards offer visualizations that inform the IT team about the ADNS platform's current state of health, ensuring optimal functionality.

Elasticsearch was selected as the driving force behind ADNS for its real-time indexing and full text search capabilities. It replaces a solution intended to search open documents. Today, it is easy to find what you want with Elastic. Simply enter a keyword to search the entire database of more than 2 billion structured or unstructured fragments (or blocks of documents), whose features and formats have been constantly changing since the creation of the first Airbus aircraft in the 1970s.

The Results: Reduced Time to Market and Authorized Access to Documents in Less than 2 Seconds

Deployment of the Elastic Stack enabled production on a pilot version of ADNS to be started after 14 months, including a few initial features being made available to all users. A full-feature beta version was made available to everyone after 20 months. Today, the ADNS platform is complete and has achieved full operability.

François Bedin and his IT team have fulfilled their time-to-market commitment, from design to production, within 2 years, the result being ADNS, a modern and effective platform for consulting a 6 TB database of technical documents relating to Airbus aircrafts. To date, all requests are satisfied with relevance in less than 2 seconds via the aircraft manufacturer's portal. Information is available to numerous authorized internal and external users who need access, using an automated rights management system.

All the end users are unanimous about the performance and the functional maturity of ADNS since its implementation. Its availability is close to 100%, and major changes can be made within the application without any downtime. While the agile development strategy involving a panel of customers was critical to our success, the high-value-added technology of the Elastic Stack also contributed greatly.

François Bedin
ADNS IT Project Manager, Airbus

Looking to the future, the scalability and flexible nature of the Elastic Stack will give the ADNS team the ability to quickly and easily plan for and absorb the volumes of documents that accompany each new aircraft delivery to their customers.