• 网站搜索
  • 软件与技术

Twilio:快捷的实施过程,助力实现强大的搜索功能

公司概览

  • 40,000+
    用户数量

快捷的实施过程

Twilio 在短短数分钟内便完成了 Elastic Site Search(前身为 Swiftype Site Search)引擎的部署工作,并实现成功运行。

通过定制提供更佳的用户体验

通过 Elastic Site Search 服务,Twilio 轻松添加了搜索强化工具、同义词和其他调整内容,从而准确返回用户正在查找的信息。

数据驱动的战略

Twilio 在 Elastic Site Search 中使用分析仪表板,从而推动制定适用于入门知识库门户网站的内容战略。

公司概览

Twilio 在全球范围内推出云端 API,开发人员可与该 API 互动以创建智能、复杂的通信系统。由于数以千计的开发人员每天都会使用 Twilio,所以 Twilio 开发了全面的知识库来为入门用户提供解答。

Twilio 采用 Elastic 的历程

难以搜索

在采用 Elastic Site Search 之前,搜索并非 Twilio 在线知识库中的主推工具,这主要是因为之前的搜索解决方案效果不佳。一方面搜索栏返回的结果不具相关性,另一方面团队希望对搜索算法进行的任何改进都需要大量的后端开发工作。有鉴于此,知识库的利用率并不高,这导致了新用户在刚开始使用时找不到一个值得信赖的地方。基于以上原因,Twilio 需要的解决方案不仅要提供强大的搜索性能,而且还要能够轻松实施。

结果

Twilio 改用 Elastic Site Search 后,在短短数分钟内便完成了新搜索引擎的部署工作,并实现成功运行。由于知识库的搜索效果很好,Twilio 决定在页面上大力主推这一工具。在公司内部,看到 autocomplete(自动完成)下拉菜单的效果后,人们立即变得无比兴奋。Twilio 轻松便完成了这一变更,而员工则很快看到了这一变更给用户体验带来的巨大改善。

搜索引擎部署完毕并正常运行之后,Twilio 支持团队使用内置的 Elastic Site Search 仪表板来针对最热门的查询条目进行结果定制,以打造更棒的最终用户体验。借助拖放式结果排名工具,支持团队能够对前 50 个查询条目进行结果重排序,从而确保用户可轻松找到最佳结果。更重要的一点可能是,他们终于能够为返回空值的查询条目添加结果,这样的话,由于用户能够轻松在文档中找到答案,所以 Twilio 最大限度降低了用户提交支持工单的需求。

这些仪表板分析内容不仅帮助 Twilio 支持团队对现有搜索结果进行定制,而且还帮助他们确定之后需要创建有关哪些方面的新支持文章。举例说明,在部署 Elastic Site Search 之前,Twilio 支持团队就感觉到关于会话启动协议 (SIP) 的文档不够完善,但是却一直没有时间撰写文章来帮助遇到 SIP 问题的用户。然而,查看分析仪表板之后,他们能够即刻看到有多少名用户正在查找有关 SIP 的帮助内容。由于获得了这一数据,他们能够轻松认识到的确有必要花时间创建一个崭新的可搜索 SIP FAQ 版块。现在,由于用户能够通过知识库快速找到所需信息,所以他们回复 SIP 支持工单的时间得以减少。通过 Elastic Site Search Service,Twilio 能够就自助支持为用户提供强大的搜索结果,而且实现这一切无须聘用工程顾问或长期顾问。

• Site Search
  • Software & Technology

Twilio: Delivering powerful search with a fast implementation

AT A GLANCE
  • 40,000+
    users
FAST IMPLEMENTATION

Twilio had their new Elastic Site Search (formerly Swiftype Site Search) engine up and running in minutes.

BETTER UX THROUGH CUSTOMIZATION

With Elastic Site Search service, Twilio easily added search boosts, synonyms, and other adjustments to return the exact results that users were looking for.

DATA-DRIVEN STRATEGY

Twilio uses the analytics dashboards within Elastic Site Search to drive content strategy for their getting started knowledge base portal

Company Overview

Twilio exposes a globally available cloud API that developers can interact with to build intelligent and complex communications systems. Thousands of developers use Twilio on a daily basis, and Twilio has developed a comprehensive knowledge base to provide answers for users who are getting started.

Twilio’s Journey with Elastic

DIFFICULT SEARCH

Before Elastic Site Search, search was not a prominent tool within the Twilio online knowledge base — primarily because their previous solution did not work well. Aside from the fact that the search bar returned results that were not relevant, any improvements the team wanted to make to their search algorithm required heavy amounts of back-end development work. As a result, the knowledge base was an underused asset and left their new users without a solid place to easily get started. As a result, Twilio needed a solution that would provide powerful search without a lot of work.

RESULTS

Once Twilio made the switch to Elastic Site Search, they had their new search engine up and running in minutes. Now that search worked well for the knowledge base, Twilio decided to feature it prominently on the page. Within the company, people were immediately excited by the autocomplete drop down results. The change was easy on Twilio’s end and employees could quickly see how much better this made their user experience.

After getting their search engine up and running, Twilio’s support team used their built-in Elastic Site Search dashboard to customize the results for the most popular queries with the goal of creating a better end-user experience. With the drag-and-drop result ranking tool, the Support team was able to rearrange results for the top 50 queries to make sure the best results were easy to find. Perhaps more importantly, they were finally able to add in results for queries that were returning null values in order to minimize the need for users to file support tickets for answers that were easily covered in the documentation.

These dashboard analytics not only helped Twilio support customize existing search results, but also helped them determine what new support articles needed to be created going forward. For instance, prior to deploying Elastic Site Search, the Twilio support team had a sense that there was inadequate documentation surrounding session initiation protocols (SIP), but never had time to develop articles for users who had SIP questions. However, when looking at the analytics dashboard, they could instantly see how many users were searching for help on SIP. With this data in their hands, they were able to easily justify the time spent on creating a new searchable SIP FAQ section and in turn now spends less time answering support tickets on SIP because users can quickly find the information they need through the knowledge base. With the Elastic Site Search Service, Twilio was able to provide its users with powerful search for self-service support, all without the need to involve engineering or long-term consultants..