2021 年许可变更常见问答

我们即将把根据 Apache 2.0 许可授权的 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 源代码变更为采用 Elastic 许可 + 服务器端公共许可 (SSPL) 的双重授权许可模式,以便用户选择适合自己的许可。我们还简化了 Elastic 许可(Elastic 许可 v2,或简称 ELv2),并使其授权更加宽松。通过这一许可变更,既可确保我们社区和客户继续以免费且开放的方式使用、修改和重新分发代码,并基于代码展开协作,而且还可限制云服务提供商在不向社区提供任何回馈的情况下将 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 作为一项服务对外提供,以此保护我们在开发免费及开源产品方面的持续投资。此次变更将适用于这两个产品的所有维护分支,并从 7.11 版开始生效。我们的默认分发版将继续使用 Elastic 许可。

许可变更问题汇总


能否请您总结一下有哪些变化?

我们即将把根据 Apache 2.0 许可授权的 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 源代码变更为采用 SSPL 1.0 + Elastic 许可的双重授权许可模式,以便用户选择适合自己的许可。我们还简化了 Elastic 许可(Elastic 许可 v2,或简称 ELv2),并使其授权更加宽松。近三年来,我们的默认分发版一直采用 Elastic 许可,今后我们会继续采用这一许可,不再开发 Apache 2.0 分发版。


为什么 Elastic 要做出这种改变?

通过这一变更,既可确保我们社区和客户继续以免费开源的方式使用、修改和重新分发 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 源代码,并基于代码展开协作,而且还可限制云服务提供商在不共享他们的修改及服务管理层源代码的情况下将我们的产品作为一项服务对外提供,以此保护我们在开发免费和开源产品方面的持续投资。


Elastic 许可的关键变更都有哪些?

Elastic 许可 2.0 适用于我们的分发版以及 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 所有免费和付费功能的源代码。对于 ELv2,我们的目标是在尽可能宽松的情况下防止滥用。该许可允许免费使用和修改软件、创建衍生作品以及重新分发软件,但有三个基本的限制条件:

  • 不得将产品作为托管服务提供给其他人 
  • 不得规避许可密钥功能或删除/隐藏受许可密钥保护的功能 
  • 不得删除或隐藏任何许可协议、版权或其他声明

这些规定的目的是保护我们的产品和品牌免受滥用,同时使分发和修改尽可能简单。请查看专门的常见问答,了解有关 ELv2 的更多详细信息。


作为一个用户,我会因这次许可变更而受到什么影响?

如果您下载并使用的是 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 的默认分发版,对您不会有任何影响。近三年来,我们的默认分发版一直采用 Elastic 许可进行免费开放,今后我们会继续采用这一许可。在 Elastic 许可 2.0 中,我们简化了许可条款,使其授权条件更加宽松。如果您是基于 Elasticsearch 构建应用程序,对您也不会有任何影响。我们的客户端库会继续采用 Apache 2.0 进行许可授权。如果您在 Elasticsearch 或 Kibana 上使用插件,对您也不会有任何影响。


我为 Elasticsearch 和/或 Kibana 做了贡献,这对我有什么影响吗?

首先感谢您所做的贡献!无论这些代码是在 Elastic 许可还是 SSPL 下发布的,您都可以一如既往地继续为 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 贡献内容。如需了解有关如何贡献内容的更多信息,可参阅我们的贡献者指南


作为一个客户或合作伙伴,我会因这次变更而受到什么影响?

在 Elastic Cloud 中或通过自管型订阅使用我们产品的客户和合作伙伴都不受此次变更的影响。


我构建了一个嵌入并重新分发 Elasticsearch 的应用程序,这对我有什么影响吗?

如果您是客户,对您不会有任何影响。



如果您是以前嵌入并重新分发的 Apache 2.0 分发版,那么您需要切换到 Elastic 许可 v2 下的默认分发版。如上所述,Elastic 许可 2.0 允许免费使用、修改和重新分发,但为了保护我们的产品和品牌免受滥用,需要遵守三个基本的限制条件。如果您愿意,您还可以选择通过 SSPL 获得源代码,然后以此构建 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana。



如果您有任何问题,请发送电子邮件至 elastic_license@elastic.co 告诉我们具体情况,我们很乐意为您提供帮助。


双重授权许可是如何运作的?

我们将把根据 Apache 2.0 许可授权的 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 源代码变更为采用 Elastic 许可 + SSPL 双重授权许可的模式。这意味着,在您使用源代码时,可以选择最适合自身需要的一组条款和条件。近三年来,我们的默认分发版一直采用 Elastic 许可进行发布,今后我们会继续采用这一许可,如果您不直接使用源代码,对您不会有任何影响。我们还简化了 Elastic 许可,使其授权条件尽可能的宽松。


为什么你们要提供双重授权许可策略?

我们的大多数用户和客户已经将 Elastic 作为默认分发版的一部分使用,该分发版使用 Elastic 许可已有近三年的时间。然而,我们希望尽一切努力做到尽可能的开放和宽松,同时防止公共云服务提供商在不向社区回馈的情况下将托管服务对外提供。对于已经在使用 Elastic 许可的用户,如果您愿意,可以继续使用!这对您不会有任何影响。事实上,通过 Elastic 许可 2.0 的更新,我们已经使 Elastic 许可的授权条件变得更加宽松了。我们之所以选择将 SSPL 仍作为用户的选项,也是因为我们知道,由于它的创建者 MongoDB 对它的使用,让它成为了数百万用户和公司所熟悉的许可,并且它提供了我们非常珍视的自由。


什么是 SSPL,它是如何运作的?

SSPL 是一个最初由 MongoDB 创建的可获得源代码的许可,MongoDB 当时设计了一个体现开源理念的许可,允许自由随意地使用、修改和重新分发产品源代码,但有一个基本要求:在 SSPL 协议下,如果您将产品作为服务对外提供,则必须同时公开发布任何修改以及您自己管理层的源代码。



SSPL 基于 GPLv3 构建而成,被认为是一种 Copyleft 许可。也就是说,如果您使用源代码并创建衍生作品,那么这些衍生作品也必须根据 SSPL 授予许可并公开发布。如需了解更多信息,可查看 MongoDB 的常见问答。
 
请注意,SSPL 尚未得到 OSI 的批准,因此,为了避免混淆,我们不将其称为开源许可。


在 SSPL 协议下,什么样的使用才构成“将产品作为服务提供”?

需要明确的是,我们从 7.11 开始的分发版将只在 Elastic 许可 2.0 下提供,该许可没有任何 Copyleft 限制,允许免费使用、修改和重新分发,但为了保护我们的产品和品牌,需要遵循如上所述的 3 个基本限制条件。

如果您是从源代码构建 Elasticsearch 和(或)Kibana,您可以选用 SSPL 或 Elastic 许可来管理您对源代码的使用。该条款仅适用于以下情况:您从源代码进行构建,选择 SSPL 作为管理许可,并且您将 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 作为付费服务对外提供。也就是说,只有当您“将 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 以托管服务的形式”作为主要产品/服务提供,或者是产品/服务的主要部分时,该条款才适用。


我使用 Elasticsearch 作为后端构建了 SaaS 应用程序,这对我有什么影响吗?

此次源代码许可变更不会影响您。您可以继续使用我们的默认分发版,或在 Elastic 许可下免费基于该分发版开发应用程序。这个可获得源代码的许可不包含任何 Copyleft 规定,默认功能免费提供。如需了解具体示例,您可以查看我们对 Magento 项目中关于这个问题的回答


此次变更适用于哪些版本?

此次变更只影响源代码,我们的发行版将继续在 Elastic 许可下免费开源。此次变更将适用于我们软件(6.8、7.x 和 master/8.0)的所有维护分支,并将在 7.11 版正式发布之前生效。


除了 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 之外,其他产品的许可是否会发生变化?

不会,我们只是对 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 进行许可变更,其他产品不会受到影响。我们一直希望让我们的数据收集和传输组件尽可能免费和易于访问。通过保护我们对 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 的投资,这一变更使我们能够确保我们的其他产品更加开放。我们会考虑将更多的 Beats、Elastic Agent 和 Logstash 功能迁移到 Apache 2.0 下进行授权许可。如果我们决定进行任何其他更改,我们将另行通知。


这是否意味着 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 不再是开源的?

是的。Elastic 许可和 SSPL 都没有得到 OSI 的批准,因此,为了避免混淆,我们不再将 Elasticsearch 或 Kibana 称为开源平台。我们更新了我们的网站和讯息,将这些产品称为“免费开放”,直接谈论许可时,我们将其描述为“可获得源代码的”许可。 如果您发现任何我们有遗漏的地方,请告诉我们,以便我们更正。

虽然我们选择不使用开源这个词来指代这些产品以避免混淆,但我们将继续使用“开放”和“免费开放”这两个词。 这样的措辞可用于简单描述以下事实:产品可供免费使用,可获得源代码,并且还适用于我们在 GitHub 中的开放和协作参与模型。我们始终致力于开源原则 — 透明度、协作和社区。


Elastic 会继续开发开源软件吗?

在过去的十年里,我们对开源原则的承诺丝毫没有改变,会一直并将永远重视透明度、协作和社区。我们的许多产品和项目会继续使用 Apache 2.0 许可协议,包括我们的客户端库、Beats、Logstash,以及诸如 Elastic Common Schema 之类的标准。我们还会像从前一样继续为其他开源项目做出贡献,比如 Apache Lucene 等项目。


我正在使用云提供商提供的 Elasticsearch 服务,这一变更会对我有什么影响?

如果公共云服务提供商希望提供从 7.11 以后发布的 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 版本,则需要遵守Elastic 许可或 SSPL。


我正在通过 API 使用 Elasticsearch,这一变更会对我有什么影响吗?

此次变更不会影响您使用客户端库访问 Elasticsearch 的方式。除了 Java 高级 REST 客户端 (Java HLRC) 之外,我们的客户端库仍然使用 Apache 2.0 许可授权。

Java HLRC 依赖于 Elasticsearch 的核心,因此这个客户端库将使用 Elastic 许可授权。我们将逐渐消除这种依赖性,并将 Java HLRC 改为 Apache 2.0 许可授权。在完全消除之前,为免存疑,我们认为在开发应用程序或用于访问 Elasticsearch 的库时使用 Java HLRC 作为客户端库,并不构成 Elastic 许可证下的衍生作品,而且这不会对您使用此客户端库授权应用程序的源代码或分发它的方式产生任何影响。

如果您有任何疑问,可通过 elastic_license@elastic.co 与我们联系


我正在为 Elasticsearch 或 Kibana 构建插件,我会因这次变更而受到什么影响?

此次变更不会影响您构建或授权 Elasticsearch 或 Kibana 插件的方式。为免存疑,构建用于 Elasticsearch 或 Kibana 的插件并不构成衍生作品,也不会对插件源代码的授权方式产生任何影响。

如果您有任何疑问,可通过 elastic_license@elastic.co 与我们联系


这次变更对你们与 Microsoft、Google、阿里巴巴和腾讯的合作有什么影响吗?

没有影响。我们与这些公共云服务提供商有着良好的商业关系,并将继续与他们合作。Elastic Cloud 可在 Microsoft、Google 和 AWS 上使用,不管其中哪个平台,我们都是他们市场生态系统的一部分。我们与阿里巴巴和腾讯建立了合作关系,允许他们提供 Elasticsearch 服务。这些合作关系不受许可变更公告的影响。


这次变更对你们与 AWS 的关系有什么影响吗?

如上所述,我们的总体目标是与公共云服务提供商合作,这些提供商采用我们的产品并将我们的产品作为服务对外提供。我们与 Google Cloud、Microsoft Azure、阿里云和腾讯云建立了紧密的合作关系。我们还与 AWS 合作,让 Elastic Cloud 入驻 AWS Marketplace,并继续投资于这一关系,致力于将 Elastic Cloud 打造成 AWS 上优质的 Elasticsearch 和 Kibana 托管平台。但是,我们与 AWS 在 Amazon Elasticsearch Service 上没有进行任何商业合作。我们不积极支持这项服务,也不希望我们在软件上的投资让这项服务直接受益。为了透明起见,我们还在与 AWS 进行诉讼,详见这里这里


为什么博文的标题叫作“进一步加大开放投入:第二部分”?这如何让你们更加开放?

我们以此用作博文标题是为了继续三年前开始的转变,当时我们首次宣布使用 Elastic 许可开放 X-Pack。在我们传递的讯息中,我们非常有意地选择关注“开放”,而不是“开源”。对于由此造成的任何混乱或歧义,我们深表歉意。博文中的第一句话将本次变更已经说得很清楚了。
此次变更的主要原因是为了保护我们的投资,不允许云服务提供商在没有与我们及社区合作的情况下直接将我们的产品作为服务对外提供。在此变更过程中,我们一直在努力保持尽可能的免费和开放。


我在 Kibana 以外的应用程序中使用 EUI 或 Elastic 图表,这一变更会对我有什么影响?

如果您的应用程序不是托管型或托管服务,那么您可能根本不会受到影响。如果您有其他疑问或需要进一步说明,请通过 elastic_license@elastic.co 与我们联系。


我在 Kibana 插件中使用 EUI 或 Elastic 图表,这一变更会对我有什么影响?

我们希望鼓励用户为 Kibana 制作插件。您可以继续为 Kibana 构建使用 EUI 或 Elastic 图表的插件。如果您有其他疑问,请通过 elastic_license@elastic.co 与我们联系。


变更日志

  • 6 月 7 日:增加了两个关于 EUI 和 Elastic 图表许可的问题
  • 2 月 2 日:进行了几处更改以反映对 Elastic 许可 v2 (ELv2) 的更新。
  • 1 月 26 日:为了更清楚地说明问题,对“什么是 SSPL,它是如何运作的?”这一问题进行了展开回答。
  • 1 月 18 日:将“我嵌入了 Elasticsearch 和(或)Kibana 的修改版本…”和“我构建了一个嵌入并重新分发 Elasticsearch 的应用程序…”两个问题合并,以便说得更清楚一些和提高一致性。
  • 1 月 17 日:发布“我构建了一个嵌入并重新分发 Elasticsearch 的应用程序...”问题,以提供更多的背景信息。发布“在 SSPL 协议下,什么样的使用才构成‘将产品作为服务提供’?”问题和回答。
  • 1 月 15 日:发布“为什么你们要提供双重授权许可策略?”、“我使用 Elasticsearch 作为后端构建了 SaaS 应用程序...”,以及“这次变更对你们与 AWS 的关系有什么影响吗?”三个问题和回答。

FAQ on 2021 License Change

We are moving our Apache 2.0-licensed source code in Elasticsearch and Kibana to be dual licensed under the Elastic License and Server Side Public License (SSPL), giving users the choice of which license to apply. We are also simplifying the Elastic License (Elastic License v2, or ELv2) and making it substantially more permissive. This license change ensures our community and customers have free and open access to use, modify, redistribute, and collaborate on the code. It also protects our continued investment in developing products that we distribute for free and in the open by restricting cloud service providers from offering Elasticsearch and Kibana as a service without contributing back. This will apply to all maintained branches of these two products starting with the 7.11 release. Our default distribution will continue to be under the Elastic License.

Summary of licensing change


Can you summarize the changes?

We are changing the Apache 2.0-licensed source code of Elasticsearch and Kibana to be dual licensed under the Elastic License and SSPL 1.0, giving users the choice of which license to apply. We are also simplifying the Elastic License (Elastic License v2, or ELv2) and making it substantially more permissive. Our default distribution will continue to be under the Elastic License as it has been for nearly the last three years, and we will no longer produce an Apache 2.0 distribution.


Why is Elastic making this change?

This change ensures that our community and customers have free and open access to use, modify, redistribute, and collaborate on Elasticsearch and Kibana source code. It also protects our continued investment in developing products that we distribute for free and in the open by restricting cloud service providers from offering our products as a service without sharing their modifications and the source code of their service management layers.


What are the key changes being made to the Elastic License?

The Elastic License 2.0 applies to our distribution and the source code of all of the free and paid features of Elasticsearch and Kibana. Our goal with ELv2 is to be as permissive as possible, while protecting against abuse. The license allows the free right to use, modify, create derivative works, and redistribute, with three simple limitations:

  • You may not provide the products to others as a managed service 
  • You may not circumvent the license key functionality or remove/obscure features protected by license keys 
  • You may not remove or obscure any licensing, copyright, or other notices

The aim of these provisions are to protect our products and brand from abuse, while making distribution and modification as simple as possible. See this dedicated FAQ for additional details on ELv2.


I'm a user, how does this license change affect me?

If you download and use our default distribution of Elasticsearch and Kibana, nothing changes for you. Our default distribution continues to be free and open under the Elastic License, as it has been for nearly the last three years. With the Elastic License 2.0, we have simplified the license terms, and made it significantly more permissive. If you build applications on top of Elasticsearch, nothing changes for you. Our client libraries continue to be licensed under Apache 2.0. If you use plugins on top of Elasticsearch or Kibana, nothing changes for you.


I contribute to Elasticsearch and/or Kibana, how does this affect me?

First, a big thank you! You can continue to contribute to Elasticsearch and Kibana as you always have, whether that code is under the Elastic License or SSPL. To learn more about how to contribute, see our contributor guide.


I'm a customer or partner, how does this affect me?

Customers and partners using our products in Elastic Cloud or under a self-managed subscription are not affected by this change.


I build an application that embeds and redistributes Elasticsearch, how does this affect me?

If you are a customer, there is no change for you.



If you were previously embedding and redistributing the Apache 2.0 distribution, you will need to switch to the default distribution under the Elastic License v2. The Elastic License 2.0 allows free use, modification and redistribution, with only three simple limitations to protect our products and brand from abuse, which are outlined above. If you prefer, you also have the option of building Elasticsearch and Kibana from source under the SSPL.



We’re happy to help if you have any questions: reach out to us at elastic_license@elastic.co to discuss your particular situation.


How does dual licensing work?

The Apache 2.0-licensed source code of Elasticsearch and Kibana will be changed to be dual licensed under the Elastic License and SSPL. This means that when using the source code, you can choose which set of terms and conditions will best meet your needs. Our default distribution will continue to be published under the Elastic License as it has been for nearly the last three years, so if you are not using the source code directly, this does not affect you. We have also simplified the Elastic License to be as permissive as possible.


Why are you offering a dual license strategy?

Most of our users and customers already use Elastic as part of the default distribution, which has followed the Elastic License for almost three years. However, we wanted to make every effort to be as open and permissive as possible while preventing public cloud providers from offering a hosted service without investing back in the community. For users that are already using the Elastic License, if you prefer, keep doing so! This has no impact on you. In fact, we have made the Elastic License even more permissive with the Elastic License 2.0 update. We chose to also make SSPL an option because we know that it is familiar to millions of users and companies, thanks to its use by MongoDB, its creator, and it provides the kind of freedoms that we deeply value.


What is SSPL and how does it work?

SSPL is a source-available license originally created by MongoDB, who set out to craft a license that embodied the ideals of open source, allowing free and unrestricted use, modification, and redistribution, with the simple requirement that if you provide the product as a service to others, you must also publicly release any modifications as well as the source code of your management layers under SSPL.



SSPL is based on GPLv3, and is considered a copyleft license. This means that if you use the source code and create derivative works, those derivative works must also be licensed under SSPL and released publicly. For more information, MongoDB has a good FAQ.
 
Note that SSPL has not been approved by the OSI, so to avoid confusion we do not refer to it as an Open Source license.


What kind of use constitutes “offering the product as a service” under SSPL?

To be clear, our distributions starting with 7.11 will be provided only under the Elastic License 2.0, which does not have any copyleft aspects and allows free use, modification, and redistribution, with only 3 simple limitations to protect our products and brand, as outlined above.

If you are building Elasticsearch and/or Kibana from source, you may choose between SSPL and the Elastic License to govern your use of the source code. The clause in question only applies if you build from source, choose SSPL as your governing license, and you are providing Elasticsearch and Kibana as a paid service to others. In this case, it applies only if you are “providing Elasticsearch and Kibana as a Managed Service” as the primary offering, or a major part of it.


I build a SaaS application using Elasticsearch as the backend, how does this affect me?

This source code license change should not affect you - you can use our default distribution or develop applications on top of it for free, under the Elastic License. This source-available license does not contain any copyleft provisions and the default functionality is free of charge. For a specific example, you can see our response to a question around this for the Magento project.


What versions does this change apply to?

This change only affects the source code — our releases will continue to be free and open under the Elastic License. This change will apply to all maintained branches of our software — 6.8, 7.x and master/8.0, and will take place before the 7.11 release is generally available.


Will there be license changes to products other than Elasticsearch and Kibana?

No, we are only making this licensing change to Elasticsearch and Kibana — no other products will be impacted. We have always wanted to make our data collection and shipping components as free and easily accessible as possible. By protecting our investments in Elasticsearch and Kibana, this change allows us to make our other products even more open. We will consider migrating even more features of Beats, the Elastic Agent, and Logstash to be licensed under Apache 2.0. If we decide to make any additional changes, we will communicate them separately.


Does this mean that Elasticsearch and Kibana are no longer Open Source?

Yes. Neither the Elastic License nor SSPL have been approved by the OSI, so to prevent confusion, we no longer refer to Elasticsearch or Kibana as open source. We updated our website and our messaging to refer to these products as “Free & Open,” and when talking about the licenses directly, we describe them as “source-available.” If you notice an area we missed, please let us know, so we can correct it.

While we have chosen to avoid confusion by not using the term open source to refer to these products, we will continue to use the word “Open” and “Free and Open.” These are simple ways to describe the fact that the product is free to use, the source code is available, and also applies to our open and collaborative engagement model in GitHub. We remain committed to the principles of open source - transparency, collaboration, and community.


Will Elastic continue to develop open source software?

Our commitments to the principles of open source have not changed at all over the past decade — we always have and always will value transparency, collaboration, and community. Many of our products and projects continue to be under Apache 2.0, including our client libraries, Beats, Logstash, as well as standards like Elastic Common Schema. We will also continue to contribute to other open source projects, like Apache Lucene and other projects as we have always done.


I’m using Elasticsearch as a service from a cloud provider, how does this change affect me?

Public cloud providers will need to comply with the Elastic License or SSPL if they wish to provide a version of Elasticsearch and Kibana that is released from 7.11 onwards.


I'm using Elasticsearch via APIs, how does this change affect me?

This change does not affect how you use client libraries to access Elasticsearch. Our client libraries remain licensed under Apache 2.0, with the exception of our Java High Level Rest Client (Java HLRC).

The Java HLRC has dependencies on the core of Elasticsearch, and as a result this client library will be licensed under the Elastic License. Over time, we will eliminate this dependency and move the Java HLRC to be licensed under Apache 2.0. Until that time, for the avoidance of doubt, we do not consider using the Java HLRC as a client library in development of an application or library used to access Elasticsearch to constitute a derivative work under the Elastic License, and this will not have any impact on how you license the source code of your application using this client library or how you distribute it.

If you have any questions, please reach out to us at elastic_license@elastic.co


I’m building plugins for Elasticsearch or Kibana, how does this change affect me?

This change does not affect how you build or license plugins to Elasticsearch or Kibana. For the avoidance of doubt, building a plugin to be used in Elasticsearch or Kibana does not constitute a derivative work, and will not have any impact on how you license the source code of your plugin.

If you have any questions, please reach out to us at elastic_license@elastic.co


How does this change impact your partnerships with Microsoft, Google, Alibaba, and Tencent?

It doesn’t. We have strong commercial relationships with these public cloud providers, and will continue to partner with them going forward. Elastic Cloud is available on Microsoft, Google, and AWS, and in all three cases, we are part of their marketplace ecosystems. We have a partnership with Alibaba and Tencent that allows them to offer Elasticsearch as a service. These relationships are not impacted by the license change announcement.


How does this change impact your relationship with AWS?

As mentioned above, broadly we are aiming to collaborate with public cloud providers that take our products and provide them as a service. We have built strong relationships with Google Cloud, Microsoft Azure, Alibaba Cloud, and Tencent Cloud. We also partner with AWS with our listing of Elastic Cloud in the AWS Marketplace, and continue to invest in that relationship to make Elastic Cloud the best hosted Elasticsearch and Kibana experience on AWS. However, we do not have a commercial relationship with AWS on the Amazon Elasticsearch Service. We do not actively support that service, and no longer want our investments in our software to directly benefit that service.For transparency, we also have ongoing litigation with AWS, discussed here and here.


Why call the blog “Doubling down on open: Part II”, how does this make you more open?

Our intent in the name of our blog post was to continue the transition that we started three years ago, when we first announced the opening up of X-pack with the Elastic License. We very intentionally chose to focus on “open,” and not “open source,” in our messaging. We apologize for any confusion or ambiguity this may have caused. The first sentence of the blog does make the change very clear.
The primary reason for this change is to protect our investments by not allowing cloud providers to take our products and provide them directly as a service without collaborating with us and our community. We are making the effort to stay as free and open as possible while doing so.


Change Log

  • February 2: Several changes throughout to reflect updates to the Elastic License v2 (ELv2).
  • January 26: Expand response to “What is SSPL and how does it work?” for additional clarity.
  • January 18: Merge “I embed a modified version of Elasticsearch and/or Kibana …” and “I build an application that embeds and redistributes Elasticsearch …” questions to clarify and drive consistency.
  • January 17: Publish “I build an application that embeds and redistributes Elasticsearch …” question for additional context. Publish “What kind of use constitutes “offering the product as a service” under SSPL?” question and response.
  • January 15: Publish “Why are you offering a dual license strategy?”, “I build a SaaS application using Elasticsearch as the backend…”,  and “How does this change impact your relationship with AWS?” questions and responses.