Billing FAQedit

This frequently-asked-questions list answers some of your more common questions about Elasticsearch Service billing.

  • Is there a way for me to estimate how much Elasticsearch Service will cost?
  • Where can I see a detailed view of my consumption?
  • How do I view previous receipts and billing history?
  • How can I change who receives receipts and billing notifications?
  • What are the available payment methods on Elasticsearch Service?
  • Who can I contact for more information?
  • Why is my credit card charged?
  • When is my credit card charged?
  • Why is my credit card charged if I canceled my trial?
  • What is the cancellation policy for monthly subscriptions?
  • Why am I being charged if I don’t use any of my deployments?
  • How can I delete my Elastic Cloud account?
  • Can I get a refund?
  • What is included in my paid Elasticsearch Service deployment?
  • What are the data transfer and storage charges and how can I control them?
  • How does an annual prepaid contract work?
  • What does the prepaid capacity cover?

    Is there a way for me to estimate how much Elasticsearch Service will cost?
    Yes, there is: Try our Elasticsearch Service Pricing Calculator.
    Where can I see a detailed view of my consumption?

    To make it easy to track the ongoing cost of Elasticsearch Service, we’ve added line items to the downloadable invoices.

    Example invoice
    Example invoice

    Additionally, on the Elasticsearch Service Account activity page, the month to date column shows accrued costs and can help you to better estimate the next charge amount.

    How do I view previous receipts and billing history?
    See the billing history, where you can view and download receipts for all previous charges.
    How can I change who receives receipts and billing notifications?
    The account owner can change who receives receipts and billing notifications by changing the email details.
    What are the available payment methods on Elasticsearch Service?
    For month-to-month payments only credit cards are accepted. We also allow payments by bank transfer for annual subscriptions.
    Who can I contact for more information?
    If you have any further questions about your credit card statement, billing, or receipts, please send an email to ar@elastic.co or open a Support case using the Billing issue category.
    Why is my credit card charged?
    If you are on a monthly plan, the charge is a recurring fee for using our hosted Elasticsearch Service. The fee is normally charged at the start of each month, but it can also be charged at other times during the month. If a charge is unsuccessful, we will try to charge your card again at a later date.
    When is my credit card charged?
    You are billed on the first day of each month for usage in the prior month.
    Why is my credit card charged if I canceled my trial?
    If you add a credit card to your Elastic Cloud account at any time during the trial period, the trial is converted to a paid subscription. You then have to pay for any expense incurred by your deployment beginning when the credit card was added. If you delete your deployment at a later date, you will still be invoiced for any usage that occurs between the conversion date and the deployment deletion date.
    What is the cancellation policy for monthly subscriptions?
    There are no cancellation or termination fees for monthly subscriptions. If the service is no longer needed, you can spin down all of your deployments. Usage for that month will be billed at the end of the month in your final bill.
    Why am I being charged if I don’t use any of my deployments?
    Even if you have no activity on your account and you haven’t logged into the Elasticsearch Service Console, your active deployments still incur costs that we need to charge you for. To avoid being charged for active but unused deployments, you can simply delete them. Your account will stay active with no charges, and you can always spin up more capacity when you need it.
    How can I delete my Elastic Cloud account?
    To have your account removed, you can contact support through the Elasticsearch Service Support form or use one of these alternative contact methods. For details about our data erasure policy, see Privacy Rights and Choices in our General Privacy Statement.
    Can I get a refund?
    Charges are non-refundable, but once you delete a deployment we’ll stop charging you for that deployment immediately. You only pay for what you use and you can stop using the service at any time. For any special considerations warranting a potential refund, please use the Elasticsearch Service Console Support form to open a support case and select Billing issue as the category. To ensure quick processing, be sure to provide detail about the reasons for the refund request as well as other matters pertaining to the issue. For other ways to open a Support case, see Getting help.
    What is included in my paid Elasticsearch Service deployment?

    The following come for free with a Standard license for Elasticsearch Service:

    Note that if you go above the free tier of Kibana/ML/APM (for example, a 2GB Kibana instance), you will be charged in full for the size of that instance.

    What are the data transfer and storage charges and how can I control them?
    Read about our usage-based billing dimensions.
    How does an annual prepaid contract work?

    If you have signed up for an annual contract, you are prepaying for a predefined capacity use, effectively a reservation of the instance type you want to use. If you consume less than the prepaid capacity within a given month, the credits are lost and not carried over to the next month. If you spend more than you have prepaid in a given month, you will be charged overages (additional costs) at list price for the additional consumption.

    In any billing cycle, either of the following occurrences can trigger additional costs (overages):

    1. You have made changes to your deployments that generated additional costs. These changes can be:

      • Adding a new instance to your deployment
      • Increasing the instance RAM
      • Adding more availability zones or nodes to an instance
      • Switching to a different, more expensive region
      • Creating a new deployment
    2. You have generated data transfer and storage costs.
    Example

    Assume that you have reserved an aws.data.highio.i3 instance with 8GB of RAM and 2 availability zones in the EU (Frankfurt) AWS region, at a yearly price of $1200, excluding any discount.

    At the end of each month, your usage is summed up, and the prepaid capacity is deducted. Let’s say that in the third contract month you used an additional aws.data.highio.i3 instance, with the same configuration and region as your original instance, for 80 hours. You will then be invoiced for the additional 80 hours x $0.4532 (the cumulative rate for this configuration at the time of writing) = $36.26.

    Additionally, let’s say that you have used an average of 120GB of storage. Since the first 100GB are free of charge, you will be invoiced for the extra 20GB x $0.033 (the storage price per GB at the time of writing) = $0.66.

    Your invoice for this example month will be $36.26 + $0.66 = $36.92.

    What does the prepaid capacity cover?

    In you have an annual contract, your prepaid credits are used primarily to cover the reserved capacity as defined in your contract. The credits are calculated and applied on a monthly basis. This means that the annual prepaid amount is prorated for the duration of a given month and then applied to that month’s usage.

    If you have a lower usage than the prepaid capacity (for example, you have scaled down your deployment), any remaining prepaid usage will be applied against the additional charges you incurred during the month, including data transfer and storage.

    If you still have remaining credits for the current month even after covering the additional charges, the credits are lost and will not be carried over to the next month.

    If your usage is higher than the available prepaid credit for the current month, you will be charged overages for the month.

    You can use a different region than the one you prepaid for. If the new region is more expensive, the difference in price will be charged as an overage.