WARNING: Version 2.0 of Elasticsearch has passed its EOL date.
This documentation is no longer being maintained and may be removed. If you are running this version, we strongly advise you to upgrade. For the latest information, see the current release documentation.
An entire cluster may be set to read-only with the following dynamic setting:
- Make the whole cluster read only (indices do not accept write operations), metadata is not allowed to be modified (create or delete indices).
Don’t rely on this setting to prevent changes to your cluster. Any user with access to the cluster-update-settings API can make the cluster read-write again.