Delete Runners

You might need to delete runners for several reasons:

  • To remove some resources from your Elastic Cloud Enterprise installation if they are no longer required.
  • To remove a faulty runner from the Cloud UI so that it is no longer part of your Elastic Cloud Enterprise installation.

Deleting a runner only removes the runner from your installation, it does not remove the Elastic Cloud Enterprise software from the runner. After the runner has been deleted, you can repurpose or troubleshoot the host on which the runner was located.

To delete runners:

  1. Log into the Cloud UI.
  2. Click Platform and then select an installation.
  3. Click Runners and select a runner.
  4. For the 1.0.1 release: Some additional steps are required before you can delete the runner. Which steps you perform depends on whether the runner ever held the director role.

    • If the runner ever held the director role, connect to the host where the runner is located:

      Disconnect the runner to stop service processes that prevent it from being deleted:

      docker stop frc-directors-director

      Back in the Cloud UI, click Demote runner to remove the director role from the runner.

      Tip

      If you receive an error whilst trying to demote the runner, wait a minute and then repeat the previous step and this step within a few seconds of each other. The runner might be attempting to restart the service associated with the director, so the more quickly you can demote the runner after disconnecting it, the better your chance of success. If you cannot perform this step successfully, remove the Elastic Cloud Enterprise software from the runner, then delete the runner. A future release of Elastic Cloud Enterprise will improve this process.

    • For all other runners (if the runner never held the director role), connect to the host where the runner is located and disconnect the runner to stop service processes that prevent it from being deleted:

      docker stop frc-runners-runner
  5. Click Delete runner and confirm the deletion.