Upgrading with the Persistent Queue Enabled

The following applies only if you are upgrading Logstash and have the persistent queue enabled.

Drain the Persistent Queue

If you use the persistent queue, we strongly recommend that you drain or delete it before you upgrade.

To drain the queue:

  1. In the logstash.yml file, set queue.drain:true.
  2. Restart Logstash for this setting to take effect.
  3. Shutdown Logstash (using CTRL+C or SIGTERM), and wait for the queue to empty.

When the queue is empty:

  1. Complete the upgrade.
  2. Restart Logstash.

We are working to resolve issues with data incompatibilities so that these steps won’t be required for future upgrades.