Telemetry settings in Kibanaedit

By default, Usage Collection (also known as Telemetry) is enabled. This helps us learn about the Kibana features that our users are most interested in, so we can focus our efforts on making them even better.

You can control whether this data is sent from the Kibana servers, or if it should be sent from the user’s browser, in case a firewall is blocking the connections from the server. Additionally, you can decide to completely disable this feature either in the config file or in Kibana via Management > Kibana > Advanced Settings > Usage Data.

See our Privacy Statement to learn more.

General telemetry settingsedit

telemetry.enabled

Set to true to send cluster statistics to Elastic. Reporting your cluster statistics helps us improve your user experience. Your data is never shared with anyone. Set to false to disable statistics reporting from any browser connected to the Kibana instance. Defaults to true.

telemetry.sendUsageFrom

Set to 'server' to report the cluster statistics from the Kibana server. If the server fails to connect to our endpoint at https://telemetry.elastic.co/, it assumes it is behind a firewall and falls back to 'browser' to send it from users' browsers when they are navigating through Kibana. Defaults to 'server'.

telemetry.optIn

Set to true to automatically opt into reporting cluster statistics. You can also opt out through Advanced Settings in Kibana. Defaults to true.

telemetry.allowChangingOptInStatus

Set to true to allow overwriting the telemetry.optIn setting via the Kibana UI. Defaults to true.

When false, telemetry.optIn must be true. To disable telemetry and not allow users to change that parameter, use telemetry.enabled.