Telemetry settings in Kibanaedit

By default, Usage Collection (also known as Telemetry) is enabled. This helps us learn about the Kibana features that our users are most interested in, so we can focus our efforts on making them even better.

You can control whether this data is sent from the Kibana servers, or if it should be sent from the user’s browser, in case a firewall is blocking the connections from the server. Additionally, you can decide to completely disable this feature either in the config file or in Kibana via Management > Kibana > Advanced Settings > Usage Data.

See our Privacy Statement to learn more.

General telemetry settingsedit

telemetry.sendUsageFrom
Set to 'server' to report the cluster statistics from the Kibana server. If the server fails to connect to our endpoint at https://telemetry.elastic.co/, it assumes it is behind a firewall and falls back to 'browser' to send it from users' browsers when they are navigating through Kibana. Defaults to 'server'.
telemetry.optIn

Set to true to send cluster statistics to Elastic. Reporting your cluster statistics helps us improve your user experience. Your data is never shared with anyone. Set to false to stop sending any telemetry data to Elastic.

This setting can be changed at any time in Advanced Settings. To prevent users from changing it, set telemetry.allowChangingOptInStatus to false. Defaults to true.

telemetry.allowChangingOptInStatus
Set to true to allow overwriting the telemetry.optIn setting via the Advanced Settings in Kibana. Defaults to true.