Restore a cluster’s data

You can restore snapshots to a running cluster with the restore API. By default, all indices in the snapshot are restored. Alternatively, you can restore specific indices or restore the cluster state from a snapshot. When restoring indices, you can modify the index name and selected index settings.

If your cluster has Elasticsearch security features enabled, the restore API requires the manage cluster privilege. There is no bespoke role for the restore process. This privilege is very permissive and should only be granted to users in the "administrator" category. Specifically, it allows malicious users to exfiltrate data to a location of their choosing. Automated tools should not run as users with this privilege.